We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Billie's Backpackers Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

One of the best hostels I have stayed in years!! Billie is a great host and the hostel is very comfortable and clean. Great home feel through out and great tasting coffee as well. Will be coming back when i return to Alaska for sure. Thanks Bille and Art for the great experience. Michael

Room Tip: All are A+++++
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dougal_fox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 130 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

I picked this hostel at random after bicycling the Dalton Highway from Prudhoe Bay down to Fairbanks. What a find! Super friendly folks here, prices are great, and Billy, the owner, will keep a weary traveler supplied with and endless amount of coffee.... and the occasional piece of pie, cake, donuts. WiFi is good, shower is hot, and the common rooms are a great place to hang out and trade stories with the others.Shoes off in the house, though. I stayed in the teepee in the yard for a good part of the week. Stay for a day or a month. Highly recommended. I'm having a hard time kicking myself out and getting on the road again...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cyclop99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Billie's was a really nice hostel. I have stayed in hostels all over South America and some in Europe. Billie's was exactly what I would want. First off, Billie is such a sweet caretaker. She just instilled a cozy, homey feel to the experience. Feeling comfortable to walk around and fraternize (or not) is why I sometimes prefer hostels when traveling. Everyone felt the same way while I was there. I forget her name, but one of the people who helped out there asked if anyone likes peach cobbler. I LIKE PEACH COBBLER. She came upstairs when it was finished and it was delicious. Finally I would like to say what a great value it was. Going up north most things are very expensive, but Billie's was affordable. For a 26 y/o male this is my gold standard for hostels.

Thank you Billie!

Room Tip: Depends what you are looking for. I did not see many other rooms. Billie is very open and accommod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pjmagrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed for 3 nights. Beyond awesome! Felt as if I was at home the whole stay. Billie is very friendly and warming. Everything is very clean and stayed that way throughout my stay here. This was my first hostel experience, so I was a little on edge at first. As soon as I walked in I was welcomed and it was very nice. I would highly recommend Billie's Hostel to anyone looking for a place to stay in Fairbanks. In walking distance to a cool coffee shop. Not far from other eateries.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed at Billie's for two nights. We are a family of 4 adults and booked a small room with 4 bunk beds. It is homey and sufficient. When we arrived, owner did not appear to be ready for us. She removed someone from the bunk-bed room and quickly vacuumed. We made our beds. Value-wise, it was $30/per person... not much, but when it is a family of 4, it equals $120/night which is the same as hotels in the area.

The bathroom is down the hall or a larger, nicer one downstairs. There is a kitchen area where you can provide/prepare your own food.

Billie's is an easy walk to a spot where you can see the northern lights. Also walking distance to some eateries. Pad Thai was excellent on the main street.

We did not see or interact much with the owner and Mr. Cook did not appear to be very personable. Part of staying in a hostel is getting to know the owners.

Room Tip: For a hostel, it is probably a nice place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dayzpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Above and beyond; I'll be back for sure! I was ill and Billie went out of her way to make sure I was taken care of. I felt like I was at home the entire time I was there. I've been to many a hostel in the past, and I've never received the personal attention I received here. Highly recommended for the traveler on a budget or someone looking for somewhere homey to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Will K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I recently stayed at Billie's Backpackers Hostel with a friend trying to see the Northern Lights. Billie was very helpful in guiding us to great places within the city that would allow us to best see the lights. The other guests were very pleasant and fun to talk to. When I returned home to Oregon I realized I had lost something during my trip, I called Billie to check if I had lost it at her hostel and she got in in the mail to me the same day! If you are traveling to Fairbanks on a budget I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,225 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#3 of 23 in Fairbanks
399 reviews
2.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billie's Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billie's Backpackers Hostel

Address: 2895 Mack Blvd, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4006
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Fairbanks
Price Range: £26 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a SMALL family run hostel: LOWER LEVEL: main kitchen and bath, common room, Free House Phone, Wi-Fi & Internet, TV, Deck. UPPER LEVEL: Sleeping area, bathroom, quiet area, upper deck. All rooms may be co-ed, especially during the summer months. MAIN HOUSE (Billie's private residence): two private rooms with shared bath are available. Ask Billie for more information. GROUNDS: unheated gazebo that sleeps four and a Tee-Pee if you'd like to sleep outside but are not equipped to do so - both for summer use only. Ask Billie about these options. Also on the grounds are picnic tables, a large deck, barbecue , bikes(when available -first come first served), many sitting areas. LIMITED TENT SPACE FREE: long hot showers - anytime; coffee, TV etc... GARAGE STORAGE: large enough to store your packs, bikes and gear while you are away exploring for a few days or for a few weeks. YES... IT'S FREE STORAGE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo so you can book your Billie's Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Billie's Backpackers Hostel Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing