We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfort hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
Chorzow, Poland
Level Contributor
262 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“comfort hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Chena River Best western Plus is a reasonable choice for travellers to Fairbanks. Easy approachable by car, with spacious rooms offers good choice for overnight in Fairbanks.
Breakfast room might be a bit bigger - when the hotel is fully oqupied you may wait for free table. Landing / starting jets created some noise, but it was not distracting us.

Room Tip: book a room opposite the airport strip
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyChris008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    253
    68
    28
    12
See reviews for
190
265
67
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
284 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed one night after flying into Fairbanks and then planning to take the train to Denali. Room was clean, spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was good in the morning too! We had dinner at the Chena Alaska Grill just a short 15 minute 0.5 mile walk from the hotel.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jessie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivanhoe, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We made our reservation in March asking for a third floor room away from the ice machine and elevator. We got a room on the second floor right next to the ice machine! We were awakened at 5:30 a.m. with someone filling their ice chest. They were able to move us to the third floor for the second night farther from the ice machine and we had a good night's sleep. They said they do the room assignments in the morning and evidently didn't look at our request. It has a convenient location and breakfast was good, although the dining area is way too small with only about 5-6 tables.

Room Tip: Request a room in the back as those rooms face a nice wooded area and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maesraeb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChenaRivergm, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We do our best to honor all guest requests; unfortunately, due to availability on the day of check in, that is not always possible. I'm very glad we were at least able to accommodate your request on the second day of your reservation. I must say, I was a bit confused by your comment about being placed by an ice machine on the second floor as we only have one on the third floor.

Again, thank you for your feedback and I'm very sorry we were not able to accommodate your request. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
194 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

This is a fairly new hotel on the outskirts of Fairbanks. There is a Fred Meyer's and Safeway within walking distance, but they are close to the airport. They will pay for you to take a taxi to and from the airport/train depot. Here was the problem: we smelled something funky in our room all night long, but couldn't find out what it was until we were packing up to leave. The refrigerator was in a cabinet and it was SO HOT we couldn't touch it. My husband tried to move it to unplug it, but it was too hot. We told the gal at the desk when we left. The other problem was when we went to brush our teeth with cold water it came out so HOT that it was possible to get burned. I immediately told the gal at the front desk, she claimed no one else has ever complained about that problem & was I sure I had the cold water running & not the hot (duh). You needed to let the cold water run about 5-10 minutes before it was cool enough to touch. Beware-don't get burned!

Green Features: They had fairly new water conservation toilets. But because you needed to run the water for 5-10 minutes to get cool water, it wasn't as conservative as they would like you to think.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aquaH2Omama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Recently stayed at the Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge in Fairbanks Alaska. Great place! People are friendly and helpful, rooms are very nice and very clean, and it's a short ride from the airport. The hotel will cover the cost of the taxi if you choose an Eagle or Yellow Cab (there are numerous cabs waiting at the airport). Fairbanks has a very efficient and easy bus system to get around town if you're without a car. No problem staying a bit from downtown with such a good transportation system available. The only criticism is the complimentary breakfast. Fairly inedible... even after a three week camping trip! But there are some good alternative breakfast spots not too far away. Overall, a good choice when staying near Fairbanks International.

Room Tip: Wifi isn't too good on the third floor if that's a priority.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Cloud, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

This hotel was perfect for what our group of 10 (5 rooms) needed. The front office staff was super helpful, the airport shuttle was much appreciated and the rooms were perfect. There was a great little restaurant that stays open late withing walking distance that was recommended by the front desk. Thank you for making our quick little stay with you enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjkjhickman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Best Western Chena River Lodge is an excellent choice! I travel to this area at a minimum of twice a month. I used to stay here all the time; unfortunately, some staffing changes made me start frequenting another hotel. I recently decided I missed the quiet and convienient location BW offers so I came back to try them again for a night. I was really happy with the changes. I will be using this establishment from this day forward.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mirta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
0.8 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pioneer Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#4 of 23 in Fairbanks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
3.3 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
3.4 mi away
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
#13 of 23 in Fairbanks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge
Address: 1255 TVSA Way, Fairbanks, AK 99706
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fairbanks
#2 Family Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Alaska hotel offers friendly service and modern accommodations all within minutes of the airport and bustling downtown Fairbanks. Feel right at home at this recently opened Fairbanks, Alaska hotel with modern furnishings and generous amenities. The sizeable, tidy and smoke-free rooms at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge offer high-speed Internet access, a refrigerator, a desk, cable satellite television and a coffeemaker. Each morning, hotel guests can get a start to their day with a complimentary full continental breakfast.This Fairbanks hotel's business center allows business travelers to stay productive. This Alaska lodge also offers meeting spaces accommodating up to 15 people. Unwind after a long day of sightseeing or out-of-town work in the fitness center at this Fairbanks hotel.Vacationers can enjoy convenient freeway access, allowing for quick and easy visits to nearby local attractions - such as the Museum of the North, Alaska at 40 below, the El Dorado Gold Mine and the Ice Museum - most of which are only five minutes away. Families vacationing at this Fairbanks, AK hotel will be delighted to spend the day taking a cruise on the Riverboat Discovery or playing at Pioneer Park, Alaska's largest amusement park. This Fairbanks, AK hotel is the closest hotel to the University of Alaska, Fairbanks, making this the perfect location for visiting parents, students and staff to stay. Guests can rest assured, as a hospital is only five minutes away. The Fairbanks International Airport is also only a couple miles away from this Alaska hotel.For an affordable stay at an exceptional hotel in Fairbanks, Alaska, reserve a stay online at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Chena River Hotel Fairbanks
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing