We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room / breakfast out beverages”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
tchrs
Level Contributor
338 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Good room / breakfast out beverages”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Room was OK. Bed had a lumpy topper but was spotless. Rooms on top floor and at rear are quieter than the others. Breakfast disappointing as they were out of many items and seating is simply not adequate for even 1/2 the number of guests.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank tchrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    259
    69
    29
    12
See reviews for
194
271
68
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

The rooms were much nicer than expected. Everything was new and nicely decorated. We couldn't beat the price. Breakfast was good each morning and included which was a bonus.

It is a bit far from downtown but there is a local bus across the street from the local grocery store or you can grab a cab pretty easily.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay there again. It would have been great if there was a full service restaurant on site. We didn't want a rental car because of the winter road conditions so we had to get creative with our options.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Akd2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The Good:
Great price for a newer hotel. Rooms clean and new. Environmentally friendly shampoo, conditioner and soap options in shower.

The front desk staff was very nice.

The Bad:
A lot of late arrivers at breakfast on weekdays due to Northern Lights watching. Arrived at 8:30 am for breakfast which ends at 9:00 am. The food was not replenished. Almost like it was put out at 6:00 am and thats all the entire hotel guests get. Many items such as fruit and MILK were completely out.
Overheard a few operational issues with other guests.

Room Tip: Grab a "forest facing room". One side of hotel faces "Airport Way".... not sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My fiance and I stayed here just for one night in Fairbanks on our way to Chena Hot Springs. This place was the best balance of convenient location (like 5-10 minutes from the airport), modern accommodations, free breakfast, and great staff. The hot breakfast included pastries and toast, yogurt, fruit, and waffles and omelettes machines. While it was really close to the airport, I never heard any planes and our stay was quite peaceful and quiet. The front desk staff is incredibly helpful and the woman assisting us took our room number down to call us if the Northern Lights were out. We took the opportunity to drive out to a remote location ourselves with our rental car to see the lights, but for those who don't have one, she mentioned that you can sometimes see the Northern Lights from the back of their property. Great value!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bestshoeshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My stay at BWCR was all good!! The staff were very friendly and very helpful. The breakfast was excellent and the breakfast staff went out of their way to make it as full service as possible. The rooms were spacious and clean and had everything we could need. The lodge paid for cab service in the place of a shuttle, which I thought went above and beyond at times. I thought it was an excellent value. I will go back there when I return to Fairbanks. (If you didn't rent a car and wanted to get around Fairbanks, the city bus system went either in front of the motel or across the street depending on which line you took. This was very simple and convenient. Buses left frequently and went all over the area. An all day pass was only $3.00)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Enjoyed my stay at the Best Western Plus in Fairbanks, Alaska. The Plus means we received added value - very interesting full, hot breakfast, courtesy airport shuttle, free internet, well-equipped gym. All in all, a very nice, clean hotel with courteous and helpful staff.
The purpose of my visit to Fairbanks was solely to see the Aurora Borealis (Northern Lights) and I was very fortunate to see them in full display 4 out of 5 nights. I booked my tours with 1st Alaska School and they picked up and dropped off right at the Best Western. I have posted my comments under "Aurora Borealis" (attractions), recommending the tours I took.

Room Tip: If you would like to take a chance on seeing the Aurora, choose a room facing the back. The view wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kalgal2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We chose this motel because it was near the airport and convenient to where our son lives. Since he was getting married, his house was going to be full. We enjoyed staying at the Chena River Lodge because it is also convenient to stores and other places we needed to go. It was very comfortable, and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Elleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
0.9 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
#13 of 23 in Fairbanks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#4 of 23 in Fairbanks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
3.3 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge

Property: Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
Address: 1255 Tvsa Way, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4678
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fairbanks
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Alaska hotel offers friendly service and modern accommodations all within minutes of the airport and bustling downtown Fairbanks. Feel right at home at this recently opened Fairbanks, Alaska hotel with modern furnishings and generous amenities. The sizeable, tidy and smoke-free rooms at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge offer high-speed Internet access, a refrigerator, a desk, cable satellite television and a coffeemaker. Each morning, hotel guests can get a start to their day with a complimentary full continental breakfast.This Fairbanks hotel's business center allows business travelers to stay productive. This Alaska lodge also offers meeting spaces accommodating up to 15 people. Unwind after a long day of sightseeing or out-of-town work in the fitness center at this Fairbanks hotel.Vacationers can enjoy convenient freeway access, allowing for quick and easy visits to nearby local attractions - such as the Museum of the North, Alaska at 40 below, the El Dorado Gold Mine and the Ice Museum - most of which are only five minutes away. Families vacationing at this Fairbanks, AK hotel will be delighted to spend the day taking a cruise on the Riverboat Discovery or playing at Pioneer Park, Alaska's largest amusement park. This Fairbanks, AK hotel is the closest hotel to the University of Alaska, Fairbanks, making this the perfect location for visiting parents, students and staff to stay. Guests can rest assured, as a hospital is only five minutes away. The Fairbanks International Airport is also only a couple miles away from this Alaska hotel.For an affordable stay at an exceptional hotel in Fairbanks, Alaska, reserve a stay online at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Chena River Hotel Fairbanks
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing