We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Service, Dog Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Fredericksburg
Ranked #18 of 42 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good Service, Dog Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

Service was excellent and friendly. The room was clean and comfortable. I really
appreciated the dog friendliness of the hotel. There were large fields nearby to walk my dog which I always enjoy having. The breakfast selection was good. The workout room was good with a variety of equipment. There was a computer work area set up for guests to use. The only negative was that the microwave in the room did not work. I notified the front desk and a portable microwave was brought in quickly.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdenJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    54
    31
    7
    8
See reviews for
64
40
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

I do not know why this place got such low reviews. It looks like it has recently been renovated and was very clean. My studio had all good appliances in the kitchen, plenty of hangers for my clothes, plenty of room to work with the very large desk, a flat screen TV, and a very quiet AC unit (AC was set to 70 degrees when I came in). The thing I love about TownePlace Suites the most is the roll out desk that I can use while doing work and watching TV. I have no really complaints about this hotel stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

We booked this hotel for my cousins who were coming in from out of town. I went over to check them in and take advantage of the swimming pool. My family usually leans towards Marriott brand hotels because we pretty much know what to expect. I walked into the "lobby" of this hotel and was surprised that there was no lobby....there was a very small desk at the entrance for check in. The person checking us in was really nice and had us checked in quickly. I don't think I've ever been in a hotel that was set up like this before. We checked in and went up to the room,,,,the hallway smelled like mildew....smelled like the carpet had been wet at some point and needed to be deep cleaned. We changed our clothes and went down to the pool....it was small, but fine for the kids. The edge of the pool appeared to have had a hot tub at one point; it was now filled with cement and covered up with indoor/outdoor carpet! The fence around the pool had a screen around the bottom to catch the leaves and boy was it full of leaves. Clearly, the grounds of this hotel are not kept up to my standards. I know the hotel is in a "small" town but I expected more from Marriott...I don't think I will recommend this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheanier W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

Last week my boyfriend and I were driving down the coast and had planned to stop in Fredricksburg overnight. We arrived late (1:30am) and the lady at the front desk was nice and pleasant and gave us our room key. When we got into the room it was freezing. I'm not talking 70 degrees on the thermostat, it was literally frigid. It was hot and humid out, so I understand keeping the rooms cool, but the A/C was on 65 degrees - we felt like we might get colds from the temperature change! The room was small and had a large refridgerator and mini kitchen. All ammenities which we did not need, but nice to have for some people traveling I guess. Our sleep was nice and short as we had more driving to do in the morning. Morning shower...not so nice. I went first. I had a nice warm shower, but then I went for the towels and realized they were brand new and hadn't even been washed yet! I could tell this by the way the cotton shedded off of the towels. My boyfriend went next and had a freezing cold shower with the same towel problem. Not a good start to the day... On our way down the old and shaky elevator we encountered a man in a suit who smelled like he had an all-night bender. The breakfast spread was nice downstairs. They give you much more than most hotels do for a free continental breakfast. That redeemed them a bit, but they need to step it up. I always stay in Marriott's and I usually love them, but this one was not up to their quality.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night during a week-long tour of Virginia, where all of our other stays were in B&Bs. Our expectations were low, but Marriott exceeded them in spades.

During a blistering heat wave in July, we found the individually controlled air-conditioning units were a blessing, as was the well-kept swimming pool. The bed was comfortable, though the pillows were cheap, and we were glad that we had brought our own.

The staff was friendly and professional throughout our time there, and they kept the place immaculate. At a daily rate of $99, we thought it was well worth the money.

The bonus the next morning was the extensive free breakfast, which included a variety of yogurts, make-your-own waffles, eggs (which seemed powdered but tolerable), sausage patties, several kinds of cereal, and juices.

We've stayed in the best places and some that are disappointing, but this was just right for the price. We recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pfbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
791 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Never stayed in a TownePlace Suites before so thought we would give it a try. I'm an elite Marriott member so we try and stay at Marriott properties. This hotel was completly updated in the last 2 years and the rooms are now as good as most in the Marriott line (except the upper end properties). New flat screen HD TV's etc. I'm not sure what some other reviewers are talking about when that say it is run down. It's just the opposite. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. There were even fresh baked cookies at checkin. Breakfast was the usual Marriott standards, sausage, eggs, various types of breads & muffins, various furits etc. All Marriotts have pretty much the same breakfast. Some a little better some no so. this was on the better side. There was also a stack of food bars to pick up and take along. I would gladly stay there again and have already recommended it to someone else.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Levon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fredericksburg. va
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

We just checked out. We live locally but spent one night due to power being out in our home. The hotel is probably the most run down Marriott property I've ever seen (inside). Outside is fine looking. Inside is just gross. It's pet friendly which I appreciate but I don't want my room to smell like dogs and urine. Which is exacty what it smelled like along with a damp/musty smell and feel. The room furniture is pretty beat up giving it a second hand look. Even appliances are old. Everything in room just was sad and old. I'm a Marriott Elite member and have stayed at many Marriotts. This one is probably physically the worst. On the up side, front desk staff were nice. If you're looking for a Marriott in the Fredericksburg area you'd be better off at the Residence Inn, it's newer and much better (we stayed there the night before).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boptrevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95)
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#13 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fredericksburg
Candlewood Suites Fredericksburg
#26 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Homewood Suites Fredericksburg
Homewood Suites Fredericksburg
#2 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
Fairfield Inn & Suites Frederick...
#16 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
3.2 mi away
Residence Inn Fredericksburg
Residence Inn Fredericksburg
#7 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Fredericksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Fredericksburg

Property: TownePlace Suites Fredericksburg
Address: 4700 Market St, Fredericksburg, VA 22408-8600
Region: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Fredericksburg
#6 Business Hotel in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — TownePlace Suites Fredericksburg 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your TownePlace Suites Fredericksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Fredricksburg Hotel Fredericksburg
Fredricksburg Towneplace Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing