We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2013

The hotel has been recently updated and was very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay and found that it had everything we needed, with plenty of space in the room. It was conveniently located by the airport but was a drive from town- not a whole lot within walking distance.
I booked originally on Travelocity and then was charged again when I checked out, so I had to call to have one charge reversed, but they were happy to take care of that without too much hassle.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephanieskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (785)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

591 - 597 of 785 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2013

Room was nicely decorated, I actually liked the smell and products of toiletries, and breakfast was nice.
However my room was next to the fitness center and very close to the lobby, which made it loud at night. I was woken up multiple times at night....drunk people who loudly were asking at front desk where the elevator was, other people talking in lobby, etc. I fall asleep easily, so not an issue. But I really hope they discount rooms near lobby due to this.

The hanging light fixtures in eating area are well below head height, so people were hitting them as tried to manoeuvre in somewhat tight area.

Front desk staff were really helpful.

Room Tip: Room 108 is adjacent to fitness room and close to lobby. 109 is next to office center, but equally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cdnclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Very affordable lodging in Fairbanks. Few minutes from the airport. Spacious rooms. Hotel offers free airport pick up and drop off. Hot breakfast everyday (but go early before all the food runs out). The front desk did overcharge our stay by accident, but as soon as I noticed they fixed it immediately. They also store your luggage. It was a great base for us to explore Fairbanks and watch the northern lights every night.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank corgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Good breakfast, nice beds, helpful staff. Only problem was regulating the heat in the room. First night we about cooked, and second night were too cold. The thermostat was incomprehensible, even after calling the staff and asking for help. Finally got the temp right on the third day. Everything else was great. This was one of the few hotels that I researched that had plug-ins for your car in the winter. Although, if you get there too late in the evening, they might all be taken!

Room Tip: I had read reviews to ask for a room on the river side (away from the road) and away from the laundr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Good location, helpful staff, clean, good breakfast, and free WiFi. We were on a trip to see the Northern Lights and this hotel met our needs. Exactly what we needed and at a reasonable price. Next time in Fairbanks, we will stay at this property.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

This was the perfect place for our winter trip to see Fairbanks and adventure out to see the Northern Lights! The facility was great as usual! Thanks Marissa, Tiler and Shalanda! You all rock! Breakfasts were a treat...great variety and lots of good food! Room rate was outstanding!!! Thanks!!!

Room Tip: Book early if you want to see the Dog-Sled Races and/or the Northern Lights! You won't be disap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

After a bad start to staying there a week, it was comfortable. The first night I arrived about midnight, the door to the room I was assigned wouldn't open, so I was given another room. It was very cold with the fan blowing hard. I tried to call the front desk, but the phone wasn't working. After going down to the front desk, the clerk came up and fixed the heater. She couldn't get the phone to work either, so replaced it with another phone. Since the airline failed to transfer my suitcase in Seattle, it was delivered to the hotel later. I asked the clerk to call me when it came. She didn't. I didn't find out about it until about 5 a.m. Also, housekeeping never picked up a pamphlet that fell on the floor under the table, I know, minor details. Big walk-in shower, no tub. I was in a quiet room on the third floor. Not so quiet on the second floor in rooms where my friends stayed. The free breakfast was juices, cereals and delicious DIY waffles. Sometimes they vary the waffles and have regular ones or chocolate, chocolate chip or blueberry. Nice way to start the day. Also, there was a lot of confusion over payment of the room. I would advise taking any documentation of reservations and any payment. Others in our group had issues with the room reservations, too. This place is conveniently located kitty-corner to Fred Meyer's store for food and clothing.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
0.6 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#4 of 23 in Fairbanks
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,235 reviews
3.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge

Address: 1255 Tvsa Way, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4678
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fairbanks
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fairbanks
#2 Family Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range: £57 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Alaska hotel offers friendly service and modern accommodations all within minutes of the airport and bustling downtown Fairbanks. Feel right at home at this recently opened Fairbanks, Alaska hotel with modern furnishings and generous amenities. The sizeable, tidy and smoke-free rooms at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge offer high-speed Internet access, a refrigerator, a desk, cable satellite television and a coffeemaker. Each morning, hotel guests can get a start to their day with a complimentary full continental breakfast.This Fairbanks hotel's business center allows business travelers to stay productive. This Alaska lodge also offers meeting spaces accommodating up to 15 people. Unwind after a long day of sightseeing or out-of-town work in the fitness center at this Fairbanks hotel.Vacationers can enjoy convenient freeway access, allowing for quick and easy visits to nearby local attractions - such as the Museum of the North, Alaska at 40 below, the El Dorado Gold Mine and the Ice Museum - most of which are only five minutes away. Families vacationing at this Fairbanks, AK hotel will be delighted to spend the day taking a cruise on the Riverboat Discovery or playing at Pioneer Park, Alaska's largest amusement park. This Fairbanks, AK hotel is the closest hotel to the University of Alaska, Fairbanks, making this the perfect location for visiting parents, students and staff to stay. Guests can rest assured, as a hospital is only five minutes away. The Fairbanks International Airport is also only a couple miles away from this Alaska hotel.For an affordable stay at an exceptional hotel in Fairbanks, Alaska, reserve a stay online at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Chena River Hotel Fairbanks
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing