We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Downtown Location”
Review of Bridgewater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bridgewater Hotel
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
St. Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Downtown Location”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We were in Fairbanks for the Solstice Festival and the location could not have been more convenient without being in the festival space. The parking lot was small, but no problem finding a spot coming and going. Easy drive to the airport or from the highway from Denali; we managed to get confused, but called the reservation number and got quick directions that put us back on the path. The room was basic but adequate, clean, and quiet, except for a festival event, blackout curtains, except for the part of the window with the air conditioner and it had its own blind that helped but did not keep out the sun, which may not be an issue if you're not there late June. Desk staff were very friendly and helpful with downtown information. There was a battle of the bands across the river as part of the festival and the front desk had ear plugs, but the air conditioner fan masked the sound. We used the shuttle to visit the University museum - couldn't be easier. There is a nice path along the river that goes to (and beyond) the visitors center, so walking there or to downtown restaurants is easy. Too bad they could not rotate the building 90 degrees to give river views from the upper stories. Stay there again? If I wanted to be downtown, definitely.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TskMinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    96
    44
    9
    2
See reviews for
36
99
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
College Station, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The staff, location, and price were the best features of this hotel during my stay. All of the staff members that we interacted with were very polite and helpful, the price was very reasonable, and it was only a few blocks away from the visitors center and right across the street from the river. The rooms were very basic, but still clean. Wifi worked well. I did not eat at their restaurant, so I can provide no feedback on that front.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Excellent choice for Fairbanks. The Bridgewater is part of a collection of hotels that have a free shuttle service around town that stops at most places we wanted to go. They also picked us up at the airport and took us to the train station. The cafe downstairs served a nice selection of breakfast choices. Right around the corner was Big Daddy's BBQ which was fun and had excellent food.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ProfCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here for three nights. It had just opened for the season. The staff could not have been more helpful or friendly. The hotel is well located with pleasant rooms. The hotel offered a good breakfast option..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This is defintely a good value for Fairbanks. Rooms and hotel could use some updating, but the rooms were clean and the service was very friendly. Parking is somewhat limited. Would stay again. I don;t know if they had a breakfast or not, but their website they said during the busy season.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler092006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Clean rooms, great staff, and probably the best value for money option in Fairbanks.
Laundry facilities are available - big washer/dryer, more than enough for your personal needs.
Parking is available right next to the property
Breakfast is extra

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrcapybara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed for one night after arriving by train from Denali. We were pleasantly surprised that the hotel had a shuttle meet the train (we hadn't asked or expected this). The property is well located and is clean and comfortable. The staff are very welcoming; they helped with things to do for our day in Fairbanks and then organized a shuttle to the airport.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mick3187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
2.7 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#3 of 23 in Fairbanks
384 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bear Lodge at Wedgewood Resort
0.6 mi away
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
#14 of 23 in Fairbanks
290 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridgewater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridgewater Hotel

Property: Bridgewater Hotel
Address: 723 1st Ave, Fairbanks, AK 99701-4448
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fairbanks
#7 Family Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bridgewater Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seasonal Hotel in downtown Fairbanks. Open mid-May through mid-September. This charming boutique-style hotel is ideally located in the heart of downtown Fairbanks overlooking the Chena River. With only 93 guest rooms the Bridgewater offers the warm, personal feel of a bed and breakfast. Excellent Breakfast Buffet available. Without a doubt, the best value for a clean, pleasant, relaxing hotel room in Fairbanks. The Bridgewater is the place to lodge while exploring Fairbanks. The staff will send you in the right direction. They are very helpful, friendly and welcoming. They are knowledgeable and will provide expert recommendations and personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Bridgewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridgewater Hotel Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing