We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Want a place out of the city? This is the one!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
113 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Fairbanks, Alaska

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 113 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Terminati...
Fort Yukon, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Want a place out of the city? This is the one!”
Reviewed 5 April 2011 for a stay in February 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Two of us stayed in the Sourdough cabin in February - what a treat! It is close enough to Fairbanks, North Pole and Chena to enjoy all, and far enough away so that you can forget those other places even exist!
We watched a couple of moose on the frozen river while eating dinner. The aurora was out one night - and we enjoyed it from the comfort of easy chairs upstairs. We spent a day at PAWS for Adventure (dog mushing school) just minutes away... and warmed up in the sauna.
The cabins are lovingly crafted. Our hosts were personable and helpful!
In short - this is the place to stay!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandraper...
Waging am See, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best stay ever...fantastic!”
Reviewed 1 April 2011 for a stay in March 2011
2
people found this review helpful

The Cabin is a wonderful place to stay, just located 20 min away from Fairbanks. Chena hot Springs is a 1 hour drive. North Pole is just 10 min away. The land in front of the Cabin and down to the river is cleared and the Cabins are away from any lights which may hinder the sky view, so it is a perfect place to see the aurora borealis, an experience we will never forget. Everything was absolutely perfect. The hand crafted Log Cabin is very clean and lovingly furnished and has a full stocked kitchen. Everything you need you can find there. The Owners Debi and Bruce gave us the feeling from a home away from home! They are the best hosts at all. Kind and helpful at any time but gave us lot of privacy as well. We are 4 girls from Germany and stayed in the Chinook Cabin from March 18, 2011 through March 27, 2011 and truly we did not want to leave!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bieme
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We started planning our return trip after our first day.”
Reviewed 1 April 2011 for a stay in March 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed 5 nights in the Sourdough cabin - very cozy and so peaceful. Like other reviewers, can't say enough good things about hosts Debi and Bruce who are very welcoming and helpful in every way (eg: tips on where to rent ski equipment, update on Denali's road opening early). They have the perfect touch of making you feel like family and yet respecting your privacy if/when you want some down-time. Their website photos accurately depict the rooms - although the Sourdough is small, we found it very comfortable with room for us, parkas, boots and assorted winter gear, lots of camera equipment, laptop, etc. Having reliable wi-fi was a nice bonus. Their friendly old dog Sadie is a sweetheart but if you're not a dog person, no fear, she keeps her distance unless you call her over. It was great being able to x-country ski and/or go for a stroll right out the back door on the Chena River and feel like you have this beautiful snowy forest playground with just you and the birds - and the occasional dog sled. The kitchen had everything we needed for making coffee/tea, ham, eggs and toast in the morning, heating up lasagna or soup at night, etc. - it was better appointed than some of the efficiency suites at the chain hotels we've been to. And if you don't feel like cooking, the nearby brewpub has decent food and good beer (with an impressive bottle list). If you're looking for a quiet place to relax and enjoy the outdoors but be close enough to get to town, this is the place.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melinda24...
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best winter dog sledding aurora viewing vacation ever!”
Reviewed 14 March 2011 for a stay in March 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Two weeks ago, my husband and I had the pleasure to stay several nights in the Sourdough Cabin at Riverbend, one of three cabins owned by Debi and Bruce Hanson. We cannot say enough wonderful things about our stay there. The cabin was a charming and cozy one bedroom with a small kitchen and sitting/eating area. The cabin is heated with radiant heat, so it was always the perfect temperature (and no cold feet!). Upstairs in the bedroom, there is a flat screen TV (with DirectTV), DVD player with a collection of DVDs to watch, a small seating area and a large balcony to watch for the aurora in the warmth of your cabin. The bed was very comfortable, equipped with lovely high count sheets and a pillowtop mattress. The cabin was spotlessly clean with many thoughtful touches throughout and was equipped with WiFi. Debi and Bruce went out of their way to make our stay an enjoyable one and Debi even brought over several delicious baked treats for us. I would also highly recommend that you book a snow machine tour with Bruce; that was really an unforgettable afternoon. Likewise for Paws for Adventure; we went to their Dog Sled School, but they also offer rides if you are feeling less adventurous. Leslie, our teacher, was just fantastic; warm, kind and a wealth of knowledge. We look forward to returning to Riverbend again soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisandd...
Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect spot to get away...but still be close to everything in Fairbanks”
Reviewed 12 March 2011 for a stay in February 2011

Debi and Bruce were wonderful hosts for our three day stay (we wish we could have stayed longer!). The Sourdough cabin had all the necessities and was very clean. There was free wi-fi, too. It was so peaceful and relaxing. We would love to go back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSMBLM
North Pole, Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Place to Stay in Fairbanks Alaska”
Reviewed 22 February 2011 for a stay in January 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Absolutely wonderful Alaskan experience! Secluded, yet close to shopping. Clean, cozy home , and large enough for a very large family. Fully furnished 3 bedroom 2 bath home and everything you need for an extended stay, even a sauna.
Staff is great—friendly, courteous, graciously met every need we had. After being in the area for 6 months and seeing what is available, there simply is nowhere better to stay. We give it five 5 starts; this place has everything you need to experience Alaska to the fullest!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Business
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tahlianag...
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Winter Wonderland - Wonderful Hosts”
Reviewed 13 January 2011 for a stay in December 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Riverbend for 2weeks during the dead of winter. We stayed in the Sourdough cabin, and it is lovely. Our hosts Debi and Bruce were so wonderful, and always made sure we we comfortable and warm. On more than one occasion they had to help us out, and really went the extra mile. The sauna is a must to try. If we travel to Alaska again in the summer, we will deffinatley stay with Debi and Bruce in their beautiful cabins again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;