We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good hotel with the worst service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
100 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A good hotel with the worst service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

We stayed in the Hampton Inn for a few nights while traveling around Fairbanks. While the hotel is located near the edge of downtown Fairbanks, it's quite close to many restaurants and shops, and freeway can be very easily accessed. The interior is pretty much you'll expect from a Hampton. One thing I never thought I'll expect is the quality of the service we received. The staff repeatedly acknowledged our requests (roll-away bed, extra towel, replacing broken hairdryer) and never once actually fulfilled them. We brought up these issue at checkout, and was promptly informed by the general manager that we should take our issues to Expedia, since we booked the hotel through Expedia.
I would definitely still stay in Hilton properties in the future, but I would avoid the Hampton Inn at Fairbanks like plague.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casthompson, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for your review of the Hampton Inn & Suites - Fairbanks, AK. I appreciate the time you took to let us know how you felt about your stay. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us. According to the review you wrote you stayed with us in February of 2013. While that is a long time ago, and I can't remember a specific incident from that long ago, I would like to think that if you talked to me, I would have taken care of your service issues. There are some things we can't control with Expedia reservations, such as changing and cancelling the reservations, or refunding money for a pre-paid reservation, but once you arrive at the hotel, you should receive the highest level of service. You would not be told to contact Expeida about a service issue. That is something we take care of at the property. I am sorry about any misunderstanding and any inconvenience this caused. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    186
    35
    13
    10
See reviews for
173
177
43
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delta Junction, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

This is a clean and comfortable hotel. The breakfast bar surprised me with fresh cut fruit salad and omlets. I've already recommended this facility to others. Very friendly staff. I normally stay at Choice Hotels (Comfort Suite or Comfort Inn) when traveling on business, but this stay converted me from the standard experience. Good Choice!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Lyle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anchorage, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

The service cannot be beat but the detergents are cheap so if you have sensitive skin then bring your own towels. And sheets. The staff goes above and beyond, is super friendly and goes out of their way even just to say hello.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jacindra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casthompson, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our property. While I love the fact that you were treated well by our staff and your experience with them was great, I am very concerned about the fact that you had issues with the comfort of the bedding and the detergents used to clean the bedding. This is the first comment of this kind that we have received and I am doing everything I can to make sure that our systems are operating correctly.
Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Fairbanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
208 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Stayed here during our trip around America. Our room and bathroom was lovely and clean, the internet always worked! The staff were always really helpful and friendly. Breakfast was your usual Hampton fayre served in a clean environment. Hot coffee and chocolate available throughout the day. The hotel is located next to a McDonalds and across the street from a shopping mall that includes walmart and an outdoor store. Ask for a room at the front of the hotel so you don't overlook the highway. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachyWaves30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, AK, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Excellent hotel located in the greater Fairbanks, AK area. Hotel is very conviently located near the Fairbanks International Airport with easy access to shopping and restraunts. The establishment is very clean with very comfortable rooms and the hotel staff was genuinely courteous and professional in appearance and attitude. A hotel well worth the value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Carl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth City, NC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

My father was on business attending a workshop at University of Alaska at Fairbanks and the Hampton Inn was our home-away-from-home for a solid week in late July and early August 2013.

The hotel itself looks to be brand-new, probably two or three years old at best. The best part of our stay apart from the spotless lobby and our (very) well-appointed room, were the gracious staff. No matter if it was one of the receptionists, the breakfast lady, or our housekeeper, all were extremely polite, greeting us at every turn and not hesitating to provide extra towels and pillows for the three of us. They even gave out complementary gifts - mugs with the phrase 'Farthest North Hampton Inn in the World'. The breakfast selection was standard, but the quality was fantastic, even for a Hampton Inn. All of these must be part of that famous 'Alaskan Hospitality'!

The location of the hotel is great, with a wooded area behind it, but is adjacent to the Johannsen Expressway, to which our room faced. We might have liked to appreciate the other view instead, but it was okay by us. There is a large shopping district across the highway with Walmart, Fred Meyer, Safeway, Lowe's and Home Depot nearby, but few restaurants, as the area seems only recently developed. Most restaurants are either downtown or on the old commercial drag through the heart of town, Airport Way. I highly recommend anybody visiting Fairbanks to dine at the nicer restaurants such as the Pump House and Pike's Landing, on opposite sides of the Chena River near the airport. Also, be sure to see the Riverboat Discovery, the Gold Dredge north of town and the Chena Hot Springs resort, about an hour north and east of the city.

If we ever make it back to Fairbanks (which I'm sure we'll do in the next year or two), the Hampton Inn will be our residence of choice!

-Andrew

Room Tip: Might want to choose a room on the scenic side of the building (away from Johannsen). On the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ec_globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Janice - the Breakfast Hotel Staff was AWESOME and went OVER AND BEYOND THE CALL OF DUTY making sure our stay was welcome! The Indoor Pool and Jacuzzi was great after a long and hard cardio workout in the gym provided by the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank OneNighter2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
4.7 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge
1.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pioneer Park Inn
3.8 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#4 of 23 in Fairbanks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
1.4 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
Address: 433 Harold Bentley Avenue, Fairbanks, AK 99701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fairbanks
#1 Family Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Fairbanks
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks Hotel Fairbanks
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing