We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some work.”
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Inn
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Stayed a few times on business. This was once a Holiday Inn, complete with bar and restaurant, which are still in operation ... cheap drinks, too. Attracts contractor workers. Some of the rooms are nice, with flat screen TV's, frig, and microwaves, but the place is inconsistent. For example, I stayed there in a King room a few days ago. The light in the bathroom didn't work, and there was no pot for the in-room coffemaker, even though there was coffee. I couldn't find an ice machine that worked. The carpets were very dirty. Room rates are cheap, for the area. Breakfast is mediocre. Most of the people I dealt with were pleasant and helpful. Whoever owns the place needs to put a few more bucks into it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheDaddy415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

Clean and comfortable for the price. Practical location close to Target and restaurants. Very mediocre breakfast: no pastries, no oatmeal, only 1 type of sugar-free cereal, no yogurt, no toasts, no bagels, no bacon, no sausage, no fruits. What was served? Scambled eggs, sauted potatoes & vegetables, grits & gravy, warm biscuit, coffee, and orange juice. Really not enough variety, but what was served was delicious.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snherisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Overall very good the breakfast guy was wuitr grumpy thought twice about grabbing breakfast with a waffle house next door

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardRusso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

When we pulled up I was nervous because it is a older hotel and the rooms are outside but I was flabbergasted at the room when we went in. We stayed here on our way home and the rooms were nicer than the rooms we paid twice as much for during the week. The room was all newly redecorated and FRESH paint, wallpaper and carpets. The bathroom was very clean tub and shower in one room and 2 sinks just outside the door with plenty of CLEAN counter space! The beds had all new linens and smelled clean and felt great. I am picky and I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the rooms! This hotel was a super surprise I would stay here again. The breakfast was good they actually used real cracked and whipped eggs most hotels buy boil in the bag eggs which are not appealing. Sausage gravy, homemade home fries and toast etc. EXCELLENT value!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bens2787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed at the Clarion overnight while driving to another destination. It was late when we arrived and other hotels were sold out. Front desk staff was very helpful. Room was clean, but nothing fancy. Nice to have a microwave and fridge to bring in some leftover pizza. Beds were comfortable. Shower was hot and powerful. Coffee maker in the room didn't seem to be working but complimentary breakfast was offered. Can't say much about the food - the sausage gravy was good but I wouldn't try the eggs - just looked runny. My kids were disappointed there were no waffles, but they had Cherrios (I think that was the only cereal offered). The people that worked at the restaurant were not friendly at all, but they don't work for the hotel. All in all, it was comfortable and affordable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ex3family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

My family is pleased we stayed at this hotel. From the time reservations were booked through and beyond checkout we had super service! The room was very clean (awesome in a pet friendly hotel). But the cleaning staff is unbeatable, not only do they work non stop, when a valuable is left behind, it is turn in and returned to the customer! My son left a new Kindle Fire behind, to my surprise it was not stolen but turned, waiting to be claimed! Thank you Clarion and the ethical staff you are lucky to have!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank m h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

For the money, it wasn't bad and there was nothing "WRONG" with it, but I don't know if it's in the running for a repeat stay. The room needed some maintenance work, e.g. some weather stripping around the door--you could see daylight around it. It was reasonably clean, though not what I'd call spotless.
The pool left something to be desired. The "indoor" pool is indoors in that it is contained in a transparent vinyl enclosure. Maybe semi-transparent would be the better term as the entire area was so filled with condensation that it was difficult to see into, out of, or even across. The water was reasonably temperate, but the "whirlpool" area seemed cooler than than the rest of the pool...but it did have great pressure to the jets. I don't believe the enclosure was well maintained--there was what appeared to be mold in the crevices on the floor. If not mold, it was old dirt.
Overall, it was OK, clean enough to stay in without worry, though I'd not use the pool.

Room Tip: If you're looking for quiet, don't stay near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillP1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#26 of 41 in Fredericksburg
189 reviews
7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95)
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#11 of 41 in Fredericksburg
673 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn near Historic Downtown
Quality Inn near Historic Downto...
#18 of 41 in Fredericksburg
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Fredericksburg
WoodSpring Suites Fredericksburg
#25 of 41 in Fredericksburg
57 reviews
7.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fredericksburg
Candlewood Suites Fredericksburg
#24 of 41 in Fredericksburg
58 reviews
7.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fredericksburg Southpoint
Holiday Inn Express Fredericksbu...
#20 of 41 in Fredericksburg
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Address: 564 Warrenton Rd, Fredericksburg, VA 22406-1026 (Formerly Holiday Inn Fredericksburg North)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Price Range: £48 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Inn hotel is located near the intersection of I-95 (Exit 133) and US 17 North in southern Stafford County, a short drive away from downtown Fredericksburg. The surrounding attractions include many places to dine and shop, golf courses, museums, historic landmarks and monuments. Our hotel has a comfortable atmosphere, a secluded and quiet environment where you can sit back and relax. We have handicap accessible rooms, smoking rooms, and allow up to two pets. We offer complimentary hot breakfast and free high speed internet. We have a fitness center, business center, outdoor and indoor pool with Spa, guest laundry, restaurant bar and lounge. Each room is equipped with a flat screen TV, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron and board. We look forward to accommodating you and providing you with exceptional service at a budgeted price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Fredericksburg
Holiday Inn Fredericksburg
Fredericksburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing