We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fredricksburg VA/Washington DC KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk, VA
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I normally stay at hotels, but my family with a Camper wanted us to stay with them for two days. It was very nice. the showers were clean and convenient to the site. Every time I went to the bathroom it was always neat and clean. The grounds are well kept. And there isn't an abundance of noise at night. I'm not big on camping on vacations I like the comfort of a real bed, but this was a nice place to stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lets_go_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    22
    3
    6
    2
See reviews for
34
25
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toms River, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We found this campground to be a great credit to the KOA Foundation. We were greeted and escorted to our level site extremely efficiently and the staff was friendly, helpful and anxious to please. The roads were easy to maneuver and the overall appearance of the campground was clean and inviting. The laundry was airconditioned and clean as was the upgraded shower/restroom area. They have a well-stocked store also. This campground offers lots of entertainment for children (gem stone panning, paddleboats, playground, pool). The owners are continuing to upgrade, make improvements and add amenities. We found this a great place to stay while visiting the battlefields in this area. Be cautious when approaching from Route 1 heading South. When you see the KOA sign indicating 2 plus miles for the campground be prepared to turn at the next left and then proceed on Route 607 for 2 miles to the campground. Also, keep an eye open for the campground entrance sign on your right as you come down the last hill. It is an abrupt and unexpected right turn.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TouringTwoTimers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quantico, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We visited KOA for Memorial Weekend and had a great time! This was our first time ever camping as a family and all of us enjoyed our time. We got the best tent site in my opinion (I believe we were 76) right by the playground with a great view of the pond. Our site didn't come with a tent pad, but we were fine between putting down tarp under the tent and sleeping on air mattress/padding. The bathrooms/shower building was well lit at night and was pretty clean. The fishing pond, pool, and free crafts were a nice bonus. The main building sells coffee in the morning and many items (ice, wood, worms for fishing, toiletries, etc) which makes it nice so you don't have to leave the site and go to the store if you run out of something or forgot something. Overall we had a great relaxing time. I would highly recommend this place to others, and I would love to camp here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmam731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titusville
Level 6 Contributor
1,666 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,329 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have stayed here before and found it to be a nice, quiet and clean campground. The store and reception building very well designed. The people behind the desk or working on the grounds are pleasant and helpful. The price is fair considering the area. It is 6.5 miles off I-95 and in an area near many stores and restaurants. We were just staying overnight, but for those wanting a smaller campground might enjoy the local attractions such as, 4 major Civil War battlefields at
Fredericksburg, Chancellorsville, Spotsylvania and the Wilderness Civil War History Trail. All in all one of the better KOAs we have visited.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
664 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This campground is about 5 miles off I95 south of Fredericksburg, VA. Close enough to the interstate to make it convenient, but far enough away from the highway noise to make it quiet. The campground is relatively small as KOA's go, but the sites and facilities are spacious and well maintained. A small pond with paddle boats is on the property giving the teens and athletes something to do. A pool is also on site for the delight of the young at heart. The area is filled with historic sites and charming shopping, so plan on staying several days to explore the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaintVitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We picked this koa as our halfway point home. Upon pulling in we saw a deluxe site with a fire pot and patio! We asked if it was available for the overnight it was... Totally was worth the extra $$$ would like to visit again small cozy campground all the staff we met were friendly and helpful!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank chef2b5763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I stayed at this campground the weekend of March 22nd and it was great. The bathrooms were spotless (which may have been in part because it's early early spring and there weren't that many campers) but it was still a pleasant surprise. The staff was friendly and helpful and were able to provide accurate directions to different sites in the area, and even knew about lesser known hikes near the campground. The campground itself is pretty small and peaceful with campsites, RV sites and cabins and a nice little pond. There aren't really any trails right at the campground, but if you are in the area to visit Civil War sites, Fredericksburg or other historical spots I think it's a good place to stay.

I stayed in one of the basic cabins which was clean and well-maintained. You have to bring your own linenes, pillows and blankets, but the campsite provides a heater and there's electricity and Wi-fi at relatively reasonable prices. Our four person cabin ran about $55 if I remember correctly. All in all, I'd say this is a great place to stay if you plan of visiting the Fredericksburg area.

Room Tip: Basic cabins have Wi-Fi, electricity, heat/AC and water but no private bathrooms or linens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jisel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fredericksburg
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South
12.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg
9.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Best Western Fredericksburg
Best Western Fredericksburg
#7 of 41 in Fredericksburg
696 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Thornburg Inn & Suites
5.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95)
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#13 of 41 in Fredericksburg
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fredricksburg VA/Washington DC KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fredricksburg VA/Washington DC KOA

Property: Fredricksburg VA/Washington DC KOA
Address: 7400 Brookside Ln, Fredericksburg, VA 22408-8862
Region: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Fredericksburg
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing