We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but need help....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Fairbanks
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Just got back from a short stay. Nice hotel and fairly clean. The staff is very friendly but they seem to have a difficult job keeping up with the work. Our room was a nice size and clean but wasn't cleaned one day. On subsequent days we were missing towels or beds not made (just "tossed" together as one would expect from a young kid.) Breakfast was ok but they kept running out of items - no cinnamon rolls the entire 6 days we were there :( Again, staff was friendly when you could track them down. Overall a nice stay but just a tad frustrating and not what we expect from a Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the highway are noisy. Higher floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VacationHounds32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2012

Dear VacationHounds32,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced while at the hotel. I will follow up with the executive housekeeper to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again. Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

210 - 216 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2012

A total of 3 of us sharing a room at Holiday Inn Express at Fairbanks during a trip in Feb for going to see the northern night.

Staff are friendly. The room was spacious, clean and still quite new. Basic amenities are available. Comfortable beds. Good breakfast. Abundant car-parks. In-door swimming pool and gym readily accessible on G/F. Close to many stores (Sports Authority, Fred Meyer, Home Depot, bookstore, shoe store, etc).

Regret that they do not provide airport shuttle. It will be perfect if airport shuttle is offered.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FionaKwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

First of all Nikki was extremely rude at the front counter - second of all - they messed up on our billing and charged the wrong card - when we asked them to reverse it they didn't know how so we told them it was fine and to just leave it. Then when I thought I had all the money in my accounts switched correctly so I could cover everything I looked at my account online and they had switched it back to how I had originally asked them to run them which screwed my account up again!
It wouldn't have been so bad ( I know mistakes happen) But they were very rude about it!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joy418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Loved the lobby when I first came in. Front Desk was quick to help and I got into a nice, CLEAN room. Beds comfortable. Enjoyed a yummy breakfast the following morning and they have really good cinnamon rolls. What a treat over danishes and donuts! You can tell the workers are HAPPY and that shows everyone is so helpful and pleasant. I will be back again!

Room Tip: If you can, ask for an even-numbered room (away from highway)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amaryllis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

A nice comfortable hotel. Very good beds.The staff is great and the rooms very clean. Breakfast is o.k., typical hotel breakfast. We stayed in a ground floor room this time, close to the pool. It was not very quiet, with noise from upstairs and much traffic in the hall! Get a top floor room if you don't want noise from people above you. The location is not scenic, but it is very easy to get to, and you can walk across the parking lot to the bookstore and places to eat.On winter rates, a very good value for the money.

Room Tip: If you want a ground floor room get one on the opposite side from the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyGrandmaAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Just stayed last week, the rate was reasonable and generally speaking, it is a good hotel.

Hotwire list this one as a three-star hotel at the time I booked but 2 or 2.5 star at somewhere else. The most inconvenient of this hotel was that there was no airport shuttle. If you are the guest of the hotel, they could contact a taxi to/from airport for a contract rate of $15 per car each way.

Just like other holiday express, this one had the same quality.

The breakfast began at 6:30 am in weekdays but 7:30am in weekends and holidays

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Machilus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

The hotel is new construction and was very clean. However, they were still doing some construction on the front doors and there were cold drafts blowing down the halls. We didn't get the ground floor room we reserved, but did get the same style on another floor. They didn't provide linens for the sofa bed, but the front desk staff accomodated us upon request. The amenities smell a little odd. I walked around with my hair smelling like cinnamon all day, which I didn't really care for. Breakfast in the morning was not too bad. I would stay here again, but would bring my own shampoo and lotion.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReelLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
1.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks
5.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
La Quinta Inn & Suites
#2 of 24 in Fairbanks
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks

Address: 400 Merhar Ave, New Property, Fairbanks, AK 99701-3166
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range: £85 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the New Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fairbanks. The newest hotel addition to Fairbanks area. Ideally located the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Fairbanks is adjacent to dining shopping and entertainment.Guests of the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fairbanks, will find this beautifully appointed, state of the art hotel to be well situated for visits to attractions such as Carlson Center, Historic Downtown Fairbanks, and the University of Alaska.Our business travelers will love our hotel s proximity to Boeing, and First National Bank of Alaska.We offer 114 luxuriously appointed guest rooms, including suites equipped with deluxe new bedding, Smart Bath Collection, granite counter tops, 32 flat panel multimedia televisions, and wired/wireless high-speed Internet access. This newly constructed hotel also features an indoor pool, whirlpool, exercise room, business center, and meeting room. Ask about our Free Airport Shuttle Service 24/7. The next time travel takes you to Fairbanks Alaska , Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fairbanks Alaska! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Fairbanks
Holiday Inn Express Fairbanks
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing