We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool experience, literally”

The Aurora Ice Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$145.00*
and up
Chena Hot Springs Tour
More Info
US$450.00*
and up
Evening Getaway: Alaska's Chena Hot Springs Resort
More Info
US$175.00*
and up
Northern Lights and Chena Hot Springs Tour from Fairbanks
Ranked #8 of 99 things to do in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Milwaukee, WI
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Very cool experience, literally”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

World class ice carvers display their wares in the Aurora House, at Chena Hot Springs. I wasn't sure what to expect, but I was pleasantly surprised. A tour guide will have you put on a heavy coat before entering. The entrance area is a carving workshop area, and just beyond is a magnificent display of their artistry. It's sort of set up as an Inn, with a complete functioning bar, and bedrooms, and even a bathroom (only for show). Some even rent it out for a night, though I wouldn't be as adventurous.

Only 60 miles northeast of Fairbanks, it's worth a trip to see The Aurora House, as well as the other attractions offered at Chena Hot Springs Resort.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank coolmoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    214
    103
    24
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Churchville,PA
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“very nice sculptures”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Nice ride to the museum and saw 2 moose on the way;. Cold but they gave us parkas to wear. Bring your own gloves. amazing sculpures

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank thyladyhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Croix, US Virgin Islands
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Herded people!”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The sculptures in the ice museum are truly amazing but the time you are allowed to spend inside is very limited. The number of people in the "tour" was excessive so I had to wait in line to get into the small rooms. Before I knew it the time was up and we were being asked to leave. Thank goodness I didn't order the $15 martini since I wouldn't have had any time to drink it!

I think the owners need to offer the tour more frequently and have fewer people inside at any one time. I definitely wouldn't go back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KathyofCroix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Chilling Experience”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This is a great stop and the quality of the sculptures are amazing. All the sculptures are made on site by a local husband and wife team and are constantly maintained. Wear warm shoes and clothes but they do provide you with heavy parkas if you need them.
If you have never seen ice sculptures before this is a must. It is worth the 1 hour and 30 minute drive. The restaurant if very good also. I pass on the hot springs but my wife liked them.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank rallyhost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Fun fun fun”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Each year Fairbanks hosts an Ice Sculpture festival at the Ice Museum you can see a glimpse into the festival and even ride the Ice slide good fun

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cuddlefi5h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Aurora Ice Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing