We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good option near Universityof AK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Billie's Backpackers Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good option near Universityof AK”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Cozy little house, and the host Billie is a warm old lady. if you would like to visit the University of Alaska Fairbanks frequent, this is a good choice. In fact quite a number of students resident here.

Room Tip: you can also choose live in tee-pee with bed here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    33
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
19
114
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

I had a great time at this place. I stayed at the gazer and it was a little cold for me. Maybe I should ask the administrator for other blanket.
Internet works good. Really kind administration.
You can feel at home there.
Bathroom really clean.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank meinherzbrennt69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallis Island
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I arrived at 23h00 wednesday 13th of august 2014 without any reservation, but billies answered to my request and i had a bed in dorm although it was very late.
The atmosphere was very friendly and billies fantastic lady.
Thank you once again,

Michel, from Wallis and Futuna.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michel k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Billie or her son Art go above and beyond to make sure everything you need is there for ya. Loved my time there and would highly recommend it to anyone lookin for a spot to stay in Fairbanks. All the facilities you need are provided.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Sean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

I spent there one night with my dad. Billie was very nice and friendly. The house is cute and the rooms and showers good and clean. Would definite go there again. It is not very downtown, but usually people have a car there and this is really the only disadvantage.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I was fortunate enough to spend an extended amount of time at Billie's. It reminded me of staying with my favorite aunt. Billie herself is charming (and don't forget the appeal of Franky, Kubie and Ringo....the dogs). A real family feel. If I wanted solitude it was easy to find as well as a multitude of interesting people from all over the world to talk with. Occasionally there would be some delicious food Billie whipped up to share with all of us. Great deal of ambiance and character about the hostel itself, with interesting and artistic items and memorabilia to enjoy. Not for the "party animal" set. I easily got everywhere I wanted to go by bus or on foot, occasionally a taxi I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Fairbanks. And in the winter walk out the front door and there are the Northern Lights! I miss being at Billie's.

Room Tip: Billie offers a variety and is happy to show you the options available at the time. I liked the are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shrrae s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We(my friend and myself) stayed 2 nights at Billie's.Billie's son helped us in negotiating a deal for a cab to take us to Gold Dredge.We were the lucky recipients of their generosity when the company which we had planned to book our trip to Denali cancelled their early morning departure. Her son prevailed upon his sister to drive us to Denali theerby getting us out of a tight situation, Imagine our surprise that the trip came along with loads of goodies including I'm told the most awesome sandwiches prepared by Billie(am a veggie so didn't have it). Not only that Art (I believe is her son's name) drove us to Walmart so that we could shop:) Loved the atmosphere at Billies, the bunch of youngsters that were around and---her handsome and cute pugs!

Room Tip: I would choose the rooms upstairs in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niru64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
2.6 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,135 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
2.1 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#4 of 23 in Fairbanks
370 reviews
2.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billie's Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billie's Backpackers Hostel

Property: Billie's Backpackers Hostel
Address: 2895 Mack Blvd, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4006
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a SMALL family run hostel: LOWER LEVEL: main kitchen and bath, common room, Free House Phone, Wi-Fi & Internet, TV, Deck. UPPER LEVEL: Sleeping area, bathroom, quiet area, upper deck. All rooms may be co-ed, especially during the summer months. MAIN HOUSE (Billie's private residence): two private rooms with shared bath are available. Ask Billie for more information. GROUNDS: unheated gazebo that sleeps four and a Tee-Pee if you'd like to sleep outside but are not equipped to do so - both for summer use only. Ask Billie about these options. Also on the grounds are picnic tables, a large deck, barbecue , bikes(when available -first come first served), many sitting areas. LIMITED TENT SPACE FREE: long hot showers - anytime; coffee, TV etc... GARAGE STORAGE: large enough to store your packs, bikes and gear while you are away exploring for a few days or for a few weeks. YES... IT'S FREE STORAGE! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Billie's Backpackers Hostel Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing