We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice B&B in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Samuel Sewall Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Brookline B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 November 2012

I'm posting the same review for bothThe Bertram Inn and The Samual Sewall Inn since they are managed by the same people, share staff and kitchens, and are across the street from each other. These very nice B&B's are located in Brookline, just outside of Boston. We’ve stayed at each several times over the past two years since our daughter moved to Brookline. We find them to be very nice, with helpful staff, good breakfast and snacks, and a great location, two blocks from Beacon St and the T. These are two very old, beautiful houses, and we’ve had issues a couple of times with HVAC. They seem to recognize this problem and generally have extra space heaters or fans, depending on your need. Parking is on site for an extra $12 or so per night, which is a bargain for the area.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cobi00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2012

My daughter and I stayed here to attend a college open house. We were greeted warmly by a very cute and delightful young man who helped with our bags and got us settled in our very comfortable room. The beds were cloud-like, and the room was homey and charmingly decorated. We had a very tasty hot breakfast along with a selection or pastries and good coffee. The rate of $189 and only $15 dollars for on-site parking is a bargain for the location and the wonderful atmosphere. Our only regret was not being able to stay longer! We'll certainly be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LK42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Samuel Sewell Inn and loved it! Our room was cozy and clean, with a huge fireplace and a warm, comfortable bed. We took advantage of the chocolate covered almonds, coffee/tea and cookies that were left as late-ish night snacks, and caught up on world news with the plethora of local and national papers provided in the common room. Coolidge Corners is a short walk away, and we had quite a few choices for dinner (Thai, sushi, pizza, you name it!). The water pressure in the shower is excellent, and the soaps provided smell wonderful. The staff is attentive while respective of the guests' privacy. To top everything off, pumpkin pancakes were provided for breakfast! Amazing.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heckyesitsbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

A good base for a stay in Boston, only a very short walk to the "T" with quick access into the city and only a little further to the shops and eating places of Coolidge Corner.

A walk down Longford Ave leads to the 'Emerald Necklace', the linear walk that can be followed into the city or out further into the suburbs.

The inn offers a bit of peace after a day in the city with its very comfortable rooms and atmosphere. The helpful and friendly staff play a large part in making a stay there so enjoyable.

We split our 7 night stay in the inn with a weekend trip into the White Mountains. The welcome back made one feel at home.

Should we return to Boston the inn would be our first choice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We've stayed at The Samuel Sewall Inn a number of times in the past. Last week we stayed and were surprised to see that they have somehow managed to improve upon an already perfect Gem. The Host is quick to offer to carry your bags to your room. This is a big plus as there aren't any elevators in this 3 story B&B. While the hosts have always been pleasent and helpful we find them to be even more so now. Great location for medical trips as it is only a very short distance to many of Boston's finest Hospitals. Brookline is a beautiful, quiet, bedroom community. Try their other Inn directly across the Street. The Bertram Inn.

Room Tip: Go online, you can see each room in detail
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank reith20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We needed to stay one night, near my daughter in Brookline and found this at the last minute. The room was very comfortable, breakfast was great and parking was only $15.00. I loved the Frette sheets and th comfortable, plush bathrobes. It is a two minute walk from Coolidge Corner and lots of good restaurants

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EDEBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

A 14 day trip involving 7 hotels and this was easily the best and a brilliant way to end our holiday. The hotel is immaculate and the room was full of character. The complimentary nibbles and drink were great! Breakfast was lovely and location was great. We took a few walks from the hotel and found lots to do and see. Especially JFK birthplace to visit (free of charge) and Anna's to eat. Also, try jp licks for icecream! Walkable to fenway park if you fancy the baseball. The housekeeper was very very helpful and keen to ensure our stay was a good one.
Faultless.
Ben and Jane (England)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 801BenL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brookline hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Boston Brookline
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Boston Brookline
0 mi away
The Bertram Inn
The Bertram Inn
#1 of 11 in Brookline
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Longwood Inn
Longwood Inn
#5 of 11 in Brookline
250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coolidge Corner Guest House
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston Brookline Longwood Medical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samuel Sewall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samuel Sewall Inn

Address: 143 Saint Paul St, Brookline, MA 02446-5247
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Brookline
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Brookline
Price Range: £86 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Samuel Sewall Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When traveling to Boston, the Samuel Sewall Inn serves as an oasis from the hustle of downtown Boston. Located two miles from the heart of the city and one block from public transportation, guests are able to remain close to the cultural and business centers of Boston yet return to the tranquility of a bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Samuel Sewall Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samuel Sewall Hotel Brookline
Samuel Sewall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing