We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff, extraordinary room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great staff, extraordinary room”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I stayed int the King Suite with my family this past weekend and was pleasantly surprised. The room was large and quite spacious with a separate bedroom and eat-in kitchen. The room was well appointed and comfortable and about the size of a typical one bedroom apartment. It was also quiet and clean.

The staff was also outstanding. Cynthia greeted us and took great care in checking us in. The manager on duty, John, took care of a small issue we had in short order and to our satisfaction. Jezebel was polite and attentive as was Karen. We were greeted each time we entered and exited making us feel right at home (and giving us an added sense of security.)

The pool was wonderful. Clean and warm. The gym had a good variety of equipment (all of which looked brand new). There were several restaurants within walking distance and a grocery store in the same complex (all very convenient.)

We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DocksandAltars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInnCarlyle, General Manager at Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hello DocksandAlters!
Thank you so much for the great review of the Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington! Your wonderful comments about our team are very much appreciated. It is always nice to see associates mentioned by name! Be assured your comments will be shared with our entire team.
I'm glad you enjoyed the suite, pool and fitness room!

Thank you again, and we look forward to your return visit to the Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington.

Jim Fournier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    74
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
172
90
19
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I've stayed at hotels with lots of stars, and this is certainly one of them. Location, room, staff, charm, nice quiet night to boot -- really pleasant. Had an early breakfast in the gallery that was charmingly cooked and set out. The menu was well put together and top quality. If I were a parent scouting for a college with a prospective student, I'd look forward to my kid being in Fredericksburg.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rosalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattPlaceFred, General Manager at Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hi Rosalie and thank you so much for the 5 star review of the Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington. I'm happy to read we deserve our stars! Thank you for the kind words about our complimentary hot breakfast, location, staff, and room quality!

Thank you again, and I hope to see you again soon when your travels bring you to the Fredericksburg area.

Jim Fournier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

First, we expected this hotel to be much more expensive than it was! We stayed here for the price of a Holiday Inn or Comfort Inn. If there is a Hyatt in any other city we go to, we will definitely be changing our brand to the Hyatt. Loved every bit of it. They even have a sitting area in the middle of the hotel, with chairs, outdoor fire pits, etc. Lovely! The breakfast left a little to be desired considering the hotel and the rest of the experience -seriously- who wants to eat powdered eggs? But even that wasn't enough to change my opinion of this hotel and I usually make or break the hotel based on the breakfast. The bar also was lacking - mostly in the offerings and the prices. However, the rest of the hotel was posh and very comfortable. Would recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: Didn't hear any sounds at all coming from neighboring rooms. I don't think there's a bad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InnAtHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattPlaceFred, General Manager at Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hi InnAtHome! Thank you very much for not only the 5 star review but also the recommendation! I'm glad you mentioned our wonderful Courtyard area in the center of the hotel. I do hope you were able to enjoy it with the beautiful weather we've been having. I also appreciate the feedback about breakfast. We are constantly striving for improvement, so all feedback is important.

Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Jim Fournier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

I am traveling from Florida to New Jersey with my wife, 11 month old son, and dog. We stopped here because my son had been in his car seat enough for one day and it was the best decision ever! Front desk staff very accommodating and polite, close food options in the shopping mall, beautiful rooms with comfortable king sized beds, very pet friendly, and quiet. This hotel has any accommodation one would need for a quick stop over to an extended stay! We will be back as we make this trip annually and my extended family will be referred to this location!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Andergoogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattPlaceFred, General Manager at Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hi Andergoogs! Wow....what a great review of the Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington! Thank you for the referrals and thank you for the 5 star review! Your positive comments about the staff, location, quality of our rooms, and sleep quality are very much appreciated!

Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you next year, if not sooner!

Jim Fournier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We held a small conference/all day meeting at this hotel. What a great location to hold an event. All the employees were very attentive and went out of their way to be accommodating! We had a beverage service and luncheon as part of our event. The food was outstanding! I would highly recommend this hotel for an event.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattPlaceFred, General Manager at Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hello Michelle B! Thank you so much for the highly recommend, and the 5 star review! I'm glad you found our location to be great and our staff attentive, engaging and accommodating, while delivering outstanding food!

Thanks again, and we hope to see you again soon!

Jim Fournier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My family and I stayed here during a rather hastily planned trip to Fredericksburg, VA. The location was central to our needs and the service was excellent. The hotel looks like it has been redesigned in the last few years with very clean and modern lines. The breakfast and wifi is included and there's a small indoor pool. We stayed in a room with two queen beds and a pull out sofa.

We had the misfortune of spending an entire day in our room instead of exploring Fredericksburg due to a bout of food poisoning. (We ate from the Quiznos located across the parking lot) - thankfully our 11 year old ate something else and was not sick)

Pros:

- affordable
- friendly staff
- excellent customer service
- centrally located
- free parking
- huge television with forward facing inputs (VGA, USB, HDMI)
- breakfast included
- free wifi
- indoor swimming pool

Cons:
- the faucet in our bathroom was about an inch too far from the inner rim of the sink. So if you turned on the tap slightly, the water would flow on to the counter. It's minor thing, but someone should have done quality control.

- the mini fridge in our room made a rather noticeable humming sound every time it turned on.

If other Hyatt Place hotels are like this one, you've made me a customer!

Room Tip: The rooms with double queen beds and sofas are great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nabilfawzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattPlaceFred, General Manager at Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hello Nabilfawzi!
Thank you very much for the very nice review of the Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington. Your list of Pros is very much appreciated! I'm happy to say we haven't been re-deigned, but rather we just opened in January of 2014! I appreciate you mentioning the faucet. We are currently working on a solution to remedy this.
Thanks again, and I hope to see you again when you're in the Fredericksburg area.

Jim Fournier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
123 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The hotel is new and is in great shape. Location is very convenient to Mary Washington, both hotel and hospital. This means that there are nice grounds for walking just a few steps away. Area is in a shopping mall area. Food close by is OK, but certainly nothing spectacular. Complementary breakfast was good. Jefferson Davis highway is very busy with traffic trying to avoid I-95. The rooms are in great shape, clean and modern. Staff was to a person friendly and clearly aiming to please. Parking is easy but we were warned to be sure to show a pass since towing was a possibility. Given number of spots in close proximity, this seems unnecessary. Seemed even more so after a late arrival on a very rainy night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattPlaceFred, General Manager at Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hi Mark J,
Thank you for the nice review of the Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington. I certainly appreciate your kind words about our location, friendly staff, and room quality. I'm also glad you were able to enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast. I also appreciate the feedback about parking.

Thank you again, and I hope to see you soon if your travels bring you to the Fredericksburg area.

Jim Fournier
General Manager
Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South
1.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Fredericksburg
Homewood Suites Fredericksburg
#2 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District
Courtyard Fredericksburg Histori...
#10 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
2.1 mi away
Residence Inn Fredericksburg
Residence Inn Fredericksburg
#6 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
3.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington

Property: Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington
Address: 1241 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Fredericksburg, VA 22401-4415
Region: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington is located in Historic Fredericksburg Virginia, on the campus of the University of Mary Washington and Mary Washington Hospital Campus, and just minutes from Old Town Fredericksburg. Our 93 room hotel includes 4 spacious suites, and premier meeting facilities. Conveniently situated between Richmond Virginia and Washington D.C., this Virginia hotel is the perfect choice whether you are on business travel, or visiting one of the many Historic attractions in Fredericksburg VA.The hotel is located in the middle of Eagle Village, a pedestrian friendly 23-acre mixed-use development with over 20 retail shops, a fitness club, grocery, and over ten family-oriented restaurants and cafes offering selections from sushi and Mexican cuisine to one of the area's most popular sports bars, all within steps of the hotel.Eagle Village is also connected to miles of city's trail system that takes walkers, runners, or bicyclists to downtown Fredericksburg and the Rappahannock River ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing