We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Fredericksburg Inn - walkable from the Amtrak/VRE station.”
Review of The Kenmore Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Kenmore Inn
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Historic Fredericksburg Inn - walkable from the Amtrak/VRE station.”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed in this inn on a quick getaway from DC for antique shopping. We traveled by train, and the Kenmore looked walkable on google maps, and it was (assuming you pack somewhat light - about a mile, otherwise it's a $5 taxi). Well appointed rooms with antique furnishings, price was reasonable. Didn't manage to eat in the upstairs restaurant, but overheard other guests who sounded very pleased. Don't pass up the little pub in the English basement with a delightful courtyard.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RainelM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    55
    28
    16
    10
See reviews for
32
118
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We enjoyed a unique experience at the Kenmore Inn, because we attended a wedding ceremony and reception both held at the Inn, and we stayed in the Rose Parlor room the night of the wedding and the following night. I cannot express enough how fabulous the event and guest service was at the Kenmore. There was a particular staff member present on the wedding day, whose time was devoted to assisting the bride in coordinating with vendors and taking care of chair/table setup, arranging for cheese/crackers/fruit to be available in the bride's room while the bridal party got ready, and any other need that was expressed. Each staff member we interacted with was very friendly, and if they hadn't already anticipated something we needed, they were happy to accommodate any request right away - from a fresh cup of coffee before breakfast to a pitcher of ice-cold water delivered to our rocking chairs on the front porch. It didn't work out for us to have dinner at the inn's pub, but if the food is anything like the food served at the wedding reception, then it is delicious! We did enjoy breakfast at the Inn on Sunday and Monday, and both were wonderful. We were also especially grateful for the keurig bar in the upstairs hallway - a hot cup of coffee was always footsteps away from our room! It's worth noting that there is only street parking, but we found that the Inn was so close to restaurants, shopping, and attractions that we hardly had to drive anywhere - we mostly explored historic Fredericksburg on foot. We would highly recommend the Kenmore Inn to anyone planning to visit historic Fredericksburg!

Room Tip: Not sure if all of the rooms have recently remodeled bathrooms, but ours did and it was very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurst, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed at the Kenmore Historic Inn for two nights and enjoyed our stay very much. We had dinner the first night in the little Courtyard and it was excellent. The restaurant is closed on a Monday night so couldn't eat their the 2nd night. Our room was fabulous and we were so happy that Jacque, the Inn Keeper upgraded us to a room with a king sized bed when she saw how tall my husband is. All the staff at the Kenmore were so pleasant and it was obvious they wanted to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. Breakfast was wonderful each morning and we would highly recommend this B&B to anyone staying in Fredericksburg.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 530jass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Md
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

A relaxed and elegant B&B with wonderfully helpful staff, superbly cooked breakfast, and a fresh-food, gourmet restaurant. Fredericksburg was surprisingly full of fun: parks, antiques, great food. This is a perfect jumping-off point. Inexpensive rooms are small but elegant and comfortably furnished, including complimentary sherry and newly refurbished bath. Glimpse of "better" room showed lots more!
Could not ask for a better or lovelier neighborhood for walking. 1/2 block from 3 historic home museums. Very quiet
Enjoyed both the separate restaurant and bar as well as on site music on Thursdays. This one's a winner!

Room Tip: Go for mid-range or better to ensure more space. All seem light-filled, and our low-end was very co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barba753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Great experience with spotless and comfortable rooms in an historic Inn. Walking distance to Old Fredericksberg. Helpful staff who do everything possible to make your stay enjoyable. Wonderful Pub downstairs. Breakfast was wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAMNOVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

This is the type of "Inn" I remember as a kid traveling with my parents. Very welcoming, very friendly with excellent service. There was a bridal shower in progress when I arrived which added to the general cheerfulness of the Inn. My room was clean, the sherry was an unexpected treat, the Pub downstairs has excellent food. And the location is so ideal to walk down into the historic town and do some shopping. I definitely intend to return again ...and again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBD270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

The Inn is lovely. We had the Washington suite so my daughter had a sofa-bed in the sitting room. The staff were lovely. Its in a good location to walk into town. Sherry in our room was a nice touch. However we didn't sleep too well as the air conditioning unit both inside and outside the window made a lot of noise. This was the only downside to an otherwise lovely night. The breakfast was very good and cooked fresh to order.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLGCEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District
Courtyard Fredericksburg Histori...
#11 of 41 in Fredericksburg
332 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
1.9 mi away
Best Western Fredericksburg
Best Western Fredericksburg
#7 of 41 in Fredericksburg
698 reviews
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Fredericksburg
Homewood Suites Fredericksburg
#2 of 41 in Fredericksburg
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kenmore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kenmore Inn

Property: The Kenmore Inn
Address: 1200 Princess Anne St, Fredericksburg, VA 22401-3736
Region: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kenmore Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Fredericksburg, the Kenmore Inn (c1793) offers charm and southern hospitality in a beautiful intimate setting. Nine unique and elegantly appointed bedrooms all with en-suite bathrooms await your stay. We offer complementary sherry and bottled water in each room as well as a plated breakfast for each guest in our formal dining room. Located on the lower level of the house we have a European style pub and our garden restaurant & patio serving creative contemporary foods that will please the casual or refined diner. Whether you sit on our front porch swing and enjoy a glass of Inn-made sweet tea, take a stroll to the many historic sites and antique shops in town or relax in the parlor with a good book, the Kenmore Inn is your relaxing getaway. For visitors seeking classic southern hospitality, luxury accommodations and personalized service in a premier location, this Princess Anne Street Inn offers all that and more. Come see why this historic Inn catches the admiring eye of virtually everyone who passes by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Kenmore Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kenmore Hotel Fredericksburg
Kenmore Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing