We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Our stay, as usual, was great. The hotel clean, quite, and breakfast was great! This was our third year staying at this hotel for UAF Parents weekend, and we will be back for our third Governors cup at the end of the season. Can't say enough about the staff and the great beds!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lperry64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (780)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

485 - 491 of 780 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

Well maintained and effectively managed hotel in close proximty to airport and local amenities .

Rooms were clean , equipment worked well and staff were eager to help in anyway possible .

Hot breakfast was a definate plus . Could do with a small restaurant or diner for hotel guest especially in the high winter temp . Alternately should set up a food service with local restaurants to deliver .

Would definitely come back provided the room rates stay reasonable .

Room Tip: look for rooms on the lower floors .
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajit T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Worst experience I have ever had at a hotel .....HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE DAY SHIFT AS WELL AS NIGHT SHIFT. WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE!! Hotel had lost power...had to drag luggage up 3 flts of stairs. Could not take shower due to pitch black room. When asked if there could be a discount...was told "God is not giving us a discount!". Had booked through Alaskan Airlines website...so I guess it went through Orbitz...tried to call them four times...got hung up on three times and the other time was on hold for so long battery was going dead on phone. Just terrible experience all the way around!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChenaRivergm, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

I agree that was a terrible night for a large part of Fairbanks. The storm was not very nice to the power in Fairbanks that night or week for that matter for businesses and resident's that had to wait a week for power. I have been in Fairbanks for about 12 years and have never seen the weather here ever get to that level. I couldn't believe even the airport had lost power that night. I wish that you could have experienced our hotel at a different time.

Shalanda Rosemond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This was our second time staying at Best Western Chena Lodge and our stay was exceptional. The hotel is very well maintained and clean. Breakfast is good too. Despite power outage staff was helpful and handled the issue professionally. I'd defenietly come back in the future

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank DOTEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChenaRivergm, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

I am so happy to here that you choose our hotel not once but twice during you stay in Fairbanks. Its always fun to get familiar with anyone that stays at our hotel.

Shalanda Rosemond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Clean, comfortable, affordable ~ another great stay at the Best Western Plus Chena! The staff is always friendly and helpful! It's nice to be remembered, even if it's been a couple of months since my last visit... I'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Rooms on the bottom floor have tubs, the second & third are showers only.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 693tinam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChenaRivergm, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Our housekeeping staff takes great care and pride in our hotel. They clean with lots of details that many hotels don't have such as black-lighting, frequent deep cleaning and carpeting cleaning.

Shalanda Rosemond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed at the Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge in Fairbanks for 2 nights. We got a great rate with a 2-night stay promotion. This is a nice Plus Best Western. It looks fairly new. It has all the amenities - satellite TV, AC, refrigerator, free breakfast. All the hotel employees were friendly and helpful with any questions about the Fairbanks area. We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KRB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChenaRivergm, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

We strive to make everyone stay enjoyable. All of our amenities are designed to make your stay as convenient as being at home, and I agree promotions are always nice.

Shalanda Rosemond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Staying with relatives in Fairbanks to see the Aurora (didn't), and the world renowned ice carving competition in March, 2013. This property seemed very popular with everyone we talked to. The hot springs were worth the drive alone. Late lunch was scrumptious--took extra chowder home for dinner as we filled up! Enjoyed the ice sculptures and just walking around the area. On the way here we stopped so I could take a sled-dog ride--what a hoot. Fairbanks is fun, even at 16'F. Below.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChenaRivergm, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Mya,

Great! Title I kind of chuckled before I read your review. Sound like you had a amazing time while visiting us.

Shalanda Rosemond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
0.9 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#3 of 23 in Fairbanks
394 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks
3.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge

Address: 1255 Tvsa Way, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4678
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fairbanks
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range: £73 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Alaska hotel offers friendly service and modern accommodations all within minutes of the airport and bustling downtown Fairbanks. Feel right at home at this recently opened Fairbanks, Alaska hotel with modern furnishings and generous amenities. The sizeable, tidy and smoke-free rooms at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge offer high-speed Internet access, a refrigerator, a desk, cable satellite television and a coffeemaker. Each morning, hotel guests can get a start to their day with a complimentary full continental breakfast.This Fairbanks hotel's business center allows business travelers to stay productive. This Alaska lodge also offers meeting spaces accommodating up to 15 people. Unwind after a long day of sightseeing or out-of-town work in the fitness center at this Fairbanks hotel.Vacationers can enjoy convenient freeway access, allowing for quick and easy visits to nearby local attractions - such as the Museum of the North, Alaska at 40 below, the El Dorado Gold Mine and the Ice Museum - most of which are only five minutes away. Families vacationing at this Fairbanks, AK hotel will be delighted to spend the day taking a cruise on the Riverboat Discovery or playing at Pioneer Park, Alaska's largest amusement park. This Fairbanks, AK hotel is the closest hotel to the University of Alaska, Fairbanks, making this the perfect location for visiting parents, students and staff to stay. Guests can rest assured, as a hospital is only five minutes away. The Fairbanks International Airport is also only a couple miles away from this Alaska hotel.For an affordable stay at an exceptional hotel in Fairbanks, Alaska, reserve a stay online at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Chena River Hotel Fairbanks
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing