We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very high quality place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very high quality place to stay”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We flew to Fairbanks a day early to avoid jet lag. Before starting our tour we stayed at the Chena River Best Western. Very clean, large rooms, everything was clean clean clean.Friendly staff, a great free breakfast in the morning,short ride to good restaurants. And they have good black out drapes for the continuous light at night.... It never gets dark at night in Alaska in summer! Close to airport.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    259
    69
    29
    12
See reviews for
194
271
68
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley Heights, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed here couple of nights before our Alaska cruisetour and found the employees very helpful. Breakfast was very good, enjoyed having the free WiFi too. Could not have asked for a more helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChenaRivergm, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Caring, helpful staff is one of the most important aspects to a great hotel stay. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The room was spacious and clean. The breakfast was excellent and the lady who served and cleaned the breakfast bar was very helpful and did a great job.
The hotel is out of Fairbanks centre, however across the hotel was a huge Fred Meyers who sold everything from food to household goods. The bowl carving factory/shop was across the road and the centre for the boat trip along the Chena river is approx 1km away.
I would stay at this place again. If coming to Fairbanks you do require a car,so hire one and you can visit all the places easily.

Room Tip: As the sun stays up for long periods it is good to get a room at the back. You cannot hear the traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christineworden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChenaRivergm, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
I'm pleased to hear you'll stay with us again. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed here two days before beginning a 14 day land/cruise tour of Alaska. It was one of the top two places we stayed. Nice room, plenty of space, well decorated. The front desk staff was very helpful in giving places to visit, and directions. We appreciated the free wi-fi, breakfast, and overall stay. You won't regret booking this place!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 156433530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChenaRivergm, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
I'm happy we were able to provide you with a great start to your vacation. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We had an extremely pleasant two nights at the Best Western Fairbanks. The reception staff were very helpful in both giving directions to find places and recommendations for dining which turned out stop on. The hotel has a lodge type atmosphere especially around the breakfast area We would definitely recommend it to other independent travellers looking for quality accommodation at a reasonable price

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChenaRivergm, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
James- I'm glad we were able to help make your trip to Fairbanks enjoyable. Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severna Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
394 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Hotel will pay for cab fare to and from hotel. It is conveniently located and a couple places to eat are in walking distance. A week earlier we had stayed at Pike's Landing and found the Best Western to be a lot better and a lot cheaper. It does lack the character of Pike's.
Front desk staff very helpful and friendly. The free breakfast was also above average for a Best Western. We will stay here when we return to Fairbanks.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dennis w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChenaRivergm, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dennis- Thanks for your comment about our breakfast, we've worked hard on making it unique. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I stayed here at the end of March and was very pleased.

Due to the convenient location I did not need to rent a car. The hotel paid for the short cab ride to and from the airport (check with them first to make sure you use the right cab company) and there was a bus stop just a few minutes walk from the hotel in front of Fred Meyers (which is where I got most of my food plus there's a Starbucks inside.)

The receptionists were all very friendly and at all hours of the day. I was sick one day and the receptionist provided me with a choice of free aspirin or acetaminophen packets available to guests. She also offered me ibuprofen from her own purse since I had asked for Advil. And the next day she asked how I was doing.

I would definitely stay here again if I visit Fairbanks in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hiker_girl_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChenaRivergm, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel. Customer service is definitely our number one priority. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
0.9 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
#13 of 23 in Fairbanks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#4 of 23 in Fairbanks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
3.3 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge

Property: Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
Address: 1255 Tvsa Way, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4678
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fairbanks
#2 Family Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Alaska hotel offers friendly service and modern accommodations all within minutes of the airport and bustling downtown Fairbanks. Feel right at home at this recently opened Fairbanks, Alaska hotel with modern furnishings and generous amenities. The sizeable, tidy and smoke-free rooms at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge offer high-speed Internet access, a refrigerator, a desk, cable satellite television and a coffeemaker. Each morning, hotel guests can get a start to their day with a complimentary full continental breakfast.This Fairbanks hotel's business center allows business travelers to stay productive. This Alaska lodge also offers meeting spaces accommodating up to 15 people. Unwind after a long day of sightseeing or out-of-town work in the fitness center at this Fairbanks hotel.Vacationers can enjoy convenient freeway access, allowing for quick and easy visits to nearby local attractions - such as the Museum of the North, Alaska at 40 below, the El Dorado Gold Mine and the Ice Museum - most of which are only five minutes away. Families vacationing at this Fairbanks, AK hotel will be delighted to spend the day taking a cruise on the Riverboat Discovery or playing at Pioneer Park, Alaska's largest amusement park. This Fairbanks, AK hotel is the closest hotel to the University of Alaska, Fairbanks, making this the perfect location for visiting parents, students and staff to stay. Guests can rest assured, as a hospital is only five minutes away. The Fairbanks International Airport is also only a couple miles away from this Alaska hotel.For an affordable stay at an exceptional hotel in Fairbanks, Alaska, reserve a stay online at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Chena River Hotel Fairbanks
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing