We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop along the I-95”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95)
Ranked #13 of 42 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stop along the I-95”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We arrived at 2 a.m. and were given a clean, quiet room - and told check-out is at noon! The night clerk was friendly, professional and accommodating. The room was spacious and clean (although longer curtains would darken room better). Breakfast the next morning was the only part that needed work - coffee never appeared, so we had tea, cups were hard to find, and gluten-free options were few. However, the waitstaff were friendly and accommodating too, even finding chocolate donuts for the kids in the back. We would definitely recommend this place (for extra value, grab a coupon from the Hotel books provided at the State Welcome centres).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dizzzy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95), responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Guest; Thank you for your kind review, we are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay. We apologize we were short on items at breakfast and appreciate you mentioning this so we can correct it right away. We are glad you found the accommodations a great fit for your needs and had a restful sleep until check out. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    178
    77
    46
    39
See reviews for
290
138
39
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Two years and 8 months ago my husband and I visited Fredericksburg for the very first time. My husband had an appointment with a specialist due to a injury. Little did we know at the time we would be visiting every month. After shopping around for a good place to stay for the remainder of the weekend, we found Country Inn and suites (south). We have never stayed any other place in almost 3 years. This has become our second home and hands down the greatest hotel experience . Not just once but every single time, We find ourselves anxiously awaiting our monthly trips due to this place! Our 4 sons love it here as well. Its also nice to see their excellent staff and managment team always smiling and eager to assist. From Johnathan to his front desk team to the general manager Randell also the housekeeping staff, i cannot say enough. Thank you for a wonderful stay each and every month.....and a special thank you to Johnathan. You always take care of whatever your guests need, from a simple heater to showing us how to keep up with our carlson points for free nights or upgrades. You have been here from the beginning and you do a exceptional job. See you all next month.

Room Tip: The pillowtop beds are great and very rare to find.
See more room tips
Green Features: Energy star windows and appliances in the rooms are nice as well
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonya N David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95), responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Guest; From all of us at the Country Inn & Suites Fredericksburg, South, thank you so much for the wonderful review. We appreciate you selecting our hotel as your home away from home all this time. We are pleased to see that each and every time you have been with us, has been a very positive experience. We truly appreciate you taking the time to personally recognize Jonathan, Randall and the rest of the staff for doing an outstanding job. We will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2013

While waiting on our house to be built we stayed here for 3 months. Everyone went out of thier way to make our stay enjoyable. From Jonathan, Laura, Miley and everyone at the front desk. To Eury and all the housekeeping and maintenence staff. And including the sales manager(Staphanie) and the owner. They always had a smile and friendly hello. When we first got there our small dog (Duncan MaGee) had to adjust. We left him in the room and he started barking. The front desk would call me and ask if they could go in and sit with him for a minute. It was never treated as a complaint, it was more about making the pet comfortable. Surprisingly it only took 2 days and we never had another issue with his barking. I think this was due to the attention he got from the staff.
If you have a pet there is no place better to stay in the eastern USA.
This hotel and it's staff will always hold a warm place in our hearts. Thank you for being you
Mike and Kim Boyd

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95), responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Mr. & Mrs. B - From all of us at Country Inn & Suites Fredericksburg, thank you for the wonderful review! We greatly appreciate you allowing us the opportunity to be your home away from home for an extended period of time. It was our pleasure having you as our guests. We will miss you and our new favorite pooch who quickly became a member of our extended families too. Congratulations again on the new home. Please come back and visit when you can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed here in October 2013 for my brother's wedding, which was also held at the hotel. The hotel staff were VERY pleasant, especially considering there were over 100 of us attending this wedding.

Breakfast was your standard sausage, eggs, waffles, biscuits, as well as cereal and toast, however I did like that they had free cookies and coffee in the lobby 24/7.

The pool and hot tub were very nice, even with it being chilly outside, the chill didn't make it inside the pool area, which was great.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avengedshadow90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95), responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Guests; Thank you for being a first time guest of the Country Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South! We are delighted to be a part of your families special day and glad to see that everyone had a wonderful time. We are very pleased to see that you had a great experience as our guests and thank you again for the great review.

Please come back and visit us anytime, there are events going on year round in our historic town and we welcome the opportunity to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hackettstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My husband and I are both pet hotel snobs and this is one of the nicest pet friendly hotels we have been to. Our room was spacious and clean as was the common area of the hotel and guess what no doggie smell in our room!! This is the half way point to our second home in SC so we will definitely be back again. Good breakfast and very friendly and accommodating staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebK93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95), responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Guests; Thank you for selecting the Country Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South as your place to stay. We are delighted to see another first time guest of ours had a wonderful experience and greatly appreciate the 5 star review as well as the compliments for our staff and services. Safe travels to you and your family, we look forward to welcoming you all back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Like all of the other Country Inn properties I have used, this one provides a very comfortable bed, clean room, excellent WiFi and the best breakfasts of the hotel chains I've used. It is located near a large shopping area. It is a bit of distance from the historic downtown area if you are looking for that type of thing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nwnative44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95), responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Guest; Thank you for your very kind review, we are pleased to see a long time guest of Country Inn brand joining us for the first time in Fredericksburg. We are delighted to see that the accommodations, location and amenities were a great fit for your travel needs. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
445 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This was our first experience with the Country Inn chain. We travel back and forth to Florida and most times take the 81 South route. This being football season, there were no hotels available last weekend in Roanoke - our midway stop. So we looked at the 94 corridor and found this one. When you travel with a pet, the choices in hotels is very limited and can be problematic. Most times we stay at LaQuinta hotels for price and convenience, but have been disappointed in the past 2 stays as we feel they have diminished their quality.
So, with this as a comparison, we were very pleased - giving an excellent review - with this hotel. The bed was very comfortable, the room quite spacious. In spite of the hotel being sold out with families, it was a great night's sleep (even on the front side of the hotel). Our room was spotless and our noise sensitive pup was not bothered at all.
Breakfast was a great surprise in the morning. While I agree they need another waffle maker and actually a larger overall breakfast room, I was very pleased with the variety of items offered - including breakfast burritos. I'm sure weekends are much busier than during the week, but they could improve their ratings by expanding the dining area.
The local Denny's is actually connected to the hotel, so on that rainy night, we were able to drop in for a quick, light dinner. Food and service were basic, but good.
It's right off 95 - so easy off and on. I noticed there were several restaurants in the area if you want a greater variety.
This hotel is on our "yes, we'll stay again" list for the future. Staff was friendly and responsive to everyone. They might think about adding another staff person for check-in on busy weekend nights. We had to wait in a line...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockyisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95), responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Guests; On behalf of the entire team welcome to the Country Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South. Thank you very much for the wonderful review! We are so pleased to see that your first experience with the brand and with us exceeded your expectations and you had a enjoyable visit. We greatly appreciate your feedback and will use your comments as a way to improve upon our customer relations moving forward. We are delighted to see that you all will return and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you again for being our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South
7.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg
6.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Fredericksburg North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Best Western Fredericksburg
Best Western Fredericksburg
#5 of 42 in Fredericksburg
677 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fredericksburg
Candlewood Suites Fredericksburg
#26 of 42 in Fredericksburg
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95)

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95)
Address: 5327 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Fredericksburg, VA 22408-2607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Fredericksburg
#13 Family Hotel in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95) 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Staff at Country Inn & Suites hotel in Fredericksburg, VA takes great pride in offering guest rooms and suites that ensure every guest feels right at home. Rooms include complimentary high speed wireless Internet access, cable TV, refrigerator and microwave, just to name a few. We are pleased to offer a complimentary continental Breakfast each morning. Don't forget to relax in our pool. We also have meeting space available for up to 100 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inns And Suites Fredericksburg South
Country Inns & Suites Fredericksburg South Hotel Fredericksburg
Fredericksburg Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing