We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and informative train ride”
Review of McKinley Explorer

Ranked #16 of 95 things to do in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A scenic railroad spanning 356 miles, from Fairbanks to Anchorage.
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun and informative train ride”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The tour guide was great and the views were fantastic. The time on the train was long, but it felt like it went quicker than it was due to the fun.
Every train car had bar and food service. We didn't eat but did enjoy drinks. We bought the mile guide and it was great to have and track where we were for photos.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kendra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    37
    7
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Alaska train cars”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

if you travel on the Alaska train in a dome car, don't forget your sun-hat and sunglasses. The food in the dining car was very good too. Tasty and a fair price. If you like soda pop get it from there instead of your seat. The train car was clean and the seats were comfortable high-back padded type. The A/C worked so well some people actually were cold and covered up on a full sun day (a lot of heat is generated coming thru the glass dome).

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
193 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Comfortable and clean”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The McKinley Explorer was very comfortable. We did not choose to eat but noted others enjoyed their meals. The coach was immaculate when we arrive. We were kept informed of arrival time (due to an emergency)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nippon703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This experience is a must do.”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The dome/dining car from Denali to Anchorage is a must do. There were no dull moments on this magnificent ride.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oneonta, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome day, awesome staff!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We booked this train as a part of a Holland America package and traveled from Denali to Anchorage. It was absolutely wonderful. The train is so beautiful and the facilities are great. Equipped with good bathrooms and a dining car for meals. The seats were roomy with lots of leg room. The glass ceilings allowed for an incredible view along on the ride. The bartender got us drinks right away. There was a snack menu upstairs and a full menu for the dining car (we did have to wait awhile to eat though). There was a small shop that you could purchase souvenirs while you were onboard. Make sure to bring a credit card since they do not accept cash on the train. So much beautiful scenery and the tour guides were so knowledgeable and funny! Tami and Doug are awesome!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank AshLiz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McKinley Explorer also viewed

 

Been to McKinley Explorer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing