We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alaska Heritage House
Ranked #1 of 41 Fairbanks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canon City, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Home”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We enjoyed our 2 night stay in Fairbanks. The rooms were quaint. The breakfasts were delicious and the hosts were welcoming and helpful. I loved the history of the home and how the owners had decorated. It is nicely located withing easy walking distance of the downtown area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    14
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
32
91
29
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda Isles, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We arrived in Fairbanks Alaska a day early for our Princess Cruise. We like B&Bs and chose the Alaska Heritage House. We have never had such personal service and an accommodating hostess. The house could be a museum and the historical significance of previous owners is amazing. It's location is perfectly suited to a 5 minute walk downtown and is one block away from the city bus route. The breakfast was excellent and the room was perfect. I'm only giving it 5 stars because that's the highest rating. If you are visiting Fairbanks this is THE place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The Alaska Heritage house is hands down the best place to stay in Fairbanks. Spotless rooms, delicious breakfasts, attentive owners, and an interesting and beautiful history to explore....what more can anyone want? If you stay here, you will briefly join a family of fascinating people (owners and guests alike) who you will get to know at breakfast every morning and during the occasional social event. However, each room offers a high level of privacy (and excellent sound barriers....I almost never heard any neighbors) and personal amenities (TV, fast and reliable wifi, claw tub baths, never-ending hot water, plush bedding, coffee/tea, and suites with kitchens) when you need to retreat.

I can't say enough good things about Van and Bill, the owners of the house who are incredibly accommodating to their guests and are just compassionate, honest, and hardworking people with incredible stories to tell. Van is a phenomenal chef and you will purposely be late for your appointments so you can finish every last crumb of breakfast. Both are also an excellent and trustworthy sources of information for tourists or long-term visitors to Fairbanks. The house staff - Courtney and Angel - are also reliable, easygoing, and good company.

The location is also perfect. Walking distance to several downtown attractions, easy access to bus lines (in case you are unable to drive), and minutes away from major retailers and grocery. Parking is easy even when the house is full. In the winter, guests have access to plugs for their vehicles.

I stayed in the house over several winter months. Everyone knows Alaska is amazing in the summer, but Fairbanks is also completely lovely and a ton of fun in the winter. I went dog mushing, aurora watching, snow shoeing, curling, and lots of other -ings. Even if you're not sure you have an adventurous spirit, you will thoroughly enjoy a Fairbanks visit during any season.

My review would not be complete if I did not mention my favorite little four legged guest, Mabel, the owner's gorgeous Dachsund. She has a quiet, calm and affectionate temperament and is a regular visitor to the house. There's really nothing better than her greeting you with a wagging tail and belly rub request before you head out to enjoy the Alaskan day. Miss you Mabel!

So come to Fairbanks anytime, and stay at the Heritage House. You won't regret it! Thank you Van and Bill, for a memorable stay in Fairbanks, and I hope to see you both again soon :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sri108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

It's the type of place that makes me want to relocate. Cozy, with wonderful hosts. Lots of nice little touches. They are really nice and accommodating. It's so much better than staying at a chain hotel for the same price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank water t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We loved our 2-night stay at the Alaska Heritage House! The hosts of this B&B are incredibly patient, helpful, and kind people. They are great about being there when you have questions but they give guests freedom to come and go as they please. Their dog Mabel is also the sweetest! We got a free upgrade to a suite when we got there as well as maps, suggestions on where to eat and visit, and chocolate cake! The rooms are very clean and decorated in the historic theme of the house. Loved the extra touch of homemade lavender soap!

I can't comment on the breakfast because we left too early in the morning for the prepared breakfast. But, we were told where the fruit and cereal were so we could grab them on our way out.

Great place to stay - no complaints!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Chena River Room - its a suite with two beds, a full kitchen, bathroom, and small l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smg16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

A good choice in Fairbanks.
We just spent one night there and the host told us many interesting places in town.
The location is great even in the small city and rooms are clean.
Might come back again someday.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xuanbowen7117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmer, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed at the Alaska Heritage House while visiting Fairbanks to photograph aurora and do research for an article in Last Frontier Magazine. We really enjoyed learning the history of the Mary Lee Davis house. Bill was a very welcoming host and made us feel right at home. Courtney prepared tasty meals for breakfast and our room was spotless. I highly recommend the Alaska Heritage House if you are looking to have an experience as opposed to just a place to sleep!

Room Tip: The Garden Room was perfect for two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LastFrontierMag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
3.5 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,139 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
2.5 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#5 of 23 in Fairbanks
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska Heritage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Heritage House

Property: Alaska Heritage House
Address: 410 Cowles St, Fairbanks, AK 99701-4435
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alaska Heritage House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alaska Heritage House Bed & Breakfast (listed on the National Register of Historic Places as the Mary Lee Davis House) was the most elegant home in early Fairbanks. Eight antique filled rooms are equipped with claw-foot tubs, historic photographs and books, and such modern amenities as Wi-Fi, Cable TV, mini refrigerators, and gourmet breakfasts year around inspired by the owners extensive international travels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Alaska Heritage House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaska Heritage House Fairbanks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing