We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, comfy and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We were based here for our four-night stay in Fairbanks with no car. Good showers, beds pretty comfy with lots of pillows. Staff, esp. Jackie at breakfast, were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast, included with the room price, had many more options than usual: omelets, waffles, oatmeal, fruit, yogurt as well as breads and cereals.
We learned we could walk across the street to Fred Meyers grocery and catch the bus to most places, which was part of the adventure and very affordable. Taxis were quick to show up when called from the hotel, so we used those as well.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJWaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (794)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

473 - 479 of 794 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

To give an example of how wonderful the staff is, on our arrival the first night, we didn't have time to get coffee before rushing off to try to see the Northern Lights (as a new batch was brewing). The receptionist told us that the coffee would be ready in a moment, but we didn't want to wait My wife needed to return to the room, and then rushed back to the car. I was about to start the engine, when in the freezing-cold parking lot we got a knock on our car window, and there was the receptionist with three hot cups of coffee for us. I've never experienced anything more thoughtful in ANY hotel or motel (from most expensive to the most economical). Really, the staff is wonderful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Basic but pleasant and good location. The staff was helpful and tried to accommodate. They did not have much information about things to do or see but did their basic job well. There were a lot of special activities going on in Fairbanks that week - Native Cultural Festival and international Ice carving competition.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank merh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Room was OK. Bed had a lumpy topper but was spotless. Rooms on top floor and at rear are quieter than the others. Breakfast disappointing as they were out of many items and seating is simply not adequate for even 1/2 the number of guests.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank tchrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The rooms were much nicer than expected. Everything was new and nicely decorated. We couldn't beat the price. Breakfast was good each morning and included which was a bonus.

It is a bit far from downtown but there is a local bus across the street from the local grocery store or you can grab a cab pretty easily.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay there again. It would have been great if there was a full service restaurant on site. We didn't want a rental car because of the winter road conditions so we had to get creative with our options.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Akd2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The Good:
Great price for a newer hotel. Rooms clean and new. Environmentally friendly shampoo, conditioner and soap options in shower.

The front desk staff was very nice.

The Bad:
A lot of late arrivers at breakfast on weekdays due to Northern Lights watching. Arrived at 8:30 am for breakfast which ends at 9:00 am. The food was not replenished. Almost like it was put out at 6:00 am and thats all the entire hotel guests get. Many items such as fruit and MILK were completely out.
Overheard a few operational issues with other guests.

Room Tip: Grab a "forest facing room". One side of hotel faces "Airport Way".... not sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My fiance and I stayed here just for one night in Fairbanks on our way to Chena Hot Springs. This place was the best balance of convenient location (like 5-10 minutes from the airport), modern accommodations, free breakfast, and great staff. The hot breakfast included pastries and toast, yogurt, fruit, and waffles and omelettes machines. While it was really close to the airport, I never heard any planes and our stay was quite peaceful and quiet. The front desk staff is incredibly helpful and the woman assisting us took our room number down to call us if the Northern Lights were out. We took the opportunity to drive out to a remote location ourselves with our rental car to see the lights, but for those who don't have one, she mentioned that you can sometimes see the Northern Lights from the back of their property. Great value!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bestshoeshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
0.6 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#4 of 24 in Fairbanks
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 24 in Fairbanks
1,266 reviews
3.3 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge

Address: 1255 Tvsa Way, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4678
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fairbanks
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range: £50 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Alaska hotel offers friendly service and modern accommodations all within minutes of the airport and bustling downtown Fairbanks. Feel right at home at this recently opened Fairbanks, Alaska hotel with modern furnishings and generous amenities. The sizeable, tidy and smoke-free rooms at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge offer high-speed Internet access, a refrigerator, a desk, cable satellite television and a coffeemaker. Each morning, hotel guests can get a start to their day with a complimentary full continental breakfast.This Fairbanks hotel's business center allows business travelers to stay productive. This Alaska lodge also offers meeting spaces accommodating up to 15 people. Unwind after a long day of sightseeing or out-of-town work in the fitness center at this Fairbanks hotel.Vacationers can enjoy convenient freeway access, allowing for quick and easy visits to nearby local attractions - such as the Museum of the North, Alaska at 40 below, the El Dorado Gold Mine and the Ice Museum - most of which are only five minutes away. Families vacationing at this Fairbanks, AK hotel will be delighted to spend the day taking a cruise on the Riverboat Discovery or playing at Pioneer Park, Alaska's largest amusement park. This Fairbanks, AK hotel is the closest hotel to the University of Alaska, Fairbanks, making this the perfect location for visiting parents, students and staff to stay. Guests can rest assured, as a hospital is only five minutes away. The Fairbanks International Airport is also only a couple miles away from this Alaska hotel.For an affordable stay at an exceptional hotel in Fairbanks, Alaska, reserve a stay online at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Chena River Hotel Fairbanks
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing