We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Fredericksburg South
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Reviewed 24 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
2  Thank Tanzania B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 June 2014

When this was the ramada I came often and always got the same room 238. Very clean rooms and no issues. Since they changed to the Howard Johnson everything went downhill. The room was very dirty. Someones underwear and sock were under the bed. I counted about 7 roaches in the room. It didn't smell cleaned at all. I will never come to this hotel again..... Although I will say that I enjoyed the indoor pool.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanzieeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

With not knowing ahead of time that this property was under renovation, we selected to stay on a chance, while driving thru VA. The price was worth it. Once renovations are complete, I'm sure this hotel will be the gem of the South again.
The rooms and lobby were extremely dark, and the continental breakfast was to be desired. It was served in the closed restaurant, and the person in charge just told us to go back around into the closed kitchen area and help ourselves.
The rooms were so-so, but certainly needed updated equipment....and more electrical outlets!!!
Maybe once the renovations are complete, and the Howard Johnson brand name is completely on the sign, instead of still Ramada, then it will be worth the price.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank kittikat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank PatnNate
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 May 2014

On today's date, 05/16/2014, at approx. 7:30 AM i called the hotel to give them a heads up of my late arrival from NY. I provided my name and said I was calling to "warn" them of my late arrival of 10 to 11 pm this evening. The male (later identified himself as the Front Manager DK w/ ascent) became irate, belligerent and screamed, "who the hell do you think you are to warn me, you are suppose to inform or notify me not warn me!" I tried to explain "warning" is not offensive. I told him that was not the way to talk to customers. He continued screaming, "I don't care who you are" He continued on his irate rant. I told him to look up the word warning in the dictionary. He continued screaming, I asked him his name, he continued screaming and hung up. I tried calling back, they would pick up and hang up. I called hotels.com who were very kind but unfortunately could not change reservation w/o permission of HOJO. The hotels.com rep. contacted HOJO where there would be a full cancellation fee if changed. I called HOJO Costumer Care who said i would have to go through Hotels.com and gave me a complaint#. I would just feel more comfortable staying at another hotel even another HOJO to avoid this ignorant, possibly sexist individual. I booked this hotel some time ago just to sleep because I'm running the Historic Half. I dont have $300 to throw away right now. I feel that HOJO is just allowing someone who represents their company get away with this.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Nury A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
6.9 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#23 of 41 in Fredericksburg
197 reviews
6.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Fredericksburg North
Red Roof Inn Fredericksburg Nort...
#19 of 41 in Fredericksburg
106 reviews
3.8 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Fredericksburg
WoodSpring Suites Fredericksburg
#26 of 41 in Fredericksburg
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Fredericksburg South (I-95), VA
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson...
#11 of 41 in Fredericksburg
698 reviews
7 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#28 of 41 in Fredericksburg
212 reviews
1 mi away
Sleep Inn Southpoint
Sleep Inn Southpoint
#13 of 41 in Fredericksburg
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Fredericksburg South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Fredericksburg South

Address: 5324 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Fredericksburg, VA 22408-2608 (Formerly Howard Johnson Fredericksburg South)
Region: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Price Range: £38 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Fredericksburg South 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family friendly Red Roof Inn Fredericksburg South is located conveniently off I-95, and is within walking distance of Denny's. You can enjoy other restaurants such as Hooters, Golden Corral, and Ruby Tuesdays located just a minute away. We are close to Spotsylvania Regional Hospital, a local shopping mall, historical civil war battlefields, and Mary Washington University. Red Roof Inn Fredericksburg features a conference room, connecting rooms, and has exterior corridors. All rooms at this hotel offer free WiFi, flat-screen TV, hair dryer, in-room coffee, and a work desk. Select rooms include a microwave & refrigerator, and iron & ironing board. Complimentary coffee-house style coffee & tea are offered in the lobby and one well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, getaroom.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Roof Inn Fredericksburg South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada South Fredericksburg Hotel Fredericksburg
Ramada Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing