We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Fairbanks

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Fairbanks
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level Contributor
165 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Excellent service, great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

This is the 6th time I have stayed here this year. This time it was room 327 with the basic features of all Springhill Suites. Breakfast very good, actually an improvement in food quality compared to Springhill Suites in the lower 48. But it is the staff that make this hotel what it is. James Burley in particular went out of his way to help with a number of issues including paying for a taxi to pick up and return guests when the hotel shuttle was down. Also on Thanksgiving paying for a taxi to take guests to nearby restaurants in sub zero weather. This is unheard of for any hotel I have stayed at.

The hotel has a pickup and return service to the Fairbanks airport and it is free of charge. Sometimes there is only one person at the front desk and that can lead to a backup during peak check in periods. However, this time there was no such issue. The internet computers in the lobby work extremely well, unlike those in other Marriott properties. Maybe Marriott can get its act together to solve what seems to be a generic issue---how to get reliable hotel computers so guests will want to use them, rather than be turned off by poor service providers.

I strongly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PDM77059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    247
    74
    22
    12
See reviews for
112
184
54
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

I stayed here for 6 nights with a Road Scholar program & our entire group was well pleased with the accommodations. The staff was friendly, the beds were comfortable, & the suites were roomy. The hotel is located along the Chena River across the street from Golden Heart Plaza, a nice little park in which to walk. There is a small indoor swimming pool & work out room, but I didn't have time to take advantage of either. The hotel restaurant is rather upscale, but there are several others within walking distance, as are shops & museums. If the hotel shuttle isn't busy they are agreeable to transporting guests elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kanilea361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We live in Alaska and this is our choice whenever we have to travel to Fairbanks. The hotel is located within walking distance of several restaurants, a definite plus in the winter or for someone without a car. Check-in was fast, efficient and the staff was friendly. The room has a separate sitting area with a privacy wall dividing it from the bedroom. There is a small refrigerator and microwave, coffee maker and mugs. Everything was clean and smelled fresh. Off-season rates are very reasonable. Breakfast is the standard Marriott buffet - scrambled eggs, waffles, fruit, yogurt, etc. Just remember that this is Alaska, not a posh hotel in the lower 48.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the Chena River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

This hotel is in downtown Fairbanks. The rooms are clean and they provide a good hot breakfast. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance. Fairbanks doesn't have a particularly attractive downtown area, especially in the Winter, but this hotel is a good choice if you need to go to Fairbanks at any time of the year. The rates are very reasonable in the off season. They have a restaurant attached to the hotel which seems upscale and seems to do a good business. I did not try it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerryA320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coraopolis, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed overnight in conjunction with Alaska Railroad's Aurora Train from Anchorage to Fairbanks which returns the following morning (8:30 a.m.). If the weather cooperates, the trip is 12-hours one way. The room was clean and roomy with a nice sofa. The room also had some unique windows coverings, offering the occupant privacy but also allowing light in. There are dining options with one being in the hotel. However, I went to Big Daddy's BBQ a couple of blocks away for take out food. Guy Fieri (Food Network) has eaten there. The breakfast buffet included the standard fare, and on a cold morning this beats McDonald's any day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 43Rudolf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Before checking into the hotel, we had a nice dinner at the restaurant right besides the lobby of this hotel, which was kinda pricy, but you get what you pay for. The service we received was extremely good, too. One night I locked up my key in the car and it was the front desk lady of this hotel who helped me calling a cab locksmith service person to retrieve the key. On the other night, the coffee machine stopped working and I called the front desk for a replacement. And it was brought in in NO time. Really enjoyed staying there. Free breakfast, nice Thai food around the block. Convenient location. Would recommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dannis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pomona
Level Contributor
99 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed here in August 2013. The beds were extremely comfy and the towels were plush. The room was very clean and location was excellent. The front desk was very helpful. The room was spacious!! We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
3.8 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pioneer Park Inn
0.5 mi away
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
#13 of 23 in Fairbanks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Fairbanks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Fairbanks

Property: SpringHill Suites Fairbanks
Address: 575 1st Ave, Fairbanks, AK 99701
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Fairbanks 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay in downtown Fairbanks next to the Chena River. Featuring separate areas for sleeping, eating and working, SpringHill Suites provides guests with a microwave, mini-fridge, desk and pull-out sofa bed. Enjoy complimentary continental breakfast buffet and airport shuttle, as well as pool, whirlpool, exercise room and wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Fairbanks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Fairbanks Hotel Fairbanks
Fairbanks Springhill Suites
SpringHill Suites Fairbanks Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing