We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

My mom and I stayed here while I was in Fairbanks visiting for the weekend. We had a great time; we loved it! Many thanks, we will stay again! The hotel is convenient to the airport and to my families!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fbxgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChenaRivergm, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
I am happy to hear you enjoyed yours stay with us. It's always a good sign when people say they will be back. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Mary
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    265
    73
    32
    12
See reviews for
201
278
69
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I came here on our honeymoon. The rooms were very nice and clean. The breakfast served every morning consisted of cereal, omelettes, or waffles. Good food. Good location. We often walked across the street to Fred Meyer or CJ's or Taco Bell. Good value for the money- I highly recommend it.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MelissaB32214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChenaRivergm, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
I am happy that you chose our facility for such a special occasion as your honeymoon and that we were able to meet all your needs. I like getting feedback about our breakfast; we definitely take pride in the quality and assortment of choices. I hope you will stay with us if you come back to Fairbanks.

Mary
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crescent Head, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Very friendly staff, extremely helpful and excellent service. This impressed us within minutes of the check in. Free taxi service between airport and tour company etc. Also provided a wakeup call for the northern lights, which put on a spectacular display right outside the hotel. The rooms were large, spacious, very well appointed with large comfortable beds and good linen. We found it a little isolated position wise, but it was opposite the Fred Meyer complex so we could access food etc from there and a Brewster's Restaurant also within walking distance. Otherwise it was a drive, or taxi for us to anywhere else. The complimentary buffet breakfast was varied, American style, but very adequate my only criticism was that it finishes early at 9.00am. So no sleep ins, which we needed after getting up for hours every night to watch for the northern lights.

Room Tip: Higher level rooms facing the front are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judit731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChenaRivergm, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
That's great you got to see the Northern Lights while you were here! We know how important it is for our guests to view the Northern Lights, which is why we go out of our way to ensure you get the opportunity. I apologize that you were not able to sleep in due to our breakfast hours. If we are aware, we do try to accommodate our Northern Light's viewers by offering select breakfast items past nine. I hope you choose to stay with us again.

Mary
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle Ground, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I've stayed here many times and have had all pretty good experiences. It's very clean, breakfast is good. Only had one small issue with noise. It's close to the airport, and some shopping. A taxi cab is very cheap to get around. Nice to have a sandwich shop/coffee stand next door as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Tyler M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChenaRivergm, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for making us your top hotel choice when you come to Fairbanks. As a manager, I am happy to hear we have always delivered consistent, quality service. I am sorry about the issue with noise; we are always happy to move our guests if they have any problems with their room. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Mary
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This hotel is in a very convenient location, not too far from the airport and close to the supermarket. The staffs are very nice. They go all the way to help the tourists. Hotel room is clean, nice, and quiet. Breakfast is very delicious. The transportation to and from the airport is free.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChenaRivergm, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for the positive feedback. We definitely take pride in our cleanliness and customer service. I hope you will choose our facility for future visits.

Mary
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Stayed four nights in March with main purpose if trip seeing the Northern Lights. Hotel was convenient to airport and had contract with cab company so ride to and from airport was covered by hotel. Fred Meyers grocery store was across the street and we were able to get hand/foot warmers, flashlight, food, snow discs, etc. Everything was a fairly convenient cab ride to include the international ice carving competition, dog sledding, a cool sled hill at university of AK Fairbanks, as well as UAKF museum. One downside was there were no restaurants conveniently located but if you had a car this would not be an issue. After cabbing to everything it was not feasible to cab to restaurants, too. Within a relatively easy walk was Taco Bell, Subway, Brewsters, and a pizza place. There was also the Alaska bowl company across the street which sold nice handmade birch bowls - good souvenir. The hotel was clean althought I did find a hair on my sheets. Always a turn off. Initially, we thought our fridge didn't work and the front desk person indicated she would call her supervisor and notify me of the results. We never heard from her again. The shampoo, conditioner dispensers in shower were empty upon arrival. We opted not to have room cleaned and staff was very good about exchanging towels and providing more soap. Cleaning staff allowed us to borrow their vacuum to reseal our vacuum seal bags that our clothes were stored in. Front desk staff was good about calling taxis for us. It would be a nice touch if the hotel would consider extending breakfast hours or make a limited offering (fruit, yogurt, cereal, bagel) since northern lights 'lookers' are out from 10pm until approximately 4am and are sleeping through breakfast from 6-9am. All in all, not a bad place to stay and I would go back if ever in Fairbanks chasing those elusive lights.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelynn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChenaRivergm, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Sounds like you had a great time sightseeing while you where here. I like your suggestion about extending our breakfast hours with limited items; in the future I think we will definitely use it. We appreciate you staying with us and giving us a extensive review. It is always good to know specifics.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pokolbin, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

I found this hotel fantastic. Breakfast buffet, coffee in room, laundry facilities(small charge), business centre, wifi, small health gym...all free for guests to use. The staff were outstanding, they couldn't do enough to help you. They were better than the visitor's centre. They even woke you up if the Aurura presented itself. We didn't have a car and did find this location a problem to get around. So we hired a car and could not have been happier. Far exceeded our expectations.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChenaRivergm, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
I always like to hear that we exceeded expectations. Customer service is our number one priority and your comment about us being better than the Visitor's Center made me smile. Thank you for staying with us.

Mary
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
0.9 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#3 of 23 in Fairbanks
385 reviews
3.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge

Property: Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
Address: 1255 Tvsa Way, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4678
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fairbanks
#2 Family Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Alaska hotel offers friendly service and modern accommodations all within minutes of the airport and bustling downtown Fairbanks. Feel right at home at this recently opened Fairbanks, Alaska hotel with modern furnishings and generous amenities. The sizeable, tidy and smoke-free rooms at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge offer high-speed Internet access, a refrigerator, a desk, cable satellite television and a coffeemaker. Each morning, hotel guests can get a start to their day with a complimentary full continental breakfast.This Fairbanks hotel's business center allows business travelers to stay productive. This Alaska lodge also offers meeting spaces accommodating up to 15 people. Unwind after a long day of sightseeing or out-of-town work in the fitness center at this Fairbanks hotel.Vacationers can enjoy convenient freeway access, allowing for quick and easy visits to nearby local attractions - such as the Museum of the North, Alaska at 40 below, the El Dorado Gold Mine and the Ice Museum - most of which are only five minutes away. Families vacationing at this Fairbanks, AK hotel will be delighted to spend the day taking a cruise on the Riverboat Discovery or playing at Pioneer Park, Alaska's largest amusement park. This Fairbanks, AK hotel is the closest hotel to the University of Alaska, Fairbanks, making this the perfect location for visiting parents, students and staff to stay. Guests can rest assured, as a hospital is only five minutes away. The Fairbanks International Airport is also only a couple miles away from this Alaska hotel.For an affordable stay at an exceptional hotel in Fairbanks, Alaska, reserve a stay online at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Chena River Hotel Fairbanks
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing