We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plan on a bar fight to wake you up”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Our room was above the last bar in downtown Fairbanks. Every night we were woken up by people who were drunk and fighting down on the streets. The police came, but to no avail we were awake. The bed and room are the usual hotel thing. Breakfast is good expect for the eggs. The room does have a microwave and refrigerator. My advise for this place is try to find something with a room not facing the bars.

Room Tip: Stay here if you need some place close to downtown-try for a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank aquaH2Omama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NMS-Lodging, Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear AquaH20mama,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay at the Fairbanks SpringHill Suites. I'm sorry to hear that the activity at the bar across the street woke you up. We do our best to ensure our guests have a great night sleep - and it looks like the bar activity made that not happen for you. As you noted the hotel is in the heart of Fairbanks - which makes it easy to walk around and explore. Our river view rooms are most desired by many of our guests.
Again, I apologize you did not get a good nights sleep - we work hard to exceed our guest's expectations - and I'm sorry we didn't with you. We hope you will come back again to Fairbanks and give us another chance.

Warmest Regards,
Jeannette Duenow
Vice President of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (580)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

258 - 264 of 580 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

It's pretty much what you expect. Everything in Fairbanks is expensive so keep that in mind when you book a room. This is a 2.5 star hotel with 4 star prices. The location is great and there is a farmers market right across the street in the plaza on the Chena River.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank bretzelpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NMS-Lodging, Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Bretzelpdx,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent trip to the SpringHill Suites in Fairbanks. We appreciate your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed our location. In the heart of the city, there is quite a bit to do within walking distance as you noticed. I hope you took advantage of the farmers market which is in the plaza several times a week and offers a variety of goods made in Alaska and beyond. As you noted - Alaska in general is a bit pricier than the "Lower 48". However, should you come back in the fall or winter, you will find prices (at least in hotels) a bit lower. Again, thank you for your comments, we look forward to serving you again should your travels bring you back to Fairbanks.

Warmest Regards,
Jeannette Duenow
Vice President of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

As SpringHill Suites go, this one is top of the line. It looks like its just been redone. Rooms were of the new design that have a separate work area and long couch (rather than the small ones that you can't stretch out on). Nice bed. Breakfast was a cut above the standard SpringHill Suites menu (i.e. some cheese and cold cuts as well as the standard eggs, flexible turkey sausage, and oatmeal). Staff was very friendly. I'm a long time Marriott customer (Platinum Premier for years) and they've done a good job with this one.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JohntheLast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NMS-Lodging, Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear JohntheLast,

Thank you for being such a loyal customer! We appreciate your noticing the new SpringHill breakfast - Marriott has recently come out with some new healthy offerings. I'm glad you enjoyed it. Thank you for recognizing our associates as they certainly enjoy delighting our customers. We'll be sure to share your comments with them in our morning meeting.
Our rooms were renovated three years ago and our housekeeping associates work hard to keep them in tip top shape.
Thank you again for your loyalty and comments - we look forward to serving you again should your travels bring you back to the Fairbanks area.

Warmest Regards,
Jeannette Duenow
Vice President of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We were a walk-in booking after completing a 1000 mile race in a kayak down the Yukon River. The receptionist was very helpful and kind as we were very tired and were desperate for some rest. The room was gorgeous and huge. The complimentary buffet breakfast was great, the free shuttle to the airport was much appreciated. Richard drove us to the airport late in the evening to pick up our rental car and told us all about his exploits with the local rugby football team, such a nice person and very obliging. We would definitely stay again. Well done guys.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KipandKimba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NMS-Lodging, Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear KipandKimba,

Thank you for choosing the SpringHill Suites after your 1000 mile race. What an accomplishment! I'm glad you found the hotel to be a nice ending to your adventure. Thank you for recognizing Richard - he has lots of stories - I'm glad he shared some with you! We'll make sure to share your feedback with him and the rest of our associates. We look forward to serving you the next time your adventures bring you to Fairbanks - - maybe the Yukon Quest?!

Warmest Regards,
Jeannette Duenow
Vice President of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I'm a long-time loyal Marriott customer, and I've never had such a strange check-in experience as I did at this hotel. We arrived around midnight on a late flight, but we had a room reserved and guaranteed, so we weren't too concerned. However upon arriving at the front desk, a nervous, confused clerk told us our room wasn't ready. She also said there were no other rooms ready and we would have to wait for one to be cleaned. Meanwhile, a group of airline pilots came up to the front desk and said they were confused about why there were some strangers in their rooms. The clerk was flustered and apparently gave them new rooms. Meanwhile after waiting over 1 hour with tired kids falling asleep in the lobby, we went back up to the desk and asked about our room. She told us that someone had been smoking in the room meant for us, and they would have to prepare another room. A few minutes later, just after a disheveled looking guy came out of the elevator and left, she told us our room was ready. She never could explain why our room wasn't ready on arrival and it took an hour and a half to get us checked in. On our way up to the room, we poked our head into the room we were supposed to get, which was being cleaned by housekeeping and there was no smell of tobacco at all. Hmmmm. Next, we saw a couple of homeless guys waiting at the elevator without keys and getting and following other guests on. At one point, a young woman dressed like a hooker exited the elevator to the loud cat calls of the homeless looking guys. My wife theorized that the hotel staff was running some kind of late night brothel/flop house. The room itself was clean and adequate with a nice view of Fairbanks. The free breakfast was good, although very crowded in the small dining room. There was also a nice indoor pool and jacuzzi. Finally, the morning staff gave us a good discount on the price of the room...which is the only reason I didn't give a one-star review. Just be forewarned if you arrive late at night for check in.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank motogeezer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NMS-Lodging, Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Motogeezer2013,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience. I am so sorry that you did not have a great stay with us - we want to ensure our guests thoroughly enjoy their visit. I was dismayed to read of your experience as it is not one you (nor I) would ever expect from the SpringHill Suites. I will be investigating this incident and again appreciate your sharing. Please be assured keeping someone waiting for as long as you did is not the norm. Our hotel does have guests checking in and out at all hours due to the late flights and we do have housekeeping cleaning rooms very late. I am glad to hear you did enjoy the new SpringHill Suites breakfast and the view of Fairbanks from your room.

I would appreciate it if you would reach out to me directly to further discuss your experience. We look forward to serving you in a much better manner should your travels bring you back to the Fairbanks area!

Warmest Regards,

Jeannette Duenow
Vice President of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is a typical SpringHill Suites that most Marriott travelers would expect. The rooms are spacious, the in-room WiFi works well and the connection is reasonably fast, the room interior is reasonably modern. if you take a 2 double bed configuration, the room size is very spacious with a good size closet. it is close to attractions like Pioneer Park (few miles). The only downside is limited parking and if you arrive late, possibly you may not get parking on the hotel premises. The area around the hotel is quite ordinary and not lively. The front desk staff is very friendly, answer all questions with patience and provide good guidance. The breakfast is also typical of SpringHill Suites, fresh, combination of hot and cold items, stocked well and the seating area is accommodating for enough people.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NMS-Lodging, Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Jim S,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review! I'm glad you enjoyed the spacious rooms and in-room Wi-Fi. As you noticed the hotel is in a great location downtown and pretty close to Pioneer Park. I hope you were able to take advantage of the Farmers Market which sets up several times a week during the summer across the street from the hotel in the plaza.
Parking can be a challenge at times. For our guests convenience, there is a parking garage about 2 blocks away from the hotel and we will validate parking for you.
Thanks again for staying with us - we look forward to serving you again should your travels bring you back to the Fairbanks area.

Warmest Regards,
Jeannette Duenow
Vice President - Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The room,lobby,swimming pool were all very clean and well kept. The staff was friendly and professional. Breakfast is good and alot to choose from with a nice seating arrangement. Free parking too. Nice place, will stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank boilermaker502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
3.9 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 24 in Fairbanks
1,242 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#5 of 24 in Fairbanks
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
0.3 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks

Address: 575 1st Avenue, Fairbanks, AK 99701
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range: £87 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks, an all-suite hotel in downtown Fairbanks, Alaska located next to the Chena River. Our accommodations feature separate areas for sleeping, eating and working, and they provide guests with a microwave, mini-fridge, desk and pull-out sofa bed. Enjoy complimentary continental breakfast buffet and airport shuttle, as well as pool, whirlpool, exercise room and wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Fairbanks Hotel Fairbanks
Fairbanks Springhill Suites
SpringHill Suites By Marriott Fairbanks Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing