We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunken Well Tavern

Sunken Well Tavern
Ranked #79 of 427 Restaurants in Fredericksburg
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

Original brunch selections are tasty and reasonably priced - the seafood omelet is really good. Service is friendly and helpful. The chef knows what he/she is doing, so if the Well has a special, try it!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fburgfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    28
    8
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
237 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Neighborhood atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

A note to visitors, if you are visiting the Fredericksburg battlefield the Sunken Well is two blocks from the Richard Rowland Kirkland (Angel of Fredericksburg) memorial. I recommend you stop for lunch, dinner or at least a beverage.

The Sunken Well is casual. The food is consistent and the tap beer selection provides plenty of options. The menu is more on a line with a deli, but offers entrées and specials for dinner. The menu is available on line. Between all of us we have sampled a majority of the menu, and we all concur that everything was very good. Although, the onion rings we had last Saturday (8.6.11) not so much. They were lightly breaded, almost tempura, but they were very, very bland. The only other comment would be that sometimes the staff is a bit slow/inattentive at times but the place is small so if you need to get their attention it is not difficult.

The Well does close a 9:00 p.m. so plan accordingly.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank andyandsally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great fum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

Just left Wednesday trivia night at sunken well. First timers the regulars were a hoot. Check it out

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kalenamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downtown Fredericksburg
1 review
“Delicious Food, Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2009

The Sunken Well is one of my favorite local spots in Fredericksburg. In the four years I’ve studied at Mary Washington I haven’t found an environment like the Well anywhere else. A small restaurant and bar combined with a small, family-like staff easily convert a passerby into a regular.

Throughout the past year I have had two roommates work as servers at the Well and from their stories and my own experiences I feel like I know the place as well as they do. I love their food, especially the Chicken Caesar Wrap and the Sesame Chicken Wrap. For $8 I always manage to have enough left for a snack or a small lunch/dinner after I leave (two meals from one, every poor college students dream).

Not only do they have delicious food, but also every night finds some new special. For the money-savvy college student, you can get a pint draft of PBR for $2. Sunday nights are home to a blue grass band, composed of an ever-varying number of musicians of all ages, jamming in the corner, bringing a relaxing and fun atmosphere to bring anyone’s hard day to a calm close. On the first Tuesday of every month a Grateful Dead cover band can be found in the same spot. And although it closes at 9 p.m. there isn’t another place in town that makes me feel so relaxed on a night out than the Sunken Well.

Most Recent Update: My roommate informed me recently that the Sunken Well is working on opening a new location in Downtown Fredericksburg. It will have the same appreciation for local music and art but include a bar with more TVs and the same basic menu with a focus on burgers and steaks.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FBurgGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Great combination of sandwiches and entrees, along with one of the better wine lists in town.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2008

Great combination of sandwiches and entrees, along with one of the better wine lists in town.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Sunken Well Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Sunken Well Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing