We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Anniversary!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 10 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
“Excellent Anniversary!”
Reviewed 5 August 2008

We stayed at the Schooler House for our 12th anniversary. My husband and I love to visit inns and B&Bs when traveling, and we make a point of it on our anniversary. It was one of the most charming places we have ever stayed! We were fascinated by all the historical information the owners had uncovered about the home. Many items they found during restoration have been preserved and displayed. It is very convenient to the downtown antiques shopping and restaurants. The Rising Sun Tavern (Geo. Washington's old watering hole!) is literally across the street! Our room was fantastic-with a private bath (luxurious!) and working fireplace. The common areas of the house were so comfortable. The best part was in the back yard. They have turned a little garage/shed into the coolest sitting area! There's a ceiling fan-which made it perfectly comfortable to sit out there on a late July night-which is amazing in Virginia! I'm going to try to add a few of our pictures, hopefully they will convince you to stay too!

  • Liked — Comfortable room, close to town, incredibly warm innkeepers.
  • Disliked — Our stay was too short!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colmike96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
169
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2008

My wife and I recently returned from a two day trip to historic Fredericksburg and the Schooler Bed and Breakfast Inn. If there are two finer hosts that Andi and Paul, I would like to meet them. I have rarely been treated with such hospitality, concern, and attention. Andi and Paul are extremely helpful, friendly and attentive, but also are quite aware of a guest's privacy. Their service, the food, recommendations, and attention are second to none and we found every one of their suggestions, especially restaurants and attractions to be right on the mark, and in particular, Paul's driving directions. The location of the inn is terrific, you can walk to almost any restaurant and almost all of the historic attractions as well. There is a lot to do and we couldn't cover it all in two days. Fredericksburg is a gem and not known by many, it should be. If you go to Fredericksburg, choose the Schooler House for your stay, you will not regret it.

  • Liked — innkeepers, atmosphere, and setting
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank yogikaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, VA
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2008

This B&B was incredible! The house was clean and tastefully decorated. The hospitality was unmatched. The room was beautiful and quiet and close to everything in downtown Fredericksburg. Breakfast was delicious and we really enjoyed our stay. I highly recommend it!

  • Liked — clean and relaxing
  • Disliked — nothing, it was all good.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flutelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2008

The Schooler house is SO much more than a Bed and Breakfast! It is a wonderful, delightfull, hospitable, welcoming, charming, historical, and beautifull oasis. It is almost surreal and "fairy tale" like. The house is perfectly decorated with old treasures and antiques. The yard, front and back, is beautiful and so very serene with a fish pond, brick walk-ways, pretty trees and flowers. In my opinion, the exterior of the house is the cutest and prettiest of the whole street. It is very clean, the sheets are the most comfortable I have ever slept on, and the bath robes make you feel like royalty! The breakfast will fascinate you! The "candlelight breakfast" is displayed with beautiful antique dishes. There is even a seperate dish for the butter and the teabags. Fresh flowers in a vase from the yard serve as a centerpiece. Water and orange juice are poured into wine glasses, and the hot coffee and tea are poured out of antique pitchers into victorian tea mugs. There is a large plate of assorted fruit, the eggs are the best I ever tasted, wonderful french toast and homemade fruit filled muffins! The hosts (Andi and Paul) are so very nice and hospitable, as are there 2 'lil' furkids, Charlie and Elliott. We highly recommend The Schooler House Bed and Breakfast! We just got back today from a weekend at the B & B, and can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — The Beauty that surrounds it and the Relaxation...Best B & B Ever!
  • Disliked — That we had to leave :(
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MissTess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Andi (the owner and hostess) was very welcoming and enjoyed showing off her beautiful historic home. Our room, furnished with antiques, was spacious and featured a lovely bath and attached sitting room. We were most impressed, however, with the friendly welcome and service. Andi really made us feel at home. She gave great suggestions for restaurants and places to visit. When she learned my birthday would be during our stay, a small bottle of chilled champagne and two glasses appeared in our room. And when we left behind a guidebook borrowed from our local library, she and Paul found the library's address and mailed it back before we even realized it was missing! We would gladly visit again.

The location was great, too. It was in easy walking distance of all the historic Fredericksburg downtown sights and restaurants. It was also easy to find, but just a word of advice--due to local zoning they're not allowed to have a sign out front, so be sure you take along the B & B's street address.

  • Liked — Great Service
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HistoryAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2007

If you're looking for the best B&B in Fredericksburg, my wife and I would vote The Schooler House!

From the moment we booked our reservation we knew we found the right place. Andi was so gracious and helpful. Upon arrival Andi welcomed us warmly. She is proud of her home and gave us a wonderful tour of the property. The house is full of antiques, including the guest rooms.

The room was spacious and very comfortable. The sheets and pillow cases are ironed and felt like a million bucks! The towels were so soft and fluffy.

Breakfast was amazing. The table was set in antique dishes and silver, with beautiful crystal. The fireplace was roaring and the food was delicious; much more than continental.

And, we can't leave out Charlie and Elliott, 2 of the best behaved little dogs - cute too. I need to teach my dogs how to stay when told.

We will definately visit The Schooler House again. The charm of the front porch and lovely back yard is reason to return in the Spring.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank trainguy357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tampa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2007

We stayed at the Schooler House over a weekend recently while visiting our daughter who attends the University of Mary Washington in Fredericksburg. Before arriving, the owner, Angie, asked about how we were planing to get to Fredericksburg and then recommended that we try to start our drive from D.C. on I95 by 3:00 before rush hour traffic. We appreciated this very much and heeded her advice but it was a rainy late afternoon and it took us 2 1/2 hours to go 35 miles anyway! I was tramatized by the time we arrived and Angie responded with empathy and a glass of wine!

I don't know how she does it but I have stayed at many B&B's but have never felt so welcome. The home is spotless and smells wonderful-the sheets are ironed! The breakfast was delightful in a fire lit dining room. Angie had good recommendations for places to visit and where to dine. The day we headed back to D.C., Angie noted that there was a marathon that day right in the path of our return! With this advance warning, we were able to complete our plans for D.C. that day.

  • Liked — The Host
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InsiderTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District
Courtyard Fredericksburg Histori...
#11 of 41 in Fredericksburg
331 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Fredericksburg
Best Western Fredericksburg
#7 of 41 in Fredericksburg
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
2.6 mi away
Homewood Suites Fredericksburg
Homewood Suites Fredericksburg
#2 of 41 in Fredericksburg
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1303 Caroline St, Fredericksburg, VA 22401-3703
Region: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1891 for Mary Schooler, The Schooler House provides guests with an opportunity to live like a Victorian. The home is a true B&B, with 2 rooms, each containing a queen-sized bed, twin sofa bed, bath en suite, gas fireplace, tv, spa robes, and period antiques. The Parlor is a wonderful spot to enjoy the Victorian furniture and pieces, including young ladies autograph books, written in a style and manner from the past.A full breakfast is prepared and served around a Sheridan 3 piece dining room table. The dishes and silver are all over 100 years old, as are many of the serving pieces. In the Winter, the fireplace keeps our guests cozy.The front porch is a great place to watch the town go by. The Trolley and Carriage Tours stop in front of The Schooler House while showing The Rising Sun Tavern, directly across the street. The gardens are full of perennials, carefully selected for their Victorian feel and look. The 1900 corregated metal garage is converted into a lovely garden room for afternoon naps, reading, wine sipping, and just listening to the waterfall in the adjacent pond.For a true Victorian experience where service is our goal, The Schooler House, consistently rated 5 Stars, is the place for your Fredericksburg experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Schooler House Bed And Breakfast
The Schooler House Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing