We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place in fairbanks~~”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Billie's Backpackers Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
College Park, Maryland
2 reviews
“great place in fairbanks~~”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

really really like home, clean and tidy...also a good place to meet interesting people! also the owner of the hostel is very nice and kindly. I really like her cute puppy Freaky(hope I spell in a right way)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fanyusaigon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    33
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
19
114
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Near to downtown, warm and cosy. Very nice place to stay at a very low price (30 usd per night). Kindda noisy bec the rooms allow a lot of people and the bathrooms are next to some of the beds. And because of the carpet it smells a little. Otherwise is a very good place to stay and Billy is such a nice person!

Room Tip: There is a room for 2 in the second level, I stayed there with one of my friends and it was good, be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuVillarreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groveland, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

"Come in and make yourself a t home" is the tread of this hostel, oh, and please take your shoes off at the door. Coffee and tea are available as needed. The kitchen is clean, the bathroom was clean; be the early bird to avoid a line for the shower, the overall atmosphere was quiet and consideration to and by the other guests who guests were a variety from literally all over the globe. Billie is not a stranger to anyone. My daughter and I stayed in the main part of the house, renting a room with twin beds. It was different at first, and then I fell right into being part of Billie's Hostel. Yes, I would stay there again and will when I go to visit the girl at UAF.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sqzy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Very friendly staff. Comfortable accommodations. You can see the Northern Lights (if any) right in front of the hostel. The only concern is that their reservation system may have some problems. They overbooked the beds so I have to stay in sofa for half a night, so get a confirmation before you arrive. Anyway they did not charge me for that night, and at least it's warm enough in the room:)

Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Yunlang L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We didn't take very long to find the place. Everyone knows where's Billie's! It was a quick ride on the Yellow Line from the airport, then getting off to go onto the Red line at the UAF station. Technically it was $60 for both my husband and I ($30 each pax) and we can stay at a hotel instead, the people we have met there have made our choice worthwhile.

Billie's great with the coffee! There were 2 ladies who baked for us everyday! Awesome snacks I must say. Her house was cluttered, but it's so quaint, pretty, cozy and homely all together. Billie understood my husband's accent better so they had more exchanges together, which Billie shared anecdotes of living there. The piano in her house has been around since 1810! Despite the Bed &Breakfast sign outside her house, there is no breakfast made. The breakfast was for the workers whom she initially cater to in the early years of the hostel.

Every morning, the kitchen is very clean. Never leave your things lying around beyond the night if not it goes somewhere and you have to hunt for it again. The fridge is very cluttered and crowded so if you are thinking of grocery-shopping to cook there, consider again lol.

The rooms are spacious than I thought, and the beds were comfy. I slept well throughout the week. Don't leave your personal towels lying around because Billie will pick them up and send for washing, and you will have to trouble the kind old lady to dig through the thick piles of towels to find it for you. I'm not sure if the comforters are ever washed though..ask if you want to have a peace of mind.

If you don't like dogs, you probably wont like it here. Her pugs are Instagram-worthy: wearethetwopugs, probably a name like this would justify how adorable this pair of pups are. Whenever they smell someone baking, both will stroll into the room and sniff around. Too cute!

Was so inspired by the people I've met during my week there. Their presence really set the tone of the week- we were bouncing off ideas each other for lights hunting spots and places to go, our past experiences, random exchanges of trivia and talking about issues of life. Even the Japanese people we've met had so much to share, despite slight difficulty in conveying the depth of their answers.There was so much energy in the place that my husband felt a strong tinge of sadness when we were the last to leave (coincidentally all of us were slated to leave on 30th). The sense of community is indeed unforgettable!

Talk to the people you meet; everyone has something to share!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank volatilecandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, Massachusetts, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I stayed for 5 nights in July, in the 4 bed dorm room. The room was clean, roommates respectful, bathrooms and Kitchen were kept very clean. The hostel is charming and the pugs very adorable. Billie was very warm and welcoming. The overall experience was amazing...just what I wanted :) Will definitely stay again when I do go back to see the aurora.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Manasi_patil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I am normally a B&B, home rental type of traveler. But my travel companion is an experienced hostel user so I thought I'd take the plunge. The evening we arrived I was overwhelmed. As others mentioned I had never seen so many people! But it was quiet and clean and neat. As older travelers we had booked one of the private rooms on Billie's side of the house. It had a shared bath but only for the bedrooms on that side. And a definite evening quiet policy! Beds were very comfortable.
As others have mentioned, Billie is an extraordinary host, Through talking to her, her sister, and friends you come to realize that what folks do through those long winters is read and paint. Such articulate creative women! And absolutely no time for pretense. Such a delight to make these new friends.
Billie goes out of her way to accommodate her guests. The coffee pot is always full. Wifi is excellent. Other guests are interesting and considerate. Everyone responds to the atmosphere that she sets. Am looking forward to returning and am encouraged to push out of my comfort zone into other hostel experiences. My introduction at Billie's will be hard to beat.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Deborah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
2.6 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,135 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
2.1 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#4 of 23 in Fairbanks
370 reviews
2.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billie's Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billie's Backpackers Hostel

Property: Billie's Backpackers Hostel
Address: 2895 Mack Blvd, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4006
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a SMALL family run hostel: LOWER LEVEL: main kitchen and bath, common room, Free House Phone, Wi-Fi & Internet, TV, Deck. UPPER LEVEL: Sleeping area, bathroom, quiet area, upper deck. All rooms may be co-ed, especially during the summer months. MAIN HOUSE (Billie's private residence): two private rooms with shared bath are available. Ask Billie for more information. GROUNDS: unheated gazebo that sleeps four and a Tee-Pee if you'd like to sleep outside but are not equipped to do so - both for summer use only. Ask Billie about these options. Also on the grounds are picnic tables, a large deck, barbecue , bikes(when available -first come first served), many sitting areas. LIMITED TENT SPACE FREE: long hot showers - anytime; coffee, TV etc... GARAGE STORAGE: large enough to store your packs, bikes and gear while you are away exploring for a few days or for a few weeks. YES... IT'S FREE STORAGE! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Billie's Backpackers Hostel Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing