We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good moderately priced motel”
Review of Golden North Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Golden North Motel
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Cocoa, Florida
Level Contributor
155 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“good moderately priced motel”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

stayed here last week and had a wonderful stay. family owned and very friendly and helpful, the owners were able to offer many tips about Fairbanks. the rooms were not large but clean..the price was very affordable compared to the other in the area. close to grocery stores, restaurants and the airport. they offer free coffee and muffins in the morning and free rides to the airport any time of the day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe32926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    26
    13
    6
    8
See reviews for
12
20
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Had a group of 20 stay here the end of May 2013. Everyone was very satisfied. Not fancy but clean and comfortable and great price. Just what we were looking for. Very friendly helpful owners. Great muffins and coffee to start the morning. Have stayed at the best of hotels but would choose this one over those anytime.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gracie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

We chose this place for the good price, free airport pickup and was not disappointed. Rooms are clean and comfortable, warm water and very nice family run vibe. I liked the real motel-feeling with the parking lot and all. Its important: not a fancy hotel but it is a great place to stay!

Check on the carbon-monoxide monitors, the one in our room woke me up that wasnt fun...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beavisnail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covina, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This is a basic motel located near the airport and near the Riverboat Discovery. They offer airport transportation, complimentary coffee and juice and pastry. It is truly Alaska. Simple motel room that is clean and comfy. Family owned. Fairbanks tour operators love them. Walking distance to stores(Fred Meyer-Kmart-like) for food, deli etc. Fast food nearby. With a car-close to University and its museum, Pioneer Park with Alaska show, salmon bake, and recreated village. Close to Ester with show and aurora presentation. The value is exceptional. Fairbanks is very expensive in the summer. True Alaska hospitality. It does look like it is in nowhereland at first, but it is next to a more upscale hotel. I've stayed there many times.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

The outside of this place the strip club and the places around this area will make you change your mind about staying here. The butts all over the ground are a real welcome to this place. They don't take an American Express or Discover so we dident stay maybe a good thing. I did look in a room very small nothing great at all. Ended up at Best Western sooooooo worth the extra money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 88farmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fairbanks hotels

Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

During my vacation in Alaska I had the pleasure of staying at Golden North Motel. The service was excellent. They had a great staff that treated me with kindness. I am a stickler for a clean environment and they did not let me down. Not only was my room impeccably clean everyday but the actual motel itself was spotless. This motel is a MUST VISIT! It has a wonderful family atmosphere and within walking distance of a mega-store that sells everything you would ever need. CLEAN + GREAT ATMOSPHERE + REASONABLE PRICES= ONE HAPPY CAMPER! Anytime I visit Fairbanks, the Golden North Motel is my #1 choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deniser72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

I love staying at this motel! Since I moved to Alaska and worked in the bush for the first 8 years or so it was nice to find a reasonably price motel in Fairbanks when I needed to be in town. The staff is quick to get to know you after just a few visits. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The Baer family truly cares that you have a good experience while staying with them. That is really what makes a motel a great place to stay! Plus it is close to several tourist attractions and local grocery/dept. store.

Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Lynne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
3.6 mi away
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
#13 of 23 in Fairbanks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks
0.6 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#4 of 23 in Fairbanks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden North Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden North Motel

Property: Golden North Motel
Address: 4888 Old Airport Rd, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4456
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Golden North Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Golden North Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden North Hotel Fairbanks
Golden North Motel Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing