We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Easy access off the Steese Hwy from either direction. Complimentary hot breakfast included. No pastries. The fancy toaster was tricky to use. Waffles were good. Eggs were a bit odd. Lots of nice bacon. Older hotel, but utilitarian and satisfactory. Needs a few more lights in the room, but since it was summer, it was okay. I think it would be pretty dim in the winter.

Room Tip: It was nice to have a fridge, coffee pot, microwave in the room. We did not use the iron and board...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LifetimeAlaskan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
There are newer reviews for Regency Fairbanks Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

Looks like they just finished a remodel. I have stayed here a couple times, due to its convenient location. It is the closest hotel to Ft Wainwright. I have some contract business out there I have to service. The newly remodeled rooms look great. They have always been spacious, but the new look was a much needed face lift. The rooms are always clean, and the staff is wonderful. They also have a great little sports bar downstairs.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Room was clean and comfortable. Front counter staff and housekeeping staff were courteous and professional. Continental breakfat and WIFI were the negatives. Pretty poor choices for the breakfast. No pastries or danishes, no choices for yogurts,fruit or cereal. Egg muffin could be good, but eggs were pre formed, like they came from dried eggs. WIFI was the worst I've seen in my travels. Very slow, did not connect to sites or timed out. IF you need WIFI to conduct important business or tasks, this will be a major disapointment and will probably frustrate you.

Would look at other hotels first, but won't rule out staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegencyFairbanksGM, General Manager at Regency Fairbanks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

I want to apologize about the lack luster experience with our WiFi you had during your stay. We had a fairly large hardware failure that gave us very limited service for nearly a week. The remoteness of living in Alaska makes it difficult to replace those items very quickly. We are back up and running now. If you are traveling to Fairbanks again, please shoot us an email at info@regencyfairbanks.com. We would like to make up for a stumble in service. We understand WiFi and internet access is an important part of our guests' stays.

Dustin
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We got this room on short notice for one night via Priceline. The room was quite large and very clean. There is some glaring evidence that this is an aging property. The window sills have water damage, but the windows themselves are new.

This is a working person's hotel. Railroad workers and construction workers. Real people doing honest work far from home. The hotel is nothing special, but the rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable and the breakfast is free.

Tubby's, the on-site restaurant/bar, stopped serving the full menu at about 9:00P.M. on a Saturday night - with the hockey game on the big screen. There were eleven clients in the restaurant at that time including the two of us. Half of the chairs were already put up on the tables. Pretty dead for a Saturday night. On the up-side, they did have gator, catfish, and crawdads on the menu (both the dinner and appetizer).

Breakfast didn't start until 7:00A.M. which was only a problem because the hotel shuttle to the railroad depot was leaving at 7:15A.M. Knowing that hotel guests only have fifteen minutes for breakfast, with the current schedule, the hotel should consider opening the restaurant at 6:30A.M.

For about $10.00 or $15.00 more we could have stayed at a much newer, fancier hotel, but for one night, The Regency suited our purposes.

Room Tip: Avoid the basement (no windows). The Moose Lodge is the neighbor to the back of the hotel.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKcabingirlA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I stayed several nights in late March, primarily to view the Northern Lights. While much too close to town itself, the hotel is right on the Steese Highway and close to many excellent location to see the lights. It's also close to other activities like the Ice Sculpture Championships, dog sledding, Pioneer Park and other Fairbanks sights and activities. The restaurant was nice and convenient and a good place to eat before heading out in the evening. The room was clean and the bed comfortable and the lobby is staffed 24/7. All in all, a fine place to stay and I'd gladly recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeneBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I arrived to pick up my grandson from a wedding, spent about 30 minutes ferrying his belongings and him to the car. Each time I came and went I was made to make my way through a crowd of no fewer than 6 drunk smokers blocking the entrance. There were different groups each time so it wasn't just one little problem
Group. Several tourists arrived to check in also and I could see they too were intimidated and not happy. The clerk could see the groups - and at one point even asked them how the fight was (at the bar?). If I were arriving to check in, I would pass this place by in a flash.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank carol d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights. The desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was large and had everything we needed. We really enjoyed the outdoor deck that they have. We spent many nights enjoying the deck. The bartendar was great! She was friendly and we enjoyed talking with her. The breakfasts were good. I love the waffles!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottc06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
0.2 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
3.1 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#3 of 23 in Fairbanks
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,206 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
0.6 mi away
Bridgewater Hotel
Bridgewater Hotel
#11 of 23 in Fairbanks
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Fairbanks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Fairbanks Hotel

Address: 95 10th Ave, Fairbanks, AK 99701-5072
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range: £51 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Regency Fairbanks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small elegant property located in the downtown area of Fairbanks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Regency Fairbanks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Fairbanks Hotel Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing