We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at the Schooler House B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 10 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 March 2013

My husband and I spent the night at the Schooler House Bed and Breakfast, and our stay was made perfect by the beautiful house and the delicious breakfast. We stayed in Willie's room, and the fireplace helped create a warm and cozy atmosphere. Andi is a great hostess, and she gave good recommendations on places to eat. We had such a good time that we are going to make our visit there a yearly event. Thanks, Andi!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schoolerhouse, Owner at The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Thank you for talking the time to write such a nice review! It was great hosting you and Pete here I enjoyed our conversation at the breakfast table. Stay well and take good care of yourself!

Best regards,
Andi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2013

We had a great time celebrating our anniversary in Fredericksburg this March and will definitely return to The Schooler House. Our stay was very comfortable, breakfast was delicious (even though Andi claims she doesn't really cook), and we loved staying in town where we could walk to shops and restaurants. There is nothing about our two night stay that I would change.

Room Tip: Willie's Room is a little larger, so I'd go with that one if you're staying more than a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schoolerhouse, Owner at The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Hi Stephanie,
Thank you for your lovely review! I really enjoyed having you here and hope you'll come back for a visit! Stay well and we'll keep in touch!
Andi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Andi at the Schooler House made sure I had an unforgettable visit to this great town. I was able to see where my grandmother grew up, enjoyed shopping in the heart of town and eating at some great restaurants, all of which were within walking distance from the Schooler House. If you are traveling by train the house is an easy 10 minute walk from the station, no need for taxis! The house itself is just beautiful, with fireplaces in both bedrooms and the dining room, which was great! Breakfast was amazing! If I go back to Fredericksburg I will definitely stay here again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0h17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schoolerhouse, Owner at The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Hi Heather,
It was great fun having you here and sharing your genealogy journey! I'm glad you were able to see the house where your great grandparents and grandmother lived. Erin and Chris were thrilled to show you around and loved hearing your story.
Hope to see you if you return to Fredericksburg.
Andi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

This is our second weekend trip to Fredericksburg, the last time at a different B&B downtown which we also liked. But Schooler House was great. Andi takes a lot of pride in her house, its history, and the numerous antique artifacts she has everywhere. This B&B only has 2 rooms, but that's why you get a little more personal attention I think. When she took the time right off the start to explain the background of the house, it showed that she was as excited about us being there as we were. We stayed in Annie's room, which is a little smaller than Willie's, but we were very comfortable. The bed is one of those very high antique ones that you almost need a step stool to get into, but very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. It's the classic home-cooked style, and it was great. Started with a strawberry & blueberry cup with whipped cream. Then scrambled eggs & bacon, with french toast. Eggs & bacon were good, but the french toast was awesome. With real maple syrup. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: If you both need to be in the bathroom at the same time getting ready in the mornings, go for Willie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schoolerhouse, Owner at The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Hi Mike,
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for posting feedback; I really do appreciate you taking the time to do it. I hope you'll come back again. You have to try my poached pears and scones!
Andi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Really, we only do a repeat if it is a homerun. Too many choices to just keep doing the same old thing. But the thing is with this joint is we get the weekend we really, REALLY want. So close to all the good stuff in Old Town, knowledgeable hosts that may give different (read: both side of a coin) reviews of attractions with great food and an attractions in walking distance...

Minor requests like having coffee ready at 4AM for an early riser like me...no issue.

Be warned... if you are on any sort of diet issue, make sure they know or you are toast because the food in the AM is soon to be made illegal. Starting with fresh poached pears and raspberries with cream.... The proprietor my need to be arrested for contributing to the delinquency of my waistline. I hope her husband is around to bail her out!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danpri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schoolerhouse, Owner at The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2013

Hi Dan,
Please don't arrest me!! Loved your review; very clever. Always a pleasure having you and Patty stay with us! I hope you'll come back again soon. Maybe we'll see you in C-ville one of these days.
Best,
Andi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We spent one night at this lovely B&B in December as part of a holiday “getaway.” From the minute we arrived Andi made us feel comfortable and at home. The room was spacious and beautifully decorated and the remodeled shower was a delight. Breakfast was excellent and we enjoyed sitting and chatting with Andi. The B&B is a short walk to the shops and restaurants; we had a great dinner at Foode, where the servers were well acquainted with Andi and her husband, (as well as their dog!) We highly recommend this great B&B.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtn2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schoolerhouse, Owner at The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2013

Thank you for your lovely review! I know how it is to get caught up in life after returning home so I really appreciate you taking the time to post. I hope you'll come visit again!
Andi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

This place was the ideal location for us. The coziness and charm of the Schooler House made us feel right at home. Breakfast was phenominal, and the hosts were absolutely accomodating in every meaning of the word.
I would recommend the Schooler House hands down to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schoolerhouse, Owner at The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2013

Hi Mark,
Thank you so much for your review! I've been very slow in responding; please excuse me. Loved having you here and hope you'll come visit again!
Andi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington
0.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Fredericksburg Historic District
Courtyard by Marriott Fredericks...
#11 of 41 in Fredericksburg
347 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Richard Johnston Inn
Richard Johnston Inn
#1 of 10 in Fredericksburg
389 reviews
1.9 mi away
Braehead Manor Bed and Breakfast
Braehead Manor Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 10 in Fredericksburg
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kenmore Inn
The Kenmore Inn
#1 of 3 in Fredericksburg
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1303 Caroline St, Fredericksburg, VA 22401-3703
Region: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range: £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1891 for Mary Schooler, The Schooler House provides guests with an opportunity to live like a Victorian. The home is a true B&B, with 2 rooms, each containing a queen-sized bed, twin sofa bed, bath en suite, gas fireplace, tv, spa robes, and period antiques. The Parlor is a wonderful spot to enjoy the Victorian furniture and pieces, including young ladies autograph books, written in a style and manner from the past.A full breakfast is prepared and served around a Sheridan 3 piece dining room table. The dishes and silver are all over 100 years old, as are many of the serving pieces. In the Winter, the fireplace keeps our guests cozy.The front porch is a great place to watch the town go by. The Trolley and Carriage Tours stop in front of The Schooler House while showing The Rising Sun Tavern, directly across the street. The gardens are full of perennials, carefully selected for their Victorian feel and look. The 1900 corregated metal garage is converted into a lovely garden room for afternoon naps, reading, wine sipping, and just listening to the waterfall in the adjacent pond.For a true Victorian experience where service is our goal, The Schooler House, consistently rated 5 Stars, is the place for your Fredericksburg experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Schooler House Bed And Breakfast
The Schooler House Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing