We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AN ADVENTURE OUTSIDE THE BOX”
Review of The Kenmore Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Kenmore Inn
Reviewed 5 November 2013

A recent trip to Washington DC was waylaid because of the shutdown. We rerouted a week to spend in historic Virginia. Our first stop was the Kenmore Inn, a historic location which was originally built in 1747, relocated, burned down and rebuilt in 1824, We arrived late but got a considerate call from the inn telling us where they would leave our key. After arriving, we went down to the basement and a delightful funky bar. We were hungry and ordered dinner. I am a food critic in San Francisco, so I am always skeptical. The filet mignon was perfectly cook and well seasoned as were the green beans and fingerling potatoes. I would have paid double in SF for this meal. I relished every bite. Shortly after finishing, the chef, Jacqueline (Jacquie) Hartman came in and announced that she had just won a prestigious cooking contest in VA, where Obama's chef was one of the judges. She was delighted. As I got to talking with her, she told me of her 5 course dinner she has at the inn, This month the theme,The Hunt for Red October, featured a dinner of game. She has these special dinners on the 1st Wed. of every month and each one is different and seasonal. We signed up. The next night we went into the formal dining room for the dinner. A long table was beautifully set and 31 people attended, most of them locals. The menu was a classic French Cassoulet of duck, with a French Cote du Py wine pairing; tenderized, fried alligator with plum sauce with a Loire Valley French wine; venison tenderloin with nosisette with white bean puree and a Saint Joseph, French wine; date and cremini mushroom filled rabbit, with Cotes du Rhone, French wine and truffle thyme panna cotta, with a truffle thyme biscotti for dessert. This dinner would have been hundreds of dollars in SF, with the excellent wine pairings but was a mere $60 pp at the inn. Live guitar music accompanied us. The joy of this event was being included in this intimate evening. I felt like I was at a dinner party with friends. Everyone was so friendly and welcoming. As for the dinner, this chef is extraordinary and if you are so blessed to join in one of her dinners, do not miss it.

Breakfast is also included in your stay and I have never had a more perfect omelet by Chef Andrew.The custard french toast is not be missed either.

I don't know about you but when I run into an unusual adventure on a trip, it makes it and this was one of the highlights of our month long trip. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carol p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

This property, located in the historic district and only a very short walking distance from anything you could ever possibly want to buy (new or antique), taste or learn about in Fredericksburg, has tons of curb appeal(sunken court yard with fountain, gardens, huge front porch) and the common room and dining room area is beautiful and clean. The food, breakfast and in the restaurant located in the lower level, is amazing. The staff is friendly and helpful. Our room was lovely (204) and the bed was quite comfortable. However, even though we were visiting in late October, it was still fairly warm at night, and unfortunately for us, the window air condition unit, no matter how hard it tried (very noisy), was useless, making the temperature in the room difficult for sleeping.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhonda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed in 201, the Betty Washington suite for 4 nights, end of September. The Bed and Breakfast is charming and well appointed but not lovingly cared for. The staff is very helpful and enthusiastic! The breakfasts were quite good. It was nice to have a coffee machine outside our room, other guests were quiet when making their coffee which was appreciated. The front porch has comfortable seating and it was lovely to have coffee out there while reading the newspapers. Room 201 has a huge bathroom with a very short but extremely deep soaking tub with a shower. If you are short or in anyway handicapped it is difficult to step in and out, there are no hand rails and no slip mats in the tub. The location of this B&B is great for exploring on foot or dining in the Historic District of Fredericksburg. Every time an innkeeper brought a potential guest upstairs to show a room, which ever room was left was her "favorite room"!

Room Tip: Room 201 has a huge bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My hubby and I stayed at The Kenmore Inn during a mini vacation without kids. Our stay was fantastic! The staff was very friendly and happy to help with suggestions on what to do in the area. The food in the restaurant below the Inn rivals some of the best restaurants in the DC area! The Inn is within walking distance to historic Fredericksburg where you can antique shop or grab a few bites at a great local Tapas bar. The only reason I am not giving it a 5 status because it needs a fan in the bathrooms (it gets really humid after a steamy shower) and it would be great to have a mini fridge in the rooms. Overall though, I can't wait to go back as it definitely is a 'must go again'!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank locobizymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This is a lovely old property with much charm and charming young staff. However the room we were given "Ville de Fejus" had the single worst bathroom that I have ever encountered in any type of accommodation. It was riddled with mould and had cracked and broken tiling and an ancient and next to useless shower head, however the bright young thing who checked us in exclaimed that this was her "favourite room". Unfortunately my travelling companion does not like to make a fuss otherwise I would not have stayed one minute. A shame that such a promising property can be so disgraceful in presenting such a unhygienic, unsightly and downright antiquated bathroom in what was a lovely room.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the Ville de Frejus room. The hotel main rooms are lovely so the other rooms may be O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bimme_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

When you walk into the Inn, it's like stepping back in time. The building was constructed in the early 1800s, and it exudes a sophisticated and classy Victorian aura.

We were greeted by a very welcoming and friendly Innkeeper, given a brief overlay of the building, and introduced to our room. We stayed in the Regal Kenmore luxury room and were extremely pleased. The high ceilings are fantastic, and the king size bed is comfortable and makes you feel regal just like the room's name. The bathroom is regal as well. It's just got a standing shower, but it's a nice one with a rain shower head. There're also other water spouts on the wall inside the shower.

We were so comfortable and pleased with our quarters that we didn't feel inclined to walk to the historic downtown. We went downstairs to the restaurant to eat dinner and the food was excellent. The waitstaff was friendly and attentive.

And finally, the breakfast... phenomenal! The best french toast I've ever eaten! The dining area is quite lovely.

We will be back!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annabanana832013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed in this inn on a quick getaway from DC for antique shopping. We traveled by train, and the Kenmore looked walkable on google maps, and it was (assuming you pack somewhat light - about a mile, otherwise it's a $5 taxi). Well appointed rooms with antique furnishings, price was reasonable. Didn't manage to eat in the upstairs restaurant, but overheard other guests who sounded very pleased. Don't pass up the little pub in the English basement with a delightful courtyard.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RainelM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington
0.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Fredericksburg Historic District
Courtyard by Marriott Fredericks...
#11 of 41 in Fredericksburg
342 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Fredericksburg
Best Western Fredericksburg
#7 of 41 in Fredericksburg
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Fredericksburg
Homewood Suites Fredericksburg
#3 of 41 in Fredericksburg
662 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fredericksburg
Hilton Garden Inn Fredericksburg
#9 of 41 in Fredericksburg
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kenmore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kenmore Inn

Address: 1200 Princess Anne St, Fredericksburg, VA 22401-3736
Region: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Fredericksburg
Price Range: £106 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kenmore Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Fredericksburg, the Kenmore Inn (c1793) offers charm and southern hospitality in a beautiful intimate setting. Nine unique and elegantly appointed bedrooms all with en-suite bathrooms await your stay. We offer complementary sherry and bottled water in each room as well as a plated breakfast for each guest in our formal dining room. Located on the lower level of the house we have a European style pub and our garden restaurant & patio serving creative contemporary foods that will please the casual or refined diner. Whether you sit on our front porch swing and enjoy a glass of Inn-made sweet tea, take a stroll to the many historic sites and antique shops in town or relax in the parlor with a good book, the Kenmore Inn is your relaxing getaway. For visitors seeking classic southern hospitality, luxury accommodations and personalized service in a premier location, this Princess Anne Street Inn offers all that and more. Come see why this historic Inn catches the admiring eye of virtually everyone who passes by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Kenmore Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kenmore Hotel Fredericksburg
Kenmore Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing