We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute cottages” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of River's Edge Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
River's Edge Resort
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cute cottages”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

I had a reservation for another hotel in Fairbanks, but they evidently overbooked and shunted me to the River's Edge Resort. That turned out to be a fine thing - the little cabin I was in was great and right on the river. The cabin I was in was effectively a duplex - two separate rooms in the cabin (could open a door between them). The walls were pretty thin, though and I could hear the folks in the other room. But the room itself was nice, and the location was pretty.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin as close to the river as possible. preferably with a patio that overlooks the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MSSD3210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    131
    45
    11
    6
See reviews for
72
159
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Nice, clean, quiet larger "cottage" room felt very homey. The grounds are well cared for and the flowers were beautiful. The river side rooms have very nice patios to enjoy the Chena river view and relax. The ducks are friendly and add to the charm of the resort. The staff was very helpful & friendly. Parking is away from most rooms but their are nice sidewalks to roll your bags along. The breakfast was a buffet and the food was fair. We at the Chena's Alaskan Grill twice and the food was very good and the service was excellent.

Room Tip: Worth the extra $ to get a river side room if you are staying for any length of time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaBugQH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel is at prime location. The staff was not very friendly. The WiFi works only at lobby and closer rooms, and they won't do anything to improve it other than asking you to come to lobby whenever you want to access internet. Rooms were clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UntitledTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, OH
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We were booked by Princess into this hotel before flying home. This place has cottages but we were put into a suite. OLD! Carpet, furniture, bedspread looks like its been there for years.
Restaurant on site very expensive even for Alaska. We asked about other nearby places to eat. The girl at the desk said there were none. She said there was a store a mile and a half away.
We elected to walk to store but there were at least 5 restaurants near store. So we got Quiznos for dinner.Went to store bought some beer and breakfast items. When we returned we found out there was a shuttle that would have taken us.
Our flight was at 9;30 pm so we went into Fairbanks for the afternoon. We came back and wanted to watch the US soccer game. The TV was set up for store display only. I asked the staff that was delivering luggage for help. His reply was I don't know anything about it.
Not a place I would ever stay again. If you are on a cruise/landtour ask for a different place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IIB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed here as part of a land tour with Norwegian Cruise Lines. The cottages were very clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. There is a restaurant on the property and for breakfast there is a buffet (not free) in the lobby. There is a shuttle that operates to the airport, if needed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank byukat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

A nice alternative to the traditional motel. You rent a small cottage with private bath, 2 queen beds and the usual amenities, tv, coffe maker, hair dryer, etc. Convenient to the airport. We liked it so much the first night, we returnned after a couple of days out of town. There is a nice trail along the river, and on clear nights, you have a clear view to the north and can see the aurora borealis when it is out.

Room Tip: definitely request a riverside cottage. these are a bit quieter and more scenic. Failing that , try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tf2073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

This is our 2nd stay in 2 years at this great resting spot. Right along the Chena River, walk to River Boat for a dinner cruise. Immaculately cleaned cabins - spacious; patio with chairs to enjoy the evening and late sunsets. Also has a Dining room and Buffet breakfast. They are very helpful at the front desk and always asking about your transportation needs.

Lovely calm setting -- Really enjoyed our walks along the Chena River. They also have a campground.

Reasonable Rates!!!

Room Tip: You an reserve a River cabin for a little extra $.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chances99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
0.7 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#5 of 23 in Fairbanks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pioneer Park Inn
3.9 mi away
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
#13 of 23 in Fairbanks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River's Edge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's Edge Resort

Property: River's Edge Resort
Address: 4200 Boat Street, Fairbanks, AK 99709
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fairbanks
#5 Family Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — River's Edge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An afternoon on a sunny riverbank exemplifies the best of Interior Alaska; this place is built around that knowledge. Trim little cottages stand in a grassy compound along the gentle Chena River. Inside, each light, airy cottage is an excellent standard hotel room, with high ceilings and two queen beds. Outside, they're like a little village, where guests can sit on the patio, watch the river go by, soak up the midnight sun and socialize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your River's Edge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River`s Edge Hotel Fairbanks
Rivers Edge Fairbanks
River's Edge Resort Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing