We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant accommodations, excellent staff”
Review of Bridgewater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bridgewater Hotel
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We booked early to get rooms in the Bridgewater Hotel...their website was right on target with pictures, prices, etc. We were there on June 12-13-14-15 and thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality of the staff as well as their guidance with suggested restaurants, activities, and sights NOT to miss.

The room was spacious and, since it was in the 90's, air conditioned! Since we were there during the summer with 23 1/2 hours of sun, we appreciated the room darkening shades a great deal. The bathroom was large and the towels were fluffy and nice; shower was super. The breakfast, though not included as we originally thought, was priced just right. There was a full buffet or cold buffet, and both were exceptionally tasty. The staff in the breakfast area were so nice and friendly each morning.

I would definitely recommend this place as an affordable, very nice place. They even have complimentary shuttle service that runs regularly around the area as well as to the airport and train station I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
There are newer reviews for Bridgewater Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

Nicely appointed, good location near downtown, washer and dryer available, airport shuttle and free area shuttle (Museum of the North, Pioneer Park, Fred Meyer, etc.), although the shuttle doesn’t leave until late mornings on weekdays and early afternoon on weekends.

Room Tip: Free area shuttle is nice, but stops limited.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_walkers21209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We spent two separate nights at the Bridgewater Hotel on our recent Alaskan adventure. It was great both times. We were especially impressed by the customer service, willingness to accommodate a same day booking, downtown location and comfort of the beds and rooms. The prices were also very good based upon Alaskan tourist season standards. Yes, the showers are on the small side, but I have had smaller showers in other hotels, and the rest of the hotel's benefits made up for it. Parking was easy (and free) which is unusual for a downtown hotel and the Bridgewater did a nice job with their grounds, view of the river, and lobby area. The hotel had great light blocking curtains, which is a must for a good rest in the Alaskan summer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oceandweller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The Bridgewater Hotel was very nice and comfortable. The rooms are small and the shower was small also, but that made we feel like I was in Europe. They run a clean, efficient hotel and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The price was very reasonable especially for an Alaskan Hotel. They are located right downtown near the old district of Fairbanks and there are three or four good restaurants within a short walking distance. I really liked their soft bath towels. Keep in mind that I do not spend gobs of money on staying in a plush hotel that I will only be in for eight hours of the day. When you go on vacation you spend your time out of the hotel so why pay 150 to 200 for a room that you are not going to be in much of the time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henry Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

A small hotel right downtown by the river. Comfortable room and outstanding staff. You can pay a fortune in Fairbanks for a room. Not here.I really don't understand the complaints, but I've lived in Alaska for fifty years and might lack sophistication.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shackford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I spent 4 nights

In the lower 48 this would be a $70/night place max. But, we are in Fairbanks...
The rooms are TINY uniquely tiny. The bathroom is small with a shower that reminds me of old army barracks. The shower head was terrible and it made it tough to take a shower, I forgot my soap and had to use their bar soap, big mistake. The soap must be cheap or I don't know what good soap is, I was sticky and if felt like I had wax on me.
The room had an window AC unit and when it rained the sound of the drops hitting the unit echoed
The walls and ceiling are paper thin, not a joke. You can listen to the TV or the talking of the people next to you. My floor creaked so I know the person below me could hear everystep
The TV was fine and the internet worked well.
Breakfast to me was very expensive, $14 for a buffet style or 10 for continental.
The front desk staff was very nice and helpful, check in was easy and quick.
The location was good, right in downtown and with two tasty restaurants on either side, one of them, southern BBQ was featured on diners, drive ins and dives.

Room Tip: Get as high as you can and a corner room.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hatric26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

This was an average hotel but a great location. We weren't in Fairbanks long, first stop on our tour. There are 2 restaurants right next to the hotel. Our tour bus was greeted in the lobby with cookies and punch. Very nice and friendly welcome. The shower stalls are the smallest I've ever seen. They would present a problem for a large person. Within walking distance of other restaurants and gift shops.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie48345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
1.2 mi away
Bear Lodge at Wedgewood Resort
0.6 mi away
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
#13 of 23 in Fairbanks
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#3 of 23 in Fairbanks
393 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridgewater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridgewater Hotel

Address: 723 1st Ave, Fairbanks, AK 99701-4448
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range: £105 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bridgewater Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seasonal Hotel in downtown Fairbanks. Open mid-May through mid-September. This charming boutique-style hotel is ideally located in the heart of downtown Fairbanks overlooking the Chena River. With only 93 guest rooms the Bridgewater offers the warm, personal feel of a bed and breakfast. Excellent Breakfast Buffet available. Without a doubt, the best value for a clean, pleasant, relaxing hotel room in Fairbanks. The Bridgewater is the place to lodge while exploring Fairbanks. The staff will send you in the right direction. They are very helpful, friendly and welcoming. They are knowledgeable and will provide expert recommendations and personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Bridgewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridgewater Hotel Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing