We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic driving”
Review of Steese Highway

Steese Highway
Ranked #23 of 97 things to do in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Most of the scenic drives in the Fairbanks region start on this road, which twists through the White Mountains and allows access to mining sites, hot-springs resorts and recreational options.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Scenic driving”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We traveled this road several times during our stay. Beautiful mountains and great places to pull off and view the Northern Lights.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank pinknurse7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    50
    15
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
98 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Well maintained and the gateway to several attractions”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We traveled the Steese Highway in March 2014 to go between Fairbanks, or resort, Taste of Alaska on the Chena Hot Springs Road, the Silver Gulch Brewery for dinner, and to connect with the road to Skiland for viewing the Aurora. Even in the snow, it is well maintained.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wasilla, Alaska
Level Contributor
269 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great Views”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

You can get some great views of the Northern Lights from the Steese. Make sure you bundle up and have your camera ready!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank RDWNG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“See the northern lights”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We rode out this road for about twenty miles to see the lights. There are a number of places to pull safely off the road to look for the lights. One night of success and one night of watching the clouds roll by.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Louisville_KYHga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
160 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Camp wherever you want”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We drove up and down the Steese one time looking for somewhere to camp, so we went over to Ophir Creek... loaded with mosquitoes. We came back out onto the highway and ended up finding a cool spot just off the road next to a small pond. It was really fun, we just did a little off-roading and set up the tent. Good times.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jafarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Steese Highway also viewed

 

Been to Steese Highway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing