We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of our favorites”

Yokohama Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #98 of 202 Restaurants in Brookline
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“One of our favorites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We love the food and chef. For the past 10 years, we were never disappointed by the food or service. This is THE place for families, friends and couples.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
97 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Delicious noodles! Our neighborhood dive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013 via mobile

The service is excellent. The woman waiting on all the tables was so sweet. The sushi wasn't great but the appetizers were and the noodles were delicious and a wonderful value!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dixeydixeydixey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Jefferson, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“great little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

this is a wonderful little restaurant, npr quietly droning in the background, the sushi chef and the manager conversing in japanese about this and that. very peaceful. sushi some of the best i've tasted--the chef is a master.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nauta53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, New Hampshire
1 review
“Delicious, authentic.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

Excellent service, clean, quiet. I was there on a Tuesday evening (early), the only customer. Treated with extreme consideration. Down to earth sushi chef and adorable owner. Explained that the sushi bar counter was "too narrow" for regular food. When I said, "I understand", she said, "You do?" Ice cream helpings very large.
Excellent sea bass and mackerel sushi. No liquor (BYOB). Witnessed a lady from the neighborhood get take-out.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank philoktetes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My favorite sushi spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2011

I love this place. Cozy, informal, BYOB, friendly service. And the food is SO GOOD. Try the sweet potato rolls- best I've ever had. Sushi is cheap and entrees are reasonable, though not quite as cheap. Everything is fresh and delicious. Highly recommended. They're a tiny little spot and not always full of people but don't be scared away by that- definitely give them a chance and I bet you'll love your meal there! I recommend the sukiyaki and udon too, very good.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mozartguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yokohama Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Yokohama Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing