We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Inn
Ranked #33 of 42 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Business trip”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Was surprised that a Clarion had exterior entrances, but I felt perfectly safe as a female arriving alone. The room was slightly dated, carpet was worn, but everything was acceptable. I generally hate travelling because usually the beds are uncomfortable - but this was the best bed that I had slept in (almost better than home). Should we be back in the area, we will stay here!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Txtransplant2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    58
    55
    27
    24
See reviews for
83
48
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My daughter and I stayed 2 nights last of October, 2013.I requested lower floor due to disability and exterior rooms; The check in was smooth. Room was already assigned....Desk clerk friendly. Room very clean, no smells. No problems. Was very impressed since this our first visit at a Clarion Inn. Breakfast acceptable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stang97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
90 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times in our travels. The rooms were always very clean. Internet access. Hotel staff were always very friendly. Having a restaurant at the hotel also is a plus. This hotel also takes dogs and we travel with our dogs. They always put us on the first floor.

Room Tip: Good place to stay if you are traveling with your dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bubby2six
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We chose this hotel pretty much at random as a stopping point for a business trip from Philadelphia to South Florida. There are several hotels in the area we could have chosen but the Clarion seemed to look to be a lot nicer looking than the others. We were very pleased with our room, the cleanliness of the hotel and with staff members that we met. The breakfast too was a nice buffet which was a nice departure from the usual do -it-yourself waffles , muffins, etc. that we usually get at other hotels. We felt that this hotel was a very good value and found the price of our room to be pleasantly low.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ringwood hampshire uk
Level Contributor
147 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This was a clean room, a bit out of town. The staff were fine, pretty much standard roadway inn. Just ok.
Hard to say anything exceptional. It's fine as a place to sleep. Dinner was fine but nothing special.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliwoollacott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I stayed here on two different trips and had somewhat different experiences. The following shows the problem with judging a hotel based on a single stay.

Trip1: When I checked in it seemed to me me that I was bothering the young lady at the desk just by being there. I had asked for a ground floor room near the guest laundry but was informed that I couldn't have such a room because I had booked a promotional rate. (True, I had a good promotional rate.) I saw that there were lots of unoccupied ground floor rooms available that night. These promotional rates are a good way for a person to try a new place and maybe come back based on a good experience. I wouldn't say that the check-in lady was unfriendly, but she certainly didn't welcome me.

The room was big enough but had an odd setup. Between one of the beds and the A/C unit was a low table approximately 63cm x 63cm. There was no room to walk between the bed and the A/C unit to get to the chair in the corner or to close the drapes without climbing over the table or the bed.

I found the room to be exceptionally clean. The guest laundry was spotless, but unfortunately there was only one washer and one dryer.

Trip 2: This was a much different experience. I was welcomed warmly when I checked in and I didn't find the bed/table arrangement that I had on the first trip.

On both trips the check-out person was friendly and encouraged me to come back again.

The breakfast was excellent and was in a connected restaurant rather in a small room off the lobby. There were freshly made hash browns and real scrambled eggs rather than the egg patties (probably frozen and reheated) that I find at many Choice Hotels properties.

The area outside the hotel is very noisy with many trucks passing by on Warrenton Road. However, my rooms were quiet, and I got a good night's sleep each time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perry, Georgia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Everything you could ask for for an overnight stay -- great service, rooms were clean and comfortable, well appointed, very comfy beds, nice restaurant and lounge, decent breakfast. AND very pet friendly to boot. There is a Ponderosa, Penera Bread and various fast food places close by... but we ate in the bar and the food was excellent, so why bother going anywhere else. We would have no problem staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YYJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn near Historic Downtown
Quality Inn near Historic Downto...
#20 of 42 in Fredericksburg
152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#25 of 42 in Fredericksburg
172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Fredericksburg North
7.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95)
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#13 of 42 in Fredericksburg
555 reviews
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Fredericksburg North
Americas Best Value Inn - Freder...
#30 of 42 in Fredericksburg
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Property: Clarion Inn
Address: 564 Warrenton Rd, Fredericksburg, VA 22405 (Formerly Holiday Inn Fredericksburg North)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 42 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Inn hotel is located near the intersection of I-95 (Exit 133) and US 17 North in southern Stafford County, a short drive away from downtown Fredericksburg. The surrounding attractions include many places to dine and shop, golf courses, museums, historic landmarks and monuments. Our hotel has a comfortable atmosphere, a secluded and quiet environment where you can sit back and relax. We have handicap accessible rooms, smoking rooms, and allow up to two pets. We offer complimentary hot breakfast and free high speed internet. We have a fitness center, business center, outdoor and indoor pool with Spa, guest laundry, restaurant bar and lounge. Each room is equipped with a flat screen TV, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron and board. We look forward to accommodating you and providing you with exceptional service at a budgeted price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Fredericksburg
Holiday Inn Fredericksburg
Fredericksburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing