We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding committment to working with customers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2010

My fiance flew up to Fairbanks for two weeks and rather than share cramped quarters with my roomate we lodged at the BW Chena River. While the initial intent was to stay at another B&B in Fairbanks, that fell through as the owner had to leave town on some emergency and could not come through with a room.

The folks at the BW worked to get us a room for the entire two weeks at a very good rate on short order in the middle of a huge crunch on their rooms for a variety of meetings in town. They were helpful, attendant to the room despite our captive-audience status, and I'll have to admit we more than helped ourselves to the continental breakfast to stock up the room for a little light lunch as well.

The rooms were spacious and for the most part, quiet (a few nights we had loud neighbors), but the folks at the front desk were pretty good about keeping our adjoining rooms empty when they could. The fridge was cold, the room was warm (as it should have been), and the free internet worked flawlessly.

The only concern was many of the rooms (including ours) has not tub, which is not a big deal on any given night, but when you're there for a few weeks your gal might want to soak in splendor. I understand some rooms DO have tubs, but they were occupied most of the time and we likewise had what amounted to a "long term rate" on a regular room.

The only other issue was that our shower water was often not warm enough, but we eventually figured out it was an issue w/ the fixture vs. the water flow in the hotel, and we reported it to the desk and they were going to take care of it (unfortunately we figured that all out just before we left.)

Anyway, the BW is the BEST option in Fairbanks, bar none. The other "tour" hotels are WAY, WAY overpriced, plus you have to deal w/ throngs of gawking tourists wandering the halls at all hours. The other more conventional hotels are similarly overpriced, but are generally run down or smoke pits.

The BW folks were top notch, and I'd recommend the place immediately, to anyone (that doesn't smoke). As for short versus long term stays, work with the BW folks and see what you can get for a rate. While there's a more conventional long-term Extended Stay facility right across the road, it's notoriously dumpy, generally loud, and for the most part is a glorified hostel for top-dollar. Go with the BW and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Airworthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (780)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

739 - 745 of 780 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2010

We stayed two nights in a double. Very convenient to airport and many attractions. The doors slamming from other rooms was the biggest problem-could hear them even with ear plugs and the hotel had few guests during our stay. It is newer, but the bed we had felt like it already been broken in awhile. Breakfast was adequate. Fridge in room very handy. Bathroom had some mildew issues.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChenaRivergm, Manager at Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2010

When I read your comments I was very disturbed. I immediately gathered my housekeeping staff to inspect all bathrooms in our facility. I am happy to inform you that we did not find any mildew. During, this inspection we did discover that our bathroom cleaner was leaving a strange odor in the bathrooms. I would like to sincerely that you for you for bringing this to our attention. We now use a different bathroom cleaner.
I also wanted to assure you that every bed in our facility is new. They are pillow top mattresses; it is a plush mattress. This bed was chosen because of its reputation for comfort. I know that a good night sleep is important for everyone. Unfortunately due to the noise of the exit doors you were not able to sleep as well. We do try to encourage our guest to use our front door and elevator. Occasionally, our side doors are used. For the safety of all of our guest our side doors are fire doors.
Again, I want to thank you for your comments and bringing important issues to our attention. I hope that if you visit the Fairbanks area again you decide to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

We spent one night here on a recent trip to Alaska, and it was a pleasant surprise for us! We were just looking for something affordable (relatively speaking - it is Alaska after all) for a night in between a couple of locations. The hotel must be brand new, everything was updated and clean and new looking. Comfortable bed, huge room, nice big shower, clean spacious lobby area. Flat screen TV and free WIFI were a bonus.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pen15club
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

This hotel was fantastic. We arrived after 11pm and they had a free shuttle (taxi) service to the hotel. After a quick and friendly check-in, we were surprised with a great room that looked more 'W' than Best Western. Fridge and coffee maker in room. I found the bed to be a little bit too soft (new mattress, though), but the spouse thought it was perfect. We awoke to complimentary breakfast in the lobby. Not only cereal/fruit/yogurt but also hot foods, too (biscuit/gravy, waffles, & more). Really nice, clean hotel that we highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoFourTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWestern C, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Dear Valued Guest,
We are so glad we could accommodate you while you stayed with us and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We run on the principle that our guests come first and we hope it was evident. We hope to see you again.
Best Regards,
Kristen Koch
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

This hotel looks pretty new. The housekeeping did an excellent job - very clean rooms, and they didn't bug us when we slept in like some places do. The bed was extremely comfortable, among the best. The television allowed adjusting the picture aspect ratio so I wasn't trapped looking at a world of ridiculously fat faces - I wish upscale chains would offer that. The room had double-double pane windows (4 sheets of glass) which kept all the road and aircraft noise out. And they opened wide for fresh air.

The location was very handy: 5 minutes from the airport and 5 minutes from the university. A large Fred Meyers store was directly across the street for picking up snacks and such.

The room was of average size and had a refrigerator and coffee maker, but no microwave. We had a large stall shower but no tub. If you like bathtubs, you better ask about availability. The hot water was turned low and showers were tepid - my only real complaint. Towels were thick. There was excellent free wireless Internet that ran fast enough to run streaming movies - Hilton take note! The free breakfast included hot bacon, sausage, and scrambled eggs - definitely better than the usual creepy Danish and cold cereal.

It was a basic motel, but they did everything well. For the price we paid I was very satisfied.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheechako2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWestern C, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Dear Valued Guest,
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! We were surprised to learn that your room did not have a microwave as every room should be equipped with one. We will definitely be keeping on eye on this thank you so much for bringing this to my attention. We hope to see you again if in the Fairbanks area.
Best Regards,
Kristen Koch
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this Best Western. This hotel is an asset to the chain. New and stylish, clean and comfortable. The beds were great, the breakfast was satisfying. The front desk and housekeeping staff were very friendly.

If you do laundry be prepared to pay $3 to use the machines and $2 for one load's worth of soap from the front desk. We used the workout room and found it adequate with towels and water provided. Coffee is always on down in the breakfast area. Rooms are large. The wifi worked great and there is a computer downstairs for guest use if you don't have a laptop, most of the time I found that this computer was in use.

Tip: My opinion is that the best part of the hotel to stay if you DON'T have kids with you is the center of the 2nd floor, there is a great little lounge area up there that overlooks the front door and is perfect for reading a book.

If we go back to Fairbanks we will look to stay at this hotel again. I recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveMyAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWestern C, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Dear Valued Guest,
We are so glad you chose to stay with us as well as enjoyed your stay here. We look forward to serving you again in the future!
Best Regards,
Kristen Koch
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2010

The staff here was very friendly and helpful, the television was large, and the location was very near to the airport. Great free wifi. The parking lot had places to plug in the cord extending from the nose of my rental car. I say "mostly clean" because there were some nasty stains on the shower curtain and the room had that, "well, I got rid of the top layer of dirt" look that my mother used in her own cleaning. The breakfast was pretty good for an American hotel: eggs and sausage, sweet rolls, various kinds of cereal. There is a large mall with a Fred Meyer's nearby. I'm a fan of Best Western and this was almost up to the best of the Best.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EpicureSlug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWestern C, Manager at Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for staying with us as well as writing us a review. We work hard to put our guests first and I will personally be looking into the cleanliness level at our hotel. We pride ourselves on a very clean environment. We do hope to serve you again.
Best Regards,
Kristen Koch
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
0.9 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#3 of 23 in Fairbanks
394 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks
3.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge

Address: 1255 Tvsa Way, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4678
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fairbanks
#2 Family Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range: £72 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Alaska hotel offers friendly service and modern accommodations all within minutes of the airport and bustling downtown Fairbanks. Feel right at home at this recently opened Fairbanks, Alaska hotel with modern furnishings and generous amenities. The sizeable, tidy and smoke-free rooms at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge offer high-speed Internet access, a refrigerator, a desk, cable satellite television and a coffeemaker. Each morning, hotel guests can get a start to their day with a complimentary full continental breakfast.This Fairbanks hotel's business center allows business travelers to stay productive. This Alaska lodge also offers meeting spaces accommodating up to 15 people. Unwind after a long day of sightseeing or out-of-town work in the fitness center at this Fairbanks hotel.Vacationers can enjoy convenient freeway access, allowing for quick and easy visits to nearby local attractions - such as the Museum of the North, Alaska at 40 below, the El Dorado Gold Mine and the Ice Museum - most of which are only five minutes away. Families vacationing at this Fairbanks, AK hotel will be delighted to spend the day taking a cruise on the Riverboat Discovery or playing at Pioneer Park, Alaska's largest amusement park. This Fairbanks, AK hotel is the closest hotel to the University of Alaska, Fairbanks, making this the perfect location for visiting parents, students and staff to stay. Guests can rest assured, as a hospital is only five minutes away. The Fairbanks International Airport is also only a couple miles away from this Alaska hotel.For an affordable stay at an exceptional hotel in Fairbanks, Alaska, reserve a stay online at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Chena River Hotel Fairbanks
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing