We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kenmore Inn” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kenmore Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Kenmore Inn
Ranked #21 of 42 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Salem, Virginia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Kenmore Inn”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Kenmore Inn is nice place to stay in Fredricksburg, well located and operated by a very pleasant staff. It is not luxurious though and certain amenities need to be fixed, e.g. the second floor coffee station had a broken coffeemaker which was not replaced during my two nights' stay. The public lounge was not inviting; no comfortable chairs or sofas, no books or games.. Its main draw is location : one can walk anywhere downtown within minutes.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vaart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    54
    28
    16
    10
See reviews for
31
116
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
moravia ny usa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

Had a very nice two night stay at The Kenmore Inn. We stayed in the Rose Room which was a nice size. The Kenmore Inn is an historic inn, not a traditional B&B. Our room was comfortable, the front porch and gardens are beautiful and a nice place to relax after a day of sightseeing. Our breakfasts were excellent--great choices, good food, pleasant service. The Inn is located within an easy walking distance of the historic downtown sites. It is also an easy drive to the Civil War battlefields. We had dinner in the downstairs restaurant at the inn on our second night. The food was wonderful and there is a very nice bar there as well. Only complaint about our stay would be that insulation is poor and noise travels easily.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cny12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

I enjoyed a lovely one night stay at the Kenmore Inn, but I wish I was able to stay longer! I stayed in the Marye's Heights room with private bathroom. The bed was very comfortable, there was a nice dresser with TV (didn't watch TV), and there was complementary sherry which was a nice touch.

I felt very comfortable in the room; it was a nice, large size with 2 sitting chairs and a side table and closet. I was in a rush in the morning and was sad that i didn't make time for the home cooked breakfast. However, the scones i enjoyed were the best i ever had. Also, the innkeeper suggested and rushed to prepare a fruit cup for me. I appreciated her attentiveness.

The only negative things, this room is highlighted as good for the business traveler, but there is not a desk in the room. The small side table is adequate for a short term use (i used if for 2 hours). Also, I found the room to be quite dim (which is probably the point for a relaxing room). If you are trying to get some work done, it would be better to have more light. I'm sure you could borrow a lamp from another location, but i didn't think of that until i left.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HikingWithWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed here one night on our trip through Virginia and I only wish we had more time! Perfectly located to take advantage of all Fredericksburg has to offer we hardly had to leave the hotel to experience the charm and hospitality of the South. the building itself is perfectly restored and the rooms very elegant and yet cozy. The restaurant and tavern were reasonable priced and the food was very good. The only place where improvement could be made is in the training of the wait staff, but even they were so nice and willing to help that it seems an unkindness to suggest it!

The manager who checked us in went constantly above and beyond the call to satisfy our every whim and although we did not partake,they had a wonderful wine tasting scheduled, which she invited us to.

The house itself is uniquely built,used originally as a private home, refitting for hotel was done well so as to maintain the charm and 'family' feel while never losing the luxury of privacy.

I loved it and would happily go back!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Paranormalnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

It's a nice B and B with many rooms and a bar and restaurant in the basement, and a courtyard. Our room was nice, quaint and comfortable. The Kenmore is conveniently located for walking about historic Fredericksburg. The breakfast was very good; it was more like a restaurant style breakfast; no specific time to eat, no group eating, and a menu. This was a refreshing change from the more typical everyone-eats-at-once at a specific time, though maybe a little lighter breakfast.

Room Tip: Note, we didn't see a fitness center as the rating suggests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bloatedpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We loved our stay at the Kenmore Inn. It is a beautiful historic old home that is now an Inn and Restaurant. We stayed on a Sunday night and it was very quiet. However, even if the bar was open, it is two floors below the guest rooms and so tiny I highly doubt it could cause much disruption. The restaurant is beautiful and serves a higher-end clientele.

The Kenmore Inn is the only place we have ever stayed where they allow a real log fire in the fireplace. It made for a very cozy experience to fall asleep to a crackling fire. Since we were traveling with our young son, we stayed in the Washington Suite which had an adjoining room with two twin beds and it's own TV. We all slept very comfortably. Our bathroom had a spa tub and a stand up shower.

In the morning, breakfast was served in the Restaurant and you choose an item off the menu. My omelet was delicious and my husband and son enjoyed their breakfasts as well. Delicious coffee was available too. I would definitely recommend a stay at The Kenmore Inn.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antiqlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed just one night on our way through after Christmas. Wonderfully decorated, lovely historic home in a wonderful location in Fredericksburg - easy to walk to lots of shops and restaurants. The staff were wonderful in providing excellent dinner suggestions. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms - simple, historic decorations, clean. If you are looking for a nice historic home in a great location, good food and atmosphere at a good price I would recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DelRayTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District
Courtyard Fredericksburg Histori...
#10 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Fredericksburg
Homewood Suites Fredericksburg
#2 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
2.9 mi away
Residence Inn Fredericksburg
Residence Inn Fredericksburg
#6 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kenmore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kenmore Inn

Property: The Kenmore Inn
Address: 1200 Princess Anne St., Fredericksburg, VA 22401
Region: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kenmore Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Fredericksburg, the Kenmore Inn (c1793) offers charm and southern hospitality in a beautiful intimate setting. Nine unique and elegantly appointed bedrooms all with en-suite bathrooms await your stay. We offer complementary sherry and bottled water in each room as well as a plated breakfast for each guest in our formal dining room. Located on the lower level of the house we have a European style pub and our garden restaurant & patio serving creative contemporary foods that will please the casual or refined diner. Whether you sit on our front porch swing and enjoy a glass of Inn-made sweet tea, take a stroll to the many historic sites and antique shops in town or relax in the parlor with a good book, the Kenmore Inn is your relaxing getaway. For visitors seeking classic southern hospitality, luxury accommodations and personalized service in a premier location, this Princess Anne Street Inn offers all that and more. Come see why this historic Inn catches the admiring eye of virtually everyone who passes by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Kenmore Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kenmore Hotel Fredericksburg
Kenmore Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing