We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely, pleasant hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Billie's Backpackers Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
“Homely, pleasant hostel”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I stayed at the hostel during the solstice. It was unusually hot and the dorm room did suffer as a result. The bunks were comfortable and the room clean. The bathrooms were clean. There is a small kitchen which was reasonably well stocked with equipment and a small dining and seating area. This is a small hostel with a homely feel - there are two small dogs, so be aware should you have allergies. The owner Billie was pleasant during our interactions. There is a local bus stop, which means getting about isn't hard.
This is not a luxurious, or super modern hostel, but it does grow on you and I had a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthWestLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    33
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
19
117
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Billie really has a great thing going here. Her peaceful demeanor mixed with the tranquility of both her home and the surrounding woods gives the feeling that your staying at a good friends house or even a family members I cant wait to come back and stay another night or two. -Gabriel

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Gabriel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I stayed at Billies for two weeks while working in Fairbanks. I felt right at home. Billie creates a very relaxed and accommodating atmosphere. Friendly staff, international community, free wifi, and a comfortable kitchen all contributed to a great stay. I will stay at Billie's any time I'm in Fairbanks!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Flynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

we only stayed there one night and it is a wonderful place, home from home, very clean and great wifi. friendly and helpful loved it would go back and stay there again.
we also had the 9 year old beauiful girl who ives near give a harp recital brilliant,

Room Tip: we had the room with the 2 bunk beds in lovely sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mandy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed with Billie & Art for 12 days on business in 84 degrees but everyone at the hostel was cool. Good international mix of folks moving thru the place as relocators or travellers. Could choose 4x bunk rooms, tent, glass house, or even a teepee. If there's a d downside, it's being moved around for other larger parties to stay together. Overall friendly, clean, & well maintained. And get to know the handyman & his dog Ringo . . .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrSmitcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainz, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I've stayed there twice, and I would come back any time. Billie is a lovely and caring host, and Art was really nice, too.
They let me use the bike, and all the other guests were very friendly folks.
Kitchen and bathrooms were clean.
Altogether, there was nothing to complain about.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Vince B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This place is clean and comfortable but the best part was the owners. They are warm, friendly and will get out of their way to help you with anything. While I was there they let me borrow their personal bikes to stroll around Fairbanks. In the morning they always had a cup of coffee for me. We actually became friends and we remaining VERY GOOD friends. They have a sauna in the backyard and you can use it when they make a fire. I would recommend this place to everyone.

Room Tip: The greenhouse is quite and roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#3 of 23 in Fairbanks
388 reviews
2.6 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,171 reviews
2.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billie's Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billie's Backpackers Hostel

Property: Billie's Backpackers Hostel
Address: 2895 Mack Blvd, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4006
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a SMALL family run hostel: LOWER LEVEL: main kitchen and bath, common room, Free House Phone, Wi-Fi & Internet, TV, Deck. UPPER LEVEL: Sleeping area, bathroom, quiet area, upper deck. All rooms may be co-ed, especially during the summer months. MAIN HOUSE (Billie's private residence): two private rooms with shared bath are available. Ask Billie for more information. GROUNDS: unheated gazebo that sleeps four and a Tee-Pee if you'd like to sleep outside but are not equipped to do so - both for summer use only. Ask Billie about these options. Also on the grounds are picnic tables, a large deck, barbecue , bikes(when available -first come first served), many sitting areas. LIMITED TENT SPACE FREE: long hot showers - anytime; coffee, TV etc... GARAGE STORAGE: large enough to store your packs, bikes and gear while you are away exploring for a few days or for a few weeks. YES... IT'S FREE STORAGE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Billie's Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Billie's Backpackers Hostel Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing