We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rustic hotel in Fairbanks! Closest hotel to Ft. Wainwright!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Fairbanks
Reviewed 31 March 2011

This hotel did not disappoint. While the hotel decor is somewhat older, it is clean and well maintained. Free WiFi and a row near the front desk of several computers there for your use if you didn't bring one. The free continental breakfast was better than most, with a waffle maker available daily, and on one day they served pancakes, bacon, and sausage. Tubby's restaurant downstairs serves some slammin' BBQ and is decorated for hockey lovers and a good place to grab a few beers or drinks without having to drive anywhere. Seconds from Ft. Wainwright, it was the perfect place to stay while visiting my son who is stationed there. My only complaint is that the beds are very hard! No, it's not The Hilton, but who wants THAT every time? I certainly don't. I recommend Regency Fairbanks Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debidoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 254 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2011

We stayed at this place for 2 nights last year during our in land trip to Alaska. We wanted a place with kitchen and this seemed like the best option. It has good value for money , nice rooms, business center and courteous staff. The kitchen is well equipped with pots and pans. We made the best use of the kitchen.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hminnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

The Regency Fairbanks Hotel is an average hotel. The rooms are large and spacious, however the room lighting was terrible. While I understand the need to save energy and reduces costs, when the room is too dark to read or do work, there is a problem. I'm sure this is a non-issue in the summer with the long Fairbanks days, however during the winter months, it was a problem for me and I was unable to do any work in the room with the extremely low lighting.

The only other issue I noticed was the hotel had propped open all the hallway fire doors with wood blocks. Normally these doors are kept open with magnetc switches, releasing the doors when a fire alarm is triggered. With the doors manually propped open, the fire doors are of no use and a possible a violation of the fire code.

Other than these two issue, the hotel was fine. The rooms were large, with a kitchen area for cooking. Parking was adequate and the room was fairly quiet both day and night. The hotel had a resteraunt, however it was closed for renovation during my stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANC_Globetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

Had a group rate available, so I stayed here. It is located on the edge of downtown, close enough to walk in summer... Most will opt to drive in winter.

Rooms: mine at least had a kitchenette. Slightly dated, but everything seemed to work and it was clean. The bed dud not have what I would call modern linens, and it was relatively comfortable - have had better and worse. Room was dark. I thought the Internet was painfully slow, and I needed it for work. Construction style of hotel is not incredible... Hall and neighboring room noises.

Common areas: what I would call Alaskan style, not like a lodge... But elements from gold rush, and other eras.

Staff: friendly enough and competent. I watched staff provide decent travel advice to guests.

Restaurant: other than a quick breakfast, I did not eat in restaurant. Probably wouldn't based on breakfast, better options available, than this basement dining room and small bar area.

I offer a recommendation, although I would probably not stay here again, unless other preferred options were sold out.

And the lobby computer does not qualify as a business center.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jra3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

Room was clean, very large, had full kitchen, big fridge, plush carpeting. There are 3 public computers in the lobby area. Wake up for Northern Lights (if any) available.
The door that enters from the end of the building did not lock, but we didn't encounter any problems.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4worldtravelers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We traveled to this hotel on a Holland America CruiseTour otherwise I would not have gone there. The plus for the room was that it had a kitchenette but the room was only fairly clean and very noisy since the room was on the street which was also the highway so cars went by all night. There was a restaurant but it was in the basement and was very dark and dingy but the food was adequate. Room had two queen beds which was a plus.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank CAbonbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Nice big room, with full kitchen. Restaurant and bar on site, nothing in neighborhood - you'll need to drive to other restaurants - attractions.
Big sunny patio nice in summer - of no use whatsoever in winter (hint: Fairbanks has about seven months of winter).
Free parking, free shuttle to / from airport is useful. The restaurant looked a bit dated, would only eat here for convenience. Typically high Alaskan hotel prices - staff seemed nice and quite helpful.
Good front desk staff, internet cafe on site, quick elevators. I recommend asking for room on top (third floor).

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iceman41ak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
0.2 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#4 of 24 in Fairbanks
420 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
4.2 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#3 of 24 in Fairbanks
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Fairbanks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Fairbanks Hotel

Address: 95 10th Ave, Fairbanks, AK 99701-5072
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Fairbanks
Price Range: £54 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Regency Fairbanks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small elegant property located in the downtown area of Fairbanks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Regency Fairbanks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Fairbanks Hotel Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing