We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well located and just what we needed”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bridgewater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bridgewater Hotel
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Well located and just what we needed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

We started our trip in Fairbanks, Alaska at the Bridgewater Hotel on June 25th, 2012. The hotel has an european charm with a nice reception area with comfortable couches, free coffee and internet. Our king size mattress was comfy. This hotel is well situated and it is easy to walk to restaurants, boutiques, the great visitor centre and even the Ice Museum. The free shuttle service is a great plus. We were able to visit the full city with it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DidiD26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    83
    39
    6
    1
See reviews for
33
84
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
220 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed here 2 nights as part of a Tour Package. The staff was very friendly and welcoming, even giving us treats and drinks when we first arrived! The rooms were a little bit dated, but very clean and comfortable. They have laundry facilities onsite, and this came in very handy for us! We also had a very hearty breakfast buffet in their lower level cafe each morning. Fairbanks is a pretty small town, and you can easily walk from the hotel to the main sites you wish to see, and easy walking distance to other restaurants in Downtown Fairbanks. Also, think we may have encountered a ghost in our room the first night....don't know if anyone else has had the same experience, but it was rather interesting!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTedBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Collins, CO
Level Contributor
101 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

The Bridgewater is an older property in downtown Fairbanks. My room was very small, standing-only shower, etc. Very small. Old, but moderately clean. Extremely limited parking. Would have liked to try the Italian restaurant across the lot, but missed the opportunity. The breakfast buffet was out of commission at the time of my visit. Friendly, helpful staff was refreshing. Overall, I didn't particularly enjoy the stay, but it was suitable. The pastel pink theme of the lobby was hard to look at.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edgetheow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
177 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

This is an older hotel but kept up to date. The rooms were fair size, the bathroom was small, and the shower was super small BUT everything was very clean. Buzzy and her staff were extremely hospitable and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The hotel is conveniently located in downtown Fairbanks and close to nice shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjinright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuzzyQ, General Manager at Bridgewater Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Thank you for your kind words! It was our pleasure having you with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hollywood, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

My wife and I got married in Fairbanks in September and Buzzy Chiu and her staff added to the perfect experience. From helping us arrange welcome baskets, to always being on call and helping us coordinate our guests, to the general manager herself driving a couple friends to the airport, they went out of their way to ensure an unbelievable time and wonderful experience, shared by all. The hotel is charming, with beautiful, well-kept rooms. And it's in a great part of town for fun downtown walks. We cannot recommend this place enough, and plan on being back in the summer to say hello.

Room Tip: The corner suites are well worth the extra charge. The view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

Our room (kng size bed) was very small and the stand up shower was at most 3'x3'. You could not help bumping into walls. Never been in a shower so small. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask about room size and shower size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FJB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

The Bridgewater advertises "European charm". Anyone who has stayed in Europe knows this probably translates as "smaller rooms". The rooms are on the small side, but the hotel staff could not be more accommodating. Also, it was very convenient to have the bus available to take us to other places in Fairbanks (especially the bird sanctuary and restaurant stops). Overall, an excellent choice for staying a few nights in Fairbanks.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heclsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
3.7 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pioneer Park Inn
0.6 mi away
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
#13 of 23 in Fairbanks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge
0.5 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridgewater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridgewater Hotel

Property: Bridgewater Hotel
Address: 723 1st Ave, Fairbanks, AK 99701-4448
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bridgewater Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seasonal Hotel in downtown Fairbanks. Open mid-May through mid-September. This charming boutique-style hotel is ideally located in the heart of downtown Fairbanks overlooking the Chena River. With only 93 guest rooms the Bridgewater offers the warm, personal feel of a bed and breakfast. Excellent Breakfast Buffet available. Without a doubt, the best value for a clean, pleasant, relaxing hotel room in Fairbanks. The Bridgewater is the place to lodge while exploring Fairbanks. The staff will send you in the right direction. They are very helpful, friendly and welcoming. They are knowledgeable and will provide expert recommendations and personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bridgewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridgewater Hotel Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing