We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay”
Review of The Kenmore Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Kenmore Inn
Reviewed 1 July 2013

A Fantastic place to stay. Spotless, Comfortable rooms. Characterful historic Inn. Walking distance to Old Fredericksberg. Amazing staff who do everything possible to make your stay enjoyable.
Check out the Restaurant and Pub downstairs and Rocking Chairs on front porch.
Breakfast is brilliant!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OlwynSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2013

I would definitely stay here again. Nice neighborhood, within walking distance of many restaurants and historic places. The Inn is quaint and beautifully decorated. Breakfast had good choices. We stayed in the Fielding Lewis room and found it quite nice. The sherry was a well-appreciated nightcap.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kanetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Stayed here for a long weekend family reunion. Nice location, perfectly adequate rooms (good strong hot shower!), and a relaxing atmosphere and attentive staff make it a good choice. Probably on par for the area in terms of cost, but the $130/night seemed on the high side. The breakfast is simple but good, the scones are delightful, and the downstairs kitchen does a very good job. The WiFi was spotty - very good in the first floor lounge, very bad upstairs. My first B&B experience, so take it with a grain of salt...

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laphph2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Stayed first part of 6/13. Shower did not drain, black mold on shower curtain. One closet was partially unpainted. Very expensive for frumpy room. Manager was very unpleasant to deal with and would not listen to my husband.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We visited the Kenmore Inn in May 2013.

I liked the little bed and breakfast and if you are (like me) a history nut, you will appreciate the beautiful old building and décor. Rooms are decorated according to the period, with period touches such as old photographs.

We stayed in the George Washington suite, which has its own living room as well as a bedroom. I liked the room and the bed was comfortable and everything was clean and fresh. Water and sherry were provided in the room which I thought was a nice touch. Breakfast came included in the room price and was plentiful and delicious, with fresh blueberry scones.

The Kenmore Inn is very close to the centre of Fredricksburg within easy walking distance and you can park on Princess Anne or Lewis Street.

Before our trip, the innkeeper Gillian was very helpful in sorting out a carriage ride and a restaurant reservation for us – not an easy thing as we were there over the Memorial weekend and most places were closed on Monday, but we were happy at Castiglia’s a lively Italian pizzeria.

We ate at the Kenmore Inn restaurant on Sunday and had a really excellent meal. Although there was only one waiter on duty and he had a lot of people to deal with, he was pleasant and attentive as well as getting round all of us at varying stages of meals. The outdoor garden lights up with fairy lights after dark and it is really magical.

My only niggle was that the Wifi was intermittant and gave up the ghost entirely on Monday. It being memorial day, we didn't see any point in asking if it could be fixed.

All in all, very good value for the price and service and certainly worth a visit.

Room Tip: We had room 206 - George Washington Suite. We liked it and enjoyed the lovely period decorations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessicaDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

The tv doesn't work. You can only get wi-fi signals on the first floor. The pub music continues until 11, then well lubricated people go out onto the courtyard which this room overlooks and talk and laugh until midnight. The air conditioner is loud. The shelf in the bathroom was missing, so we had to hang our sponge bags from what had been the shelf supports. I suspect mold-had to take a double dose of allergy medicine.
Other rooms on the second floor get wifi and have working tvs. Soundproofing for them is ok.
This is an 18th century building remodeled so you can't expect current ADA standards.
We ate dinner in the restaurant and we (and other guests) were very happy with the imaginative menu (pheasant etc.). Everything is well seasoned and well cooked. The breakfast was good with wonderful scones.

Room Tip: Do not choose room 206. You must be able to handle stairs while carrying a suitcase. Bring earplug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renee002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Quaintness and historicity marred by loud pub music on Thursday nights! But the lovely Inn in downtown Fredericksburg is well kept and well run. Our room was at the top of the steps and so we had sound carry up to us from the pub until about 11. Not that we were trying to sleep, but it was even annoying to listen to the TV. But the actual inn is quite nice. Our room, while small, was very well appointed. The heat was controlled elsewhere as indicated in another review. The breakfast room is beautiful and the food quite good. The "pub food" downstairs was dinner like but not exceptional. Lots of locals come. We loved the proximity to the historic downtown. We walked to museums and shops quite easily.

Room Tip: Thursday night is live entertainment night in the pub.....and sound travels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RestonVaDentist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Fredericksburg Historic District
Courtyard by Marriott Fredericks...
#12 of 41 in Fredericksburg
352 reviews
1 mi away
Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fredericksburg
Hilton Garden Inn Fredericksburg
#9 of 41 in Fredericksburg
728 reviews
0.4 mi away
Richard Johnston Inn
Richard Johnston Inn
#1 of 10 in Fredericksburg
390 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kenmore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kenmore Inn

Address: 1200 Princess Anne St, Fredericksburg, VA 22401-3736
Region: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Fredericksburg
Price Range: £100 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kenmore Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Fredericksburg, the Kenmore Inn (c1793) offers charm and southern hospitality in a beautiful intimate setting. Nine unique and elegantly appointed bedrooms all with en-suite bathrooms await your stay. We offer complementary sherry and bottled water in each room as well as a plated breakfast for each guest in our formal dining room. Located on the lower level of the house we have a European style pub and our garden restaurant & patio serving creative contemporary foods that will please the casual or refined diner. Whether you sit on our front porch swing and enjoy a glass of Inn-made sweet tea, take a stroll to the many historic sites and antique shops in town or relax in the parlor with a good book, the Kenmore Inn is your relaxing getaway. For visitors seeking classic southern hospitality, luxury accommodations and personalized service in a premier location, this Princess Anne Street Inn offers all that and more. Come see why this historic Inn catches the admiring eye of virtually everyone who passes by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Kenmore Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kenmore Hotel Fredericksburg
Kenmore Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing