We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Cottages”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
River's Edge Resort
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottages”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed here as part of a land tour with Norwegian Cruise Lines. The cottages were very clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. There is a restaurant on the property and for breakfast there is a buffet (not free) in the lobby. There is a shuttle that operates to the airport, if needed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank byukat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    139
    50
    11
    6
See reviews for
80
164
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

A nice alternative to the traditional motel. You rent a small cottage with private bath, 2 queen beds and the usual amenities, tv, coffe maker, hair dryer, etc. Convenient to the airport. We liked it so much the first night, we returnned after a couple of days out of town. There is a nice trail along the river, and on clear nights, you have a clear view to the north and can see the aurora borealis when it is out.

Room Tip: definitely request a riverside cottage. these are a bit quieter and more scenic. Failing that , try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tf2073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This is our 2nd stay in 2 years at this great resting spot. Right along the Chena River, walk to River Boat for a dinner cruise. Immaculately cleaned cabins - spacious; patio with chairs to enjoy the evening and late sunsets. Also has a Dining room and Buffet breakfast. They are very helpful at the front desk and always asking about your transportation needs.

Lovely calm setting -- Really enjoyed our walks along the Chena River. They also have a campground.

Reasonable Rates!!!

Room Tip: You an reserve a River cabin for a little extra $.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chances99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed at the River's Edge for 3 nights on the front end our Alaska vacation. I would pause before I call River's Edge a resort - at least not in the lower 48, however, the cottages are very clean and comfortable. The staff was helpful and friendly. The setting is nice along the Chena River. The buffet breakfast was not fancy but very satisfactory. You can do laundry at the RV park next door.

Room Tip: I would recommend a "river" cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This place has a 10 on my scale for everything. The room was clean, breakfast was excellent, we took a walk after breakfast the surrondings were very clean from hotel plus all the staff were very helpful. Thanks again

Nelson & Angelika

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Nelson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

On entering the grounds you are struck ny the gorgeous baskets of summer flowers and the immaculate grooming of the grounds. The resort is made up of what appeared to be mobile homes, but upon entering the lovely unit it is obvious they are simply individual rooms which are nicely appointed and squeaky clean. Don't let appearance fool you. A very nice stay we had.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narvon Pa
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

7/22-23/13
We had a cabin on the main walk booked through NCL on a tour. Several other cruise lines use this site as well. We spent two days there and ate in the old main dining room. The dining room has been beautifully restored to back when only the rich traveled. We only ate breakfast there twice. Found the food very good. Tne complete buffet breakfast was about $16 and the continental was about $12. Had both. There was plenty to eat on the continental breakfast unless you wanted meat. All meals in Alaska are pricey and one just has to get used to it. Never got to eat in Chena's. Did sit up on the porch when the restaurant wasn't open in the morning. Heard from my friends that the crabcakes were very good. I flew to the Artic Circle instead. I was picked up at the office. The price of cigarettes is $11-12 for comparison if you haven't been to Alaska. This puts prices in perspective. About like eating at the Cheese Cake Factory for every meal.. The river had a path along the edge where you can see eagles flying and sitting in trees. Bench there too. One was sitting in a tree in the RV park next door about 15 feet above my head.. The cabins are charming, super clean and the beds are good. The cabins look like they were just built and they are about 5 years old. Two cabins are connected so thaey can be used by families. Couldn't hear noise from the other room; Coffee in the room. Hearsay is that the owner is from old gold money that filtered down through the ages. If so they have certainly provided a good place to stay. Believe they have a local shuttle. I was picked up by Priemier Tours. Really great tour company that operates out of there too. Check other reviews on trip advisor like I do.

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool; There is the Chena River but you can't swim in it because of the curr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob1789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
0.7 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,135 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
1.1 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#4 of 23 in Fairbanks
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
3.4 mi away
Bridgewater Hotel
Bridgewater Hotel
#12 of 23 in Fairbanks
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River's Edge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's Edge Resort

Property: River's Edge Resort
Address: 4200 Boat St, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4696
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fairbanks
#5 Family Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — River's Edge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An afternoon on a sunny riverbank exemplifies the best of Interior Alaska; this place is built around that knowledge. Trim little cottages stand in a grassy compound along the gentle Chena River. Inside, each light, airy cottage is an excellent standard hotel room, with high ceilings and two queen beds. Outside, they're like a little village, where guests can sit on the patio, watch the river go by, soak up the midnight sun and socialize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your River's Edge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River`s Edge Hotel Fairbanks
Rivers Edge Fairbanks
River's Edge Resort Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing