We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel by Fairbanks standards”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great hotel by Fairbanks standards”
Reviewed 16 August 2009

My wife and I, and 2 kids stayed here 4 nights in late July using hotel points. We had a great time and the hotel served our needs well. This would be a pretty average Marriott property in most places, but I rate it much higher compared to other choices in Fairbanks. The location is excellent, right by the beautiful river in downtown. It is easy to walk to shopping, and a number of restaurants and attractions. The parking lot is small, but there is an overflow lot right across the street. We never had any problems with parking. The rooms have an unusual layout, but worked well for us, with a refrigerator and microwave included. Service was good, and our room was clean and quiet on the top floor overlooking the river. We used the shuttle to pick us up at the airport and to take us to the train - the drivers were very friendly and helpful. Overall the hotel was a great choice and we had a good time in Fairbanks.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LakeWylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    258
    75
    23
    13
See reviews for
122
193
55
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin,ohio
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2009

Hotel was located in the middle of the main downtown tourist area and was convenient to most of the city attractions.Rooms are well appointed and have great views.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2009

We spent six weeks in Fairbanks while I received medical treatment in April and May 2009 after getting severe frostbite in the far north of Alaska. We stayed at SpringHill Suites during that time. The front desk staff and the housekeeping staff could not have been more helpful, and gave us excellent service and support during a difficult time. This is a very well run hotel. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, and well suited to a longer stay. The location is convenient and there is an attractive outlook from the riverside rooms. SpringHill Suites, Fairbanks provides excellent value. There is no restaurant, but there is a very good, independently owned restaurant in the building, and a number of others nearby. Other reviewers have commented about the breakfast. Yes, it could be more exciting, but it was perfectly adequate, and part of the good value that this hotel provides. We would have absolutely no hesitation about staying there again. It is the best place to be in Fairbanks.
CM - United Kingdom

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmuk43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2009

My friend & I stayed here for two days before a four-day "aurora borealis" excursion to Coldfoot above the Arctic Circle. Our room was quite comfortable with a nice kitchenette and there was plenty of parking - with the prerequisite engine warmer docks - within a short distance. The breakfast was quite extensive - make-your-own egg/meat/cheese muffins, hard boiled eggs, and the usual fruit/cereal/danishes, etc. Our dinner in the restaurant was quite good as well. The free computer center w/internet access near the front desk was very handy.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martrese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adirondack, New York
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2008

We stayed in this hotel for two nights using the Marriot’s rewards points. The location is great and easy to get to it, also a short drive to Barnes and Noble which was important to us.

I guess I shouldn’t complaint since we paid $0.00 for our two night stay but there were some issues which mostly surprised us. The first problem was a parking. No room to park as we arrived. We waited trying to figure out what to do since a clerk told us to drive around and find a place to park. Another guest was leaving so we quickly moved in to his spot. It looked like the desk staff in this hotel was tired of guests asking questions, never smiled and let us know how silly was a question another guest just asked. This approach was a little embarrassing to all other Marriott’s hotels and we stayed in many not only in the US but in Canada, Europe, Cayman Islands. This impoliteness of a staff was something unusual for Marriott’s. A room was a nice size but a smell of some cleaning stuff was really strong. We tried to open a window but windows do not open! That was the biggest problem for us. A/C too loud and not consistent. Too warm or too cold. Had to get up a few times at night to turn it on or off. Of course, I could open a window since we were on the top floor. But windows do not open in this hotel!. We heard about the restaurant in this hotel. On arrival we called but there was a 2 hour wait. We waited and then went downstairs only to find out we would have to wait at least another 45 minutes. One more observation. I still can‘t figure out why towels were so tired, thin and discolored. They used to be white but it had to be a very long ago. Our room was a nice size and we liked having a small refrigerator and mircrowave. I don‘t think I would return to this hotel unless I had too many Marriott‘s points and didn’t know what to do with them. Overall this was not very positive experience during our 3 month long and fabulous trip.

  • Liked — Location, having a small refrigerator and microwave
  • Disliked — Location. towels, limited parking
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Places
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2008

this is a brand new hotel in the centre of downtown Fairbanks. The mini suites are excellent value and very comfortable. The hotel has lots of facilities including a good sized pool. The onsite restaurant, Lavelle's, is probably the best dinning spot in Fairbanks.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank PineMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2008

- Nice facility.
- Poor staff response for requests for assistance.
- Staff "dripping" with sarcasm and "stereotypical" attitude problems.
- Maintenance requests ignored.
- Multiple requests to speak with the general manager ignored.

The facility was clean and well maintained. Unfortunately we were here to admit my daughter into the hospital for long-term treatment. We decided to extend our stay so we could visit with our daughter for another night. We asked to speak with the general manager when the front staff became sarcastic and rude. We were told that the manager was not available. After visiting at the hospital the next day (we stayed for several nights) we returned and found we had received a voice mail. We were unable to retrieve the voice mail and called the front desk for assistance. We were told nobody could help us and we would have to wait until the next morning to speak with maintenance. The next morning we called and were informed that maintenance was not available to help us nor was the general manager available to speak with us. If I had more time I would write many more details but suffice it to say I have received better treatment at the Motel 8.

  • Liked — neat and clean facility
  • Disliked — Rude and sarcastic front desk staff
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank AlaskaHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
3.9 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,139 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
2.8 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#5 of 23 in Fairbanks
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks

Property: SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks
Address: 575 1st Avenue, Fairbanks, AK 99701
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks, an all-suite hotel in downtown Fairbanks, Alaska located next to the Chena River. Our accommodations feature separate areas for sleeping, eating and working, and they provide guests with a microwave, mini-fridge, desk and pull-out sofa bed. Enjoy complimentary continental breakfast buffet and airport shuttle, as well as pool, whirlpool, exercise room and wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Fairbanks Hotel Fairbanks
Fairbanks Springhill Suites
SpringHill Suites By Marriott Fairbanks Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing