We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Boston Brookline
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Brookline
Canberra
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights and were generally happy with what we got. Very friendly and helpful front desk staff, handy parking garage (@ $21 per night), clean and comfy room. Location is good, plenty of shops and eating options within a few blocks and there is a T stop right outside. The hotel is pretty big and the clientele seems to be pretty much everyone: families, business travelers, tour groups. Our only complaint is about the breakfast. Our booking included continental breakfast but the hotel charged us anyway. And the breakfast was nothing to write home about, the staff being less than helpful and a single toaster bearing the load of a lot of waiting folks.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBrookline, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston Brookline, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
We appreciate your kind works about the staff and hotel and it will be my pleasure to share those comments with them, although we fell short of your expectations with the breakfast experience, and for that I am truly disappointed. It is our goal is to insure that every guest has a wonderful experience with all of the hotels amenities, and will use this information to improve our product. In addition to the shops and restaurants near by, don’t forget the Red Sox, Boston Marathon, and in 2012 the Tall Ships will be returning in July. We hope to see you the next time you venture into the city, again thank you for sharing your experience with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    211
    190
    90
    63
See reviews for
232
143
47
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stayed here as part of a tour package. Room was large and comfortable but in the bathroom you had to step over the toilet to get in to the shower. The toilet was also very low, you could have been back at an infants school. I didn't particularly like there not being any outside windows. Our window faced on to a long corridor, so you needed to keep curtains shut. Still it was only for a night, and was clean. It bucketed down so we couldn't get out to find a restaurant so ate in the hotel. The food was good when we got it, but the poor waiter was rushed off his feet as lots of people made the same decision. He did a good job though. OK hotel for a stopover.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yunderup1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We arrived late after a long day of traveling with desperation and hope of staying in this hotel. On a busy Saturday night we assumed the hotel would be booked, but to our surprise we were welcomed and booked swiftly and kindly by Nate. Nate was very sweet, kind and caring. He assisted us in getting food even though all the restraunts were closed. He offered us chips and drinks while we waited for our delivery and kept us company. Nate explained the city to us, he assisted us in all our needs and made sure we had a great stay. I recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for great service and wonderful companion. My only complaint is the bizzar bathtub situation, really what is that thing?THANKS NATE....Whitney hall.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skeysss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBrookline, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston Brookline, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
We appreciate your kind works about Nathan, he is a tremendous asset to the hotel and it will be my pleasure to share those comments with him as it is our goal is to insure that every guest has the type of experience you did. Some of the rooms do have stand-up showers; our tower rooms have a more traditional bathroom design. We hope to see you the next time you venture into the city, again thank you for sharing your experience with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

I've been staying in this Holiday Inn off and on for years, and it's the same basic hotel now as always, although they did renovate the rooms a while back. You're not going to get a four-star room and experience here, but you'll get a respectable room for a reasonable price in a good location.

Our room was decently sized, and the furniture was all fine, including a flatscreen TV. The bathrooms are reasonably sized, but the showerheads are a bit low, even if you're pretty short. The lobby area is pretty nice, plenty of tables and couches, and a couple TVs on the wall.

The best thing about this hotel though is probably the location. It is about a 20 minute walk to Fenway, right down Beacon Ave, or a short T ride if you want to cram on before the game (when there isn't a game going, the T is usually much emptier). Walk a couple minutes in the other direction to Coolidge Corner and you'll find a bunch of restaurants and shops.

If you're in town for a Sox game this is the best bang for your buck you'll find.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBrookline, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston Brookline, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
Thank you for your response, we are glad you had a great stay, and yes we are a short walk away from Fenway Park, up Beacon Street as you pass by many boutique stores, restaurants and shops it is a great way to see this part of Brookline and Boston. We hope that if you come to any future Red Sox games you choose to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodcliff Lake, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Have stayed here three times only because it was the chosen and convenient hotel within walking distance to a family function. The value may be good for Boston but what you get is a small room and bathroom that feels like a prison cell. There are no windows to the outside, only one to the atrium of the hotel and you must keep the curtain closed or anyone can peer in. Bathroom is cheaply done with a plastic shower and even worse is the floor of the bathroom: the grout is gross particularly in the corners. On the only plus side, the bed is fairly comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen7642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBrookline, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston Brookline, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
We value your candid feedback, which will allow us to improve the produce for future guests. Unfortunately the hotel does have some interior facing rooms, if I could suggest that the next time you visit your family to request an upgrade to our tower room, and request an exterior facing window. We are very disappointed regarding the bathroom comments, and I can assure you your concerns will be addressed. Thank you again for allowing us the opportunity to continue to improve our product by sharing your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brookline hotels

San Diego, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2011

This hotel claims it is pet friendly and yet we had several problems while staying for the night. First, we reserved with a note that we would be travelling with a pet and they put us in a room on one of the middle floors in one of the middle rooms surrounded by families and very loud, roudy children. We requested a change that they could not accomodate on a busy weekend and kept us in the room even insisting that the situation could create a dangerous situation with a dog and all the kids in the hallway. Our dog has never bitten, but screaming children reaching to try and pet dogs is not a good situation for any party. Although the hotel has a two warrning pet policy, we found that that if you have multiple complaints they ignore the pet policy and request that you kennel the pet regardless of the situation. They did have a list of kennel contacts, but several of them were not open on the weekend, others were only walking services, and one had a pet abuse problem when we went to look up more information on the sites ... and yet we had several problems while staying for the night. First, we reserved with a note that we would be travelling with a pet and they put us in a room on one of the middle floors in one of the middle rooms surrounded by families and very loud, roudy children. We requested a change that they could not accomodate on a busy weekend and kept us in the room even insisting that the situation could create a dangerous situation with a dog and all the kids in the hallway. Our dog has never bitten, but screaming children reaching to try and pet dogs is not a good situation for any party. Although the hotel has a two warrning pet policy, we found that that if you have multiple complaints they ignore the pet policy and request that you kennel the pet regardless of the situation. They did have a list of kennel contacts, but several of them were not open on the weekend, others were only walking services, and one had a pet abuse problem when we went to look up more information on the sites. Additionally, a few of the numbers are not local, so do not call from the room phone as the hotel will charge you. Last but not least, our dog barked due to the maid service knocking and ignoring a do not disturb sign on the door. This incident may not have occurred if they had not ignored the sign on our door. After being asked to leave due to multiple complaints of a dog barking over one incident (not the two warnings in the policy), we had trouble talking through the problem and trying to find any common ground or any solutions with the rude front desk (also mentioned in other reviews). Once we decided to check-out, they decided to charge us above and beyond the room per our internet print out as well as the long distance phone calls that they provided on the "local" kennel list recommendations which we are still discussing with the hotel. I am a priority platinum member with Holiday Inn and I will NEVER stay at this location again and would not recommend it to other pet owners or families with children due to our experiences with the staff and accomodations. Additionally, pets are not welcome in parts of the facilities and it is quite a walk to find any outdoor areas that allow you wander or to eat with your pet (since you can't leave your pet unattended in the hotel and the breakfast area is not pet friendly). Rooms were ok, service was horrible, location was ok.

Room Tip: If you're traveling with a pet, request a room on top/bottom floor at the end of a hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RecessSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBrookline, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston Brookline, responded to this review, 9 September 2011
Thank you for providing your valuable feed back, all information will certainly allow us to evaluate our current policies and operations. Unfortunately, over the time period you stayed was Labor Day weekend, which by far is one of the busiest time for this particular part of the city, with several large higher education facilities in the area, as it was Boston College, Boston University, Northeastern University (amongst other smaller colleges in the area) move in day. In the best of circumstances we unequivocally would have selected a room that would provide a quiet setting for pet owners, but with the hotel being sold out all weekend, including the Red Sox in town, the availability for the hotel to offer that was limited at best. Our pet policy is crafted to provide a safe and reasonable experience for all of our guests, and our liability doesn’t provide for our employees to enter guest rooms, therefore the responsibility is on the pet owners not to leave their pets unattended for extensive periods of time. As a pet owner, unfamiliar surroundings can necessitate anxiety, if we inadvertently knocked on the room door, I apologize for that, if a pet hears a knock on the door or an unfamiliar sound, it would respond in a way that most would expect, so it is critical to for all the guest’s experiences that pets remain with their owners to insure their safety as well. This is an opportunity for us to use this experience to provide a better solution to the ever changing demands of our travelers, in addition to familiarizing the staff with the local parks, of which one is less than two blocks away, which is perfect for exercise. We will also review the area Kennels, and in addition to revising our list, visit them also to ensure they would exceed the expectations for those guest who choose to use them. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Well you know what you're going to get at Holiday Inn. No surprises at all, just a sound, efficient hotel. They had a giant chess board in the atrium, which I didn't see anyone using, but a nice touch. Also the indoor pool in the atrium was novel. Right outside our room but forgot the cossies. Kids used it a bit past the kicking out time one night but no noise at sleep time.
We ate in the hotel bar area because we arrived late and couldn't be bothered looking further afield. Sound experience and friendly, helpful waiters.
A thoroughly safe bet.

Room Tip: I didn't like having a window facing the atrium - but that's just me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmb100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBrookline, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston Brookline, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
Thank you for your comments, we hope to see you in the future, as Boston has so many wonderful events and experiences to be taken advantage of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookline
Fenway / Kenmore
The Inn at Longwood Medical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#10 of 83 in Boston
1,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Boston Brookline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Boston Brookline

Property: Holiday Inn Boston Brookline
Address: 1200 Beacon St, Brookline, MA 02446-3803
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Brookline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Brookline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Boston Brookline 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Brookline-Boston hotel is located just minutes from downtown Boston amidst the charming brownstones and tree-lined streets of historic Brookline. Our hotel is near Boston University, Boston College, Hynes Convention Center, Fenway Park (home of the Boston Red Sox) and many Boston Hospitals, including Children's Hospital, Brigham and Women's Hospital and Dana Farber Cancer Institute. The hotel offers free shuttle service to the Longwood Medical Area.The Holiday Inn Boston-Brookline has a beautiful hotel lounge and restaurant with room service located on our first floor serving you in our 6-story atrium under umbrellas and arches central to our indoor heated pool. This 225 room, pet-friendly Boston hotel also offers free Wi-Fi, fitness room, guest laundry and dry cleaning services, bell service, and an on-site parking garage. Planning a Boston wedding reception, event, or corporate meeting? Let the Holiday Inn Brookline-Boston hotel be your event venue. Our hotel has 4 large hotel meeting rooms accommodating 4 to 400 guests. We have a dedicated and friendly staff here to assist you with all of your event planning needs. Discover all Boston has to offer at the Holiday Inn Boston-Brookline hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Boston Brookline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Boston Brookline Hotel Brookline
Holiday Inn Brookline
Brookline Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing