We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, great staff, but property is in transition.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn At The Olde Silk Mill
Ranked #7 of 10 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Silver Spring, MD
1 review
“Nice place, great staff, but property is in transition.”
Reviewed 10 August 2009

The Inn at the Olde Silk Mill is a friendly place near the historic district of Fredericksburg, VA. The staff is helpful and the atmosphere is charming. However, the building is in need of some repair and updating, and because the systems and some of the equipment is old, you have a 50/50 chance of being kept awake at night.

For example, last year I stayed there for the same family get together and the room I had was near the kitchen (very loud in the early hours) and also had an old refrigerator that cycled all night. This year, I had the Queen Mary Suite which is quite lovely (although the bathroom is in serious need of updating) but the air conditioning system made a strange rhythmic noise the second night that kept me from falling back to sleep.

That being said, I would recommend this Inn and I would stay there again. It is in transition as the current owners are making incremental updates and modifications, and they make a real effort to make you feel welcome and comfortable. They will assign you a new room with no fuss, have a parlor that is open most of the day and early evening for visiting (they provide tea, coffee, and cookies too), and right next door is a wonderful gift shop called Two Sisters.

I noticed this year that they added free wi-fi, expanded cable television, and added a flat screen tv to the parlor. Things are definitely improving to provide the service levels that most of us have come to expect in a hotel stay.

Staff is not onsite 24 hours per day as they go home at 9 pm. Guests are given front door keys so can come and go as they please, but if it is important to you to have staff available, you should consider staying elsewhere. My family and I have never had a problem not having staff onsite, and they leave several emergency numbers should you need to contact someone.

Room rates are competitive with the Courtyard Marriott that just opened, and the Inn also provides a buffet breakfast from 8 am - 10 am. If you want a real experience stay at the Inn. If you miss the cookie cutter lifestyle, there is a Hardee's across the street.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Consultant64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    71
    24
    19
    12
See reviews for
40
90
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Deer Park, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2009

Me and my husband stayed here for two nights on June24 and 25. I was searching for a B&B in the historic district of Fredericksburg but they were too expensive for me so I found this old hotel online. This review comes from someone who enjoys staying in old historic hotels/B&B's so if you are not partial to places like this and need modern comfort and amenities seek out the chain motels near I-95.

We stayed in a small queen room. It was decorated with antiques and had a full size bathroom which was not big but not small either. The bed was comfortable and room had a wooden floor and two big windows, all the old fashoined charm I look for in historic hotels. One modern amenity the hotel had was free wireless internet. The two lobby room areas were very nice as we had company visit us and we could sit and visit there instead of our small room. This building was a former employee boarding house for the Silk Mill factory that used to be in back of this hotel. The hotel is on the edge of the historic district and you can easily walk into old town for restaurants and attractions. There is also adequate parking in front of the hotel. Breakfast was continental and served down the hall from our room on the second floor at the staircase landing. The hallways and breakfast room had Civil War art wall hangings and memorabilia like framed Confederate money that gave the place a historical feel. The breakfast was adequate, my only complaint was that there was no microwave in the breakfast room and they laid out pastries that were taken out of the refrigerator so were stone cold and caused condensation build up on the plastic cover over them. It would have been nice to warm them up or at least serve them at room temperature. The employees we encountered were very friendly and helpful with any questions you may have. If I come back to Fredericksburg I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeeZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2009

Our board retreat couldn't have been in a more conducive place. The rooms are furnished in antiques, but the bed was so incredibly comfortable and everything was clean, neat and lovely. The staff were wonderful to us, and made our stay seem like a family reunion. Within walking distance of downtown, we were able to visit museums and restaurants without getting in the car. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCarlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, VA
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2009

Very nice historic inn. Nice decor. Located in historic downtown, a 5 minute walk from most shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Business5Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2009

My room was lovely and furnished with antiques. A small parlor adjoined the bathroom. The Inn staff was friendly and helpful. I was in a group and we held our meeting in the Inn's conference center room, which also worked well. Lots of restaurants are within walking distance. The immediate area around the inn leaves a little to be desired but it is on the edge of a lovely historic neighborhood with beautiful gardens and interesting houses.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2009

I loved this little inn and would go back in a heartbeat. It was old and charming and very relaxing. The staff was professional and kind. The room was cozy and the breakfast was simple and very good. This inn is close to Old Town and away from the all the motels and stores right off of the interstate, which makes it seem far away from all the hustle and bustle of life.

The inn has plenty of parking also so you don't have to worry about that.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishfFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2009

We are U. of Mary Washington alumni and we stayed here for Valentine's Day weekend 2009 and we booked the hotel very easily on their website. You can look through the pictures of the rooms and pick which one you want! Although now the Inn is called "Inn at the Olde Silk Mill". It was so easy to get to from I-95, a walk from Carl's Frozen Custard stand (which was surprisingly open in February!), down the street from the Historic District, GREAT parking (one of the reasons we chose this place instead of another B&B with cramped parking). The staff was very friendly, it was private, a nice fridge & tv (which most B&B's don't have) and beautiful wood bathroom. True-you can't control the thermostat, but they had an extra blanket in the closet. A really good price (we paid a $100/night) and if you like the idea of B&B's but not the feeling like you're staying in a stranger's home; this is a great place to stay, it has around 30 rooms. Check in was a breeze, check-out was a breeze, and they have a free continental breakfast in the am. If you are a light sleeper, bring white noise like we did (a small fan) so you don't hear cars or people in the hall, but we bring white noise in regular hotels since noises are inevitable. We would definitely stay here again, it felt comfortable and we came and went as we wanted, we hardly even saw other guests. Like someone else said-don't be discouraged by the outside of the Inn, it is nice inside and laid out nicely. Great visit!!

  • Liked — parking
  • Disliked — continental breakfast was average
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelers4488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District
Courtyard Fredericksburg Histori...
#10 of 42 in Fredericksburg
314 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington
0.4 mi away
The Kenmore Inn
The Kenmore Inn
#21 of 42 in Fredericksburg
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg
BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg
#5 of 42 in Fredericksburg
642 reviews
2.9 mi away
Residence Inn Fredericksburg
Residence Inn Fredericksburg
#6 of 42 in Fredericksburg
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn At The Olde Silk Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn At The Olde Silk Mill

Property: Inn At The Olde Silk Mill
Address: 1707 Princess Anne St., Fredericksburg, VA 22401
Region: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn At The Olde Silk Mill 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn At The Olde Silk Mill (formerly Fredericksburg Colonial Inn) is under new ownership since May 2007. Many new upgrades, pillow-top mattress, Royal Suites, wireless internet, new breakfast items, warm and inviting staff. Walking distance to Downtown Fredericksburg Historic sites, restaurants, antique stores. Great shopping and dining options! Perfect for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your Inn At The Olde Silk Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Olde Silk Mill Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing