We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Wonderful place to stay. I have stayed many times over 7 years and have always had great service. Best place to stay in Fairbanks. Highly, highly rate this hotel for business or vacation. Front desk staff was outstanding.

Room Tip: Ask for river view side of hotel, possible too see northern lights in winter time
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    259
    77
    23
    13
See reviews for
127
194
55
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gatlinburg, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The staff was very helpful. They told us about the different colored bus lines so we could save cab money when we went to North Pole, AK. They had free candy and newspapers. The room was nice, clean and big. Nice gift shop in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Breakfast is included, you are right next to the downtown area with a few nice shops. The best restaurant in town in downstairs in the hotel itself. Parking gets a bit scarce at night but there is additional parking allocated to the hotel right across 2nd ave or you can park along the street on 1st ave.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking to the north, the view is much better looking over the Chena river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NapGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed four nights on the first leg of our Alaska adventure. We had our own vehicle, and we had family staying in a campground not far from the hotel. The staff was friendly, the breakfasts were good, and the rooms were quiet.

We had a room overlooking the river, and the suite was well laid out. The bedding was as fresh and comfortable as I've come to expect from Marriott. Ahhh, after a long day of touring. One slight drawback, they could definitely improve on the room darkening of the shades. Even with my eye mask on the light still finds a way in.

Parking was a small issue while we were there, the hotel was full, and we had a hard time finding a spot. We were then told we could park in the parking garage and they would validate and pay for the parking. I actually felt better about parking in the secured garage than I was feeling about leaving the vehicle in the open access lots that the hotel generally uses. It seemed to me that there were a lot of odd people walking about the town at 10:30 at night (broad daylight still). The stores and shops were closed and no cars were driving but there were some interesting folks around. We saw some signs of vandalism, not on any vehicles, but on doorways and streets, So the parking garage made me feel better about leaving our vehicle overnight. We never felt unsafe, but just a little hesitant about the vehicle. All worked out well in that department.

Breakfast did not start until 7:00... Seems odd not to be able to get an early start, especially when traveling in such a BIG state. Everyone must have been waiting in their rooms for 7 o'clock to roll around (I know we were) because when we got down there it was crazy trying to get breakfast with that many people at one time. Perhaps if they started breakfast at 6 AM they would find less of a crazy rush at 7 and people could get out to their destinations a little less harried. The food was good the options were nice.

Overall it was a good stay and we would recommend staying here. Most places in Alaska are not this modern as we found out later in our travels, it was the best place we stayed in for our whole trip.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank amlunchlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NMS-Lodging, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Satisfaction Survey and sharing your experience with the SpringHill Suites Fairbanks.

I am happy you were able to experience our beautiful State, The Land of the Midnight Sun, unfortunately, with that comes the challenge of sleeping however thank you for the comments about our bedding. Marriott takes great pride in our bed program and we enjoying hearing the positive feedback.

I apologize for the challenges with parking however I’m glad the garage was a good option offed by our staff. Thank you for the comments regarding our breakfast times. We have tried a variety of times to accommodate all our guests however I apologize if your experience was not up to your satisfaction.

Our goal is to address all concerns so that we can ensure that our guests receive an exceptional experience at every visit. You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience.

Thank you for choosing SpringHill Suites by Marriott.

Warmest Regards,
Lisa Simons
General Manager
SpringHill Suites by Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed two nights and whilst the well located hotel was fine, the in-house restaurant Lavelle's Bistro was truly outstanding. Although it has little local competition, it compares well with the best big city restaurants anywhere. Don't miss it.
As far as the accommodation is concerned, our suite was large, clean, quiet, light and comfortable. All extras, often charged for elsewhere, were free - breakfast, parking, fast wifi and printer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afcok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

First good point is that there is a free shuttle to and from the railroad depot (and the airport). The downside is that they have two small vans, and if a lot of people arrive at the same time, you could find yourself waiting quite a while. We had to wait 25 minutes on arrival, and were the last two people to squeeze in the van. Incidentally, on the day we left, the reception staff told us to report to the lobby "a couple of minutes before 7.15am" so that the van could depart at quarter past the hour. We got there at 7.07am (with another couple of guests) and the driver was quite impatient, saying he had been waiting for us so that he could get going!

The suite was large, and nicely furnished. There was a sitting area with a sofa, and a small kitchen area, as well as a desk and chair. We had a couple of cleanliness issues - the body lotion in the bathroom was about a quarter full, and was gunked up around the top where it had clearly been used by the previous guest. Also, without going into detail, a previous guest had left something unpleasant on the bathroom wall, and it had not been cleaned off.

The free continental breakfast was good, with plenty of choices. The hotel was full, so the small area where the buffet was laid out got very crowded; however they did have plenty of tables where you could sit and eat once you had your food. As we were leaving early the following morning, before breakfast time, we asked if it was OK to take food back to the room to leave in the fridge overnight. The staff were helpful and said we could either do that, or we would find that a few cold items would be set out before the breakfast hours in the morning if we wanted to pop down then.

There was free WiFi in the hotel, which worked OK.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sometimesong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I would recommend this for people who are going to be in Fairbanks for several days and need a launching spot for their activities. The location is fine, but there isn't too much in walking distance--several bars and restaurants, one museum and a handful of shops. But if you don't have your own car, you will rapidly run out of things to explore.

I stayed here for a night on my way further north in Alaska. Check-in was speedy and friendly. The room was decent sized (small fridge microwave, kitchen sink, couch, good-sized work station in addition to king-sized bed and bathroom that has a separate vanity area). The hot water and water pressure were good, though the tub drain was horrible, so I ended up standing in an inch of water by the end of my shower. There is a small pool and exercise room, a lobby area with some seating, a small breakfast area and a restaurant. The hotels is clean, but definitely has that chain hotel smell from whatever cleaning and deodorizing products that they use.

The internet is free, but slow--it would often take several minutes for pages to update on my phone web browser and social media apps. Be aware that on weekends the complimentary breakfast doesn't start until 7am, so you will be out of luck if you want to get an early start for a long day trip or have an early flight.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NMS-Lodging, Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hello Lindsay W,

I recently received a copy of your review and want to thank you for the feedback. Our goal is to provide great service and great rooms, but it sounds like on that day we didn't meet your expectations. Please accept my sincere apology.

These is no excuse for our tubs not draining properly, so I'll pass your comments on to the maintenance manager and he will address it right away.

Thank you for the positive comments as well.

Great journeys,

Rebecca Eaton
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
3.9 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,167 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
2.8 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#3 of 23 in Fairbanks
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks

Property: SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks
Address: 575 1st Avenue, Fairbanks, AK 99701
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks, an all-suite hotel in downtown Fairbanks, Alaska located next to the Chena River. Our accommodations feature separate areas for sleeping, eating and working, and they provide guests with a microwave, mini-fridge, desk and pull-out sofa bed. Enjoy complimentary continental breakfast buffet and airport shuttle, as well as pool, whirlpool, exercise room and wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Fairbanks Hotel Fairbanks
Fairbanks Springhill Suites
SpringHill Suites By Marriott Fairbanks Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing