We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Southern Comfort”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kenmore Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Kenmore Inn
Ranked #21 of 42 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing Southern Comfort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Kenmore is located in the historic district of Fredericksburg. Many beautiful homes surround the inn - shopping and restaurants are within walking distance. The inn itself is absolutely beautiful - common areas as well as the rooms. Their restaurant downstairs - has an amazing chef -delicious meals in an intimate atmosphere. I highly recommend the Kenmore for a great getaway. Perfect for weddings and receptions.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful. It is a quite place - but side and back rooms are away from the beat of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    54
    28
    16
    10
See reviews for
31
117
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

I highly recommend the Kenmore Inn to anyone looking to make the most of their trip to Fredericksburg, or anyone just looking to stay somewhere elegant on a weekend getaway. The staff are very polite and personable, and the house itself is beautiful with authentic and immaculate architecture dating from the 19th century. While breakfast was delicious, dinner in their tavern downstaires was excellent with quality food and a wide selection of drinks. Historic, clean, and classy, the Kenmore Inn in my opinion rates among the best bed and breakfasts in Virginia. I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone looking to experience the most of Fredericksburg or their vacation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, FL
Level Contributor
374 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

I stayed at this property for two nights last week, a Wednesday and a Thursday. On both nights there was so much noise that it permeated my room all evening (till 10pm) - one night was a wine dinner (right below my room) and one night a jazz band. When I get home from working all day I look forward to a quiet evening, which I did not have. Next time I will stay elsewhere. Also, the internet connection never worked. I had to walk 2 blocks to a cafe where I could hook up. I tried with 3 different devices. They all worked at the office where I was working and at the cafe, but not anywhere in the Inn.

Room Tip: Do NOT accept a room over the dining room if there is a special event during your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

My wife and i recently took a weekend trip to DC mid March. We chose to stay at the Kenmore, to avoid the hassle of the big city. We are from Charleston SC, so we thought Fredricksburg would suit us well. We were not disapointed. Wonderful city, but The Kenmore stole the show. We stayed in the Mary Washington Suite. The house creeks and sqeeks as a 100+ yr old home should. If you want silence, stay at the Hilton. That said, the staff was great! John was the innkeeper for most of our stay. He was great! He gave great advice for traveling in to the city, he was there for anything we needed all weekend. I wondered if he even went home. Best of all, we were greeted with a smile every morning and evening when we returned! We chose to eat breakfast at the inn and it was great! French toast or biscuits and gravy are highly recomended. The Keurig is very handy to have on hand at any hour.. Not to mention the great live music we got to hear resonating from the bar downstairs in the evenings! To wrap up, if you are wondering, stop. This is a wonderful B&B!! We have already discussed our next stay here. We missed a few things in DC so need another trip. We will be staying in Fredricksburg, at the Kenmore!!!

Room Tip: Mary Washington room can be noisy. Pipes in the walls wiggle but it is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at The Kenmore Inn. Very clean and comfortable room with adorable decor and friendly staff. We had breakfast as well, which was delicious. Our stay in Fredericksburg was short but we loved every minute. I would absolutely recommend The Kenmore Inn to anyone traveling to the area!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

We spent a day in Fredericksburg, VA, this past week (4-5 December 2013) blessed with perfect weather. We visited many shops on Caroline Street and simply enjoyed walking streets we both had walked in the past but separately.

The Kenmore Inn is perfectly situated for such a nostalgic visit but is equally well positioned for a first...or tenth...visit for everyone. It is a lovely place and within walking distance of many wonderful sights...just the normal homes are unique and lovely.

Rooms and amenities are first-class and quite in line with the surroundings.

My lady graduated from Mary Washington College with it, and UVA, were both decidedly non-coeducational and smaller. We wanted to stroll the campus but once she realized it had no resemblance to it's origins, that quest dimmed for us. We drove by and it was clear that it was now a different place but still likely to be wonderful.

The Kenmore Inn was such a perfect place for this first return to once familiar territory.

Room Tip: The Rose Parlor, while small, is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grant G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

A recent trip to Washington DC was waylaid because of the shutdown. We rerouted a week to spend in historic Virginia. Our first stop was the Kenmore Inn, a historic location which was originally built in 1747, relocated, burned down and rebuilt in 1824, We arrived late but got a considerate call from the inn telling us where they would leave our key. After arriving, we went down to the basement and a delightful funky bar. We were hungry and ordered dinner. I am a food critic in San Francisco, so I am always skeptical. The filet mignon was perfectly cook and well seasoned as were the green beans and fingerling potatoes. I would have paid double in SF for this meal. I relished every bite. Shortly after finishing, the chef, Jacqueline (Jacquie) Hartman came in and announced that she had just won a prestigious cooking contest in VA, where Obama's chef was one of the judges. She was delighted. As I got to talking with her, she told me of her 5 course dinner she has at the inn, This month the theme,The Hunt for Red October, featured a dinner of game. She has these special dinners on the 1st Wed. of every month and each one is different and seasonal. We signed up. The next night we went into the formal dining room for the dinner. A long table was beautifully set and 31 people attended, most of them locals. The menu was a classic French Cassoulet of duck, with a French Cote du Py wine pairing; tenderized, fried alligator with plum sauce with a Loire Valley French wine; venison tenderloin with nosisette with white bean puree and a Saint Joseph, French wine; date and cremini mushroom filled rabbit, with Cotes du Rhone, French wine and truffle thyme panna cotta, with a truffle thyme biscotti for dessert. This dinner would have been hundreds of dollars in SF, with the excellent wine pairings but was a mere $60 pp at the inn. Live guitar music accompanied us. The joy of this event was being included in this intimate evening. I felt like I was at a dinner party with friends. Everyone was so friendly and welcoming. As for the dinner, this chef is extraordinary and if you are so blessed to join in one of her dinners, do not miss it.

Breakfast is also included in your stay and I have never had a more perfect omelet by Chef Andrew.The custard french toast is not be missed either.

I don't know about you but when I run into an unusual adventure on a trip, it makes it and this was one of the highlights of our month long trip. Enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carol p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District
Courtyard Fredericksburg Histori...
#10 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Fredericksburg
Homewood Suites Fredericksburg
#2 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg
BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg
#5 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kenmore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kenmore Inn

Property: The Kenmore Inn
Address: 1200 Princess Anne St., Fredericksburg, VA 22401
Region: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kenmore Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Fredericksburg, the Kenmore Inn (c1793) offers charm and southern hospitality in a beautiful intimate setting. Nine unique and elegantly appointed bedrooms all with en-suite bathrooms await your stay. We offer complementary sherry and bottled water in each room as well as a plated breakfast for each guest in our formal dining room. Located on the lower level of the house we have a European style pub and our garden restaurant & patio serving creative contemporary foods that will please the casual or refined diner. Whether you sit on our front porch swing and enjoy a glass of Inn-made sweet tea, take a stroll to the many historic sites and antique shops in town or relax in the parlor with a good book, the Kenmore Inn is your relaxing getaway. For visitors seeking classic southern hospitality, luxury accommodations and personalized service in a premier location, this Princess Anne Street Inn offers all that and more. Come see why this historic Inn catches the admiring eye of virtually everyone who passes by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kenmore Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kenmore Hotel Fredericksburg
Kenmore Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing